Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Raymarine Raystar 125 battery replacement

Notices

Raymarine Raystar 125 battery replacement

Old 04-26-2014, 02:26 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 15
Default Raymarine Raystar 125 battery replacement

If you have (not so) older Raymarine gear like C or E Classic series and your GPS takes a long time to get a fix, then you likely need to replace the GPS unit's internal battery. This is a very easy job. Don't fall for Raymarine's line that you need to buy a new RS130 unit along with converter etc.
First, confirm you don't have any other problems, like a totally dead GPS unit. On top of the GPS (what a lot of people think is the antenna) is a tri-color LED. In the manual you can see what the different blinks mean. Slow blink yellow means no fix. Blinking green means it has a fix. Slow or fast blinking green is to signify different connection, nmea or seatalk, can't remember which. In either case, if your MFD shows no fix and the GPS LED shows no fix, then after a period of time it gets a fix and both the MFD and the LED on the GPS agree, then it is working. I don't know what red LED means but it's probably not good.
To replace the battery you need to unmount the GPS, again, what most people think is the antenna, but I can assure you it is the GPS. You can get manuals on Raymarine's site but I wasn't able to find the manual for the RS125. Mine is pole mounted so I just unscrewed the two Phillips screws that are accessible through the pole mount. Then I disconnected the cable.
Bring the GPS inside somewhere with decent light and a work surface where you won't lose little screws. Get a small phillips screwdriver and a multimeter if you have one. On the bottom of the unit there is a foam gasket. It has a fairly heavy plastic base on the foam. DO NOT PEEL AWAY JUST THE FOAM - peel away the foam ALONG WITH the heavy (clear) plastic. It should come off the GPS including the adhesive leaving the GPS not sticky.
There are 6 Phillips head screws holding the GPS together. Take out those screws and the GPS should come apart. The battery is in a slot on the board. You can check it with your multimeter. Mine was flat 0V. Replace with a new CR2032 positive side up as shown by the + sign on the battery slot.
Put back together carefully. Note, there is an o-ring that keeps the unit sealed. I had trouble with the o-ring slipping under the board. You don't want that. I had to put a tiny bit of teflon grease on the inside of the GPS cover where it contacts the o-ring to allow it to slip together easily. Make sure the board is all the way down and the o-ring is not trapped under the board at all, even a little will make it impossible to put back together correctly. Also note there are alignment marks on the top cover and the base - a small arrow on the base and a dot on the cover. This is so the LED lens lines up with the LED.
Hold everything together and put the 6 screws back in. The base should be flush inside the cover. If not, the o-ring is probably out of position. Take it apart and fix it.
Hope this helps someone save a few bucks.
Joe
JoNoFo is offline  
Old 04-26-2014, 02:30 PM
  #2  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 15
Default

Almost forgot - Thanks to Max at Max Marine. I asked him about sending the unit in to have him fix it and he told me how to do it myself. Saved me $90. That is a man I will do business with in the future!
JoNoFo is offline  
Old 04-26-2014, 03:42 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Dryden/Ludington, MI - Steamboat, CO
Posts: 1,270
Default

Thanks for the write up. I think I need to do this to mine. I have the Ray125 manual, but its too large to attach to post. PM me your email and I will email to u.


Red means unit is in bootcode. Its being upgraded or unable to boot
Salmonbum is offline  
Old 04-26-2014, 06:13 PM
  #4  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 15
Default

A couple of things -
1. The instructions I gave above are for a RS125. As I understand the RS120 has the battery soldered or sonically welded in.

2. I found the installation manual, here it is in english:
http://www.raymarine.eu/WorkArea/Dow...t.aspx?id=1501

Here is the area with all of the GPS sensor manuals & drawings in various languages:
http://www.raymarine.com/manualsearc...&Search=Search

3. If your RS125 is pole mounted like mine, it shouldn't have the foam gasket per the installation manual. The foam gasket is only for flush mounting.

Last edited by JoNoFo; 04-26-2014 at 06:33 PM. Reason: forgot #3
JoNoFo is offline  
Old 10-28-2014, 08:06 AM
  #5  
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 52
Default My battery was soldered in

First of all thanks to this forum I was able to repair my GPS since I didn't even know they had a battery and mine was exhibiting loss of fix on a more frequent basis. I took my unit apart (as described) and found the battery was soldered into the PCB with 2 brackets. I had to remove the circuit board and unsolder the brackets to remove the battery. Since the brackets were welded onto the battery, I carefully pulled them off with pliers. Note the position of the brackets on the old battery so as to be able to mount them on the new one in the same manner. I then straightened them out to match the original orientation. I then soldered them to the new battery (using lots of flux) in the approximate positions as the old ones. I was then able to solder the brackets back into the circuit board and the GPS worked once again!
fireman_bob is offline  
Old 03-23-2015, 12:49 AM
  #6  
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Spain - Gibraltar
Posts: 56
Default

Thanks for the clear an concise instructions. I've had a problem with my Raystar 125 recently and was directed to this thread.

My problem was that the pole mounted GPS must have been unscrewed and screwed from the pole causing an intermittent break in the red wire, however I'm now going to replace the battery anyway.
Koalita is offline  
Old 05-08-2015, 08:45 AM
  #7  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 5
Default Rs125 plus - gps sensor

I have the RS 125 and I'm just curious why the battery goes dead. When does the battery get used. If I turn all my battery switches off so no power to nothing, is my GPS still on and using the battery. When I have the boat running is the battery still being used and why does it need a battery, what is it backing up???, too many questions not enough time.
diverpat is offline  
Old 05-08-2015, 08:51 AM
  #8  
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 52
Default

There's a RAM memory chip in the GPS that stores information about the last known location so the unit can acquire a signal very quickly on the next "power up". The RAM memory contents are preserved when power to the unit is removed, so the memory contents are not lost. The battery is what allows the RAM to hold its contents after power is removed from the unit. The RAM uses very little current so the battery can last quite a while. It's just like the battery in you PC or laptop and performs the same function.
fireman_bob is offline  
Old 08-19-2017, 05:44 PM
  #9  
MDT
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 282
Default

Great instructions and relatively easy to perform. Thanks for the write up.
MDT
MDT is offline  
Old 07-10-2018, 05:30 AM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Marco Island, FL
Posts: 3,303
Default

My opinion is buy a used one on ebay or someplace like that. Put a new battery in it, plug it in and go boating. No adapter needed.
HDRyder999 is offline  
Old 07-10-2018, 07:46 AM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1,893
Default

Hello, good instructions, a set of precision screwdrivers is your friend here, I have only replaced a couple of the batteries but had to take a lot apart, a requirement in our area to give the serial number of the unit which is located on a sticker inside, required for homologation purposes when connecting a GPS to a VHF, serial number of plotter will not suffice.
buxa is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread