Notices

VHF troubleshooting - Icom

Old 06-02-2014, 09:14 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Wilson, NC/Goose Creek Landing
Posts: 1,032
Default VHF troubleshooting - Icom

I have a VHF that is only 2 years old and has been working fine until this past weekend.

It powers up, will change channels, but will not send or receive messages. Everything "looks" normal.

I have removed all connections, cleaned them and reconnected......same result.

Squelch nor volume seem to do anything. Tried radio checks on several local and commonly used channels, but nothing. Only thing I can get is when I turn it on I get the normal tone when turning it on.

I'm baffled as to what might be the problem.
Any suggestions?
rdsrb5 is offline  
Old 06-02-2014, 11:29 AM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: VA
Posts: 5,940
Default

Is it on USA channels? Hi Power?, does the display say TX (transmitting) when you key the mic? Do you get the NOAA weather broadcasts? Do you hear others on Ch16? Need this kind of info in order to troubleshoot.
Buoy Scout is offline  
Old 06-02-2014, 02:47 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Wilson, NC/Goose Creek Landing
Posts: 1,032
Default

Thanks for your response!!

Yes it is on Hi power and USA channels. It does show TX when keying the mic. Nothing on the weather channel and 16 is silent too. I went through several channels locally used and got nothing. Even tried radio check with Sea Tow and nothing.

I thought may the speaker was damaged in some way, but I do hear the tone when I first turn the radio on.

Probably a longshot, but only thing I've done is add a Power-Pole on the boat which has Bluetooth. Any way that could be interfering?


Frustrating
rdsrb5 is offline  
Old 06-02-2014, 06:43 PM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: VA
Posts: 5,940
Default

Is the power pole on the same circuit? Maybe low voltage? Hook up a known good 12v source and try the radio again. If it worked before, it's not likely the antenna, or the radio itself. I'd be looking for a poor electrical connection--ground or +12v. You might measure the correct voltage, but as soon as you put a load on it, you get no current due to high resistance through the connection. I'd remake/check the power to the unit.
Buoy Scout is offline  
Old 06-02-2014, 06:51 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,553
Default

Here is the problem: it says Icom on it. I have written about this before, do a search and you can read my posts.

Long story short, I had two of Icom's best 604's on my Cabo. Three years old and they each died. Icom said without a receipt they would not honor a warranty. Instead, they would fix them for 3 hours each at $85 + shipping. A real "value" if you ask me. I guess it's my fault for buying a pair of top of the line products, the best of the best, and expecting more than three years out of them.

Both replaced with Standard Horizon and no issues.
I'm on a boat is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread