Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Need new gps/fishfinder/possibly radar

Old 06-25-2014, 07:43 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 138
Default Need new gps/fishfinder/possibly radar

I currently have a Raymarine E120 that i am constantly having problems with. Last year i replaced the DSM300 unit because it was defective and i kept loosing my bottom sounder. This year it has been saying lost DSM on and off for the last 2 months now and is very frustrating. Recently i lost my GPS detail the machine is reading NO AIS? I am fed up with this system i have tried calling ray marine many times and have got no answer. Does anyone recommend a fix? Or a new possible route for me to go I've been wanting a Garmin system for a while, so if anyone can recommend one that would work as well.
Thank you
TheFILCH is offline  
Old 06-25-2014, 08:20 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Elizabeth, Pa USA
Posts: 491
Default

Sounds like it may be a software issue. Have you tried updating the unit or doing a factory reset to see if there is a glitch somewhere? Make sure you save any data that would want because it will completely wipe the unit back to the defaults.

Keith
threeriversmarine is offline  
Old 06-25-2014, 08:28 AM
  #3  
bpy
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 31
Default

I had similar issues with my e80s. It would show 'no signal' from the DSM. Low voltage, bad connections and old software......any could be the culprits. I got to the point of almost ripping my stuff out too, but we change some connectors and updated the software for the units and the DSM and I haven't had any issues for a while now (hope I didn't just jinx myself).
bpy is offline  
Old 06-25-2014, 08:29 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Tidewater, VA
Posts: 1,166
Default

While you might be experiencing a software issue, I'm thinking you've got connectivity issues instead.

The DSM problem could be due to SeaTalk HS issues or voltage issues due to battery voltage or connections being either dirty or too small a wire.

The GPS issues could be due to corrosion on your connections or the GPS antenna may have given up the ghost. Which antenna are you using? A RayStar 120, 125, or 130?

The "No AIS" message is most likely related to the no GPS issue explained above.

I'd go over all the connections, making sure they're tight and corrosion free. I'd also check battery voltages (as the DSM is very voltage sensitive), as well as making sure your positive AND negative wires are clean and making good connections.

The E120 is a GREAT display, and can last for MANY years. And on a side note, you COULD upgrade your software if it's not the most recent version.
marinerjoe is offline  
Old 06-25-2014, 08:41 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Fairhaven, MA
Posts: 9,017
Default

I just called Raymarine yesterday for a question about my MFD. Although I spent a long time waiting on the line, I did get a helpful tech who gave me the info I needed. It's always been that way with them. Just don't call on Monday or Friday or you'll turn gray before talking to a real person.
Cobia 217 is offline  
Old 06-26-2014, 04:40 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 138
Default

I have yet been able to get in contact with Raymarine is there a special number to call? Im always on hold waiting for a customer service representative and after 25 mins it prompts me to leave a message that will be returned within a day and i have yet to hear back from them.
TheFILCH is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread