Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Lowrance HDS - problem in shallow water

Old 06-27-2014, 02:02 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Sandusky, Ohio
Posts: 78
Default Lowrance HDS - problem in shallow water

I have a lowrance HDS 5 with lake insight installed with an 83/200 transducer. The boat is stored in a rack building so I remove the head unit when the boat comes out of the water for security reasons. My question is twofold

1) when I reinstall the head unit the depth doesn't register until I get up on plane. I would like for it to show the depth around the docks

2) as I move near shore along the sandbar the depth will register 5 - 6 ft and then jump to dashes not reflect anything.

Does anyone know if there is a setting on the head unit or something with the transducer that might help?

Thanks
swest is offline  
Old 06-27-2014, 03:40 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Norway
Posts: 559
Default

- Do you have the right ducer selected in your menu?
- Do you run "Shallow water" settings?
- Current software?
Team Colibri is offline  
Old 06-27-2014, 10:24 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 512
Default

I have the same unit and transducer but it reads down to about 1/2 a foot from start up to shut down. The only time it occasionally gets the dashes in the depth reading is on the plane but its rare.

As Team Colibri mentioned it could be one of the settings he asked about.

I found this video very handy when I set mine up. http://vimeo.com/15426536
Aus Slipstream is offline  
Old 06-28-2014, 07:10 AM
  #4  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Sandusky, Ohio
Posts: 78
Default Thanks

Thanks for the suggestions. Heading to the boat today. Excited to try the adjustments. I downloaded the current software. Will keep you posted.
swest is offline  
Old 06-28-2014, 07:15 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: SEC Penna
Posts: 8,786
Default

Signals getting lost in wash from the prop at lower speeds? Does it read depth when motor off or in neutral?
kone is offline  
Old 06-28-2014, 08:53 PM
  #6  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Sandusky, Ohio
Posts: 78
Default

Made adjustments as suggested. Changed to shallow water along with a few other adjustment as indicated in video. Depth finder worked great - accurate down to about 2.5 feet in both slow speed as well as on plane. Thanks for the help.
swest is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread