Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

2 GPS units with one external antenna - Is this possible?

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

2 GPS units with one external antenna - Is this possible?

Old 08-03-2005, 08:45 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 204
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 2 GPS units with one external antenna - Is this possible?

I currently have a Garmin 182 with an external antenna. I am about to purchase a new Garmin 178C GPS/FF combo to replace my old Garmin 240 FF (mostly because I want a color FF, but also because this is the only unit that is the same size as my current FF and therefore will fit in the current cut out in the console). I am planning on leaving my old GPS in place but since the 178C is a GPS/FF combo, I would like to use it as a backup. Is there something that I can buy to split the external antenna cable to connect to both units? If not, will the 178C work as a FF without the GPS connected to any antenna? Thanks.
Old 08-03-2005, 09:37 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SW Fla. 20\' Seagull Cat
Posts: 670
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: 2 GPS units with one external antenna - Is this possible?

Use an antenna splitter. One antenna many drops.
http://www.navtechgps.com/supply/split.asp

Been there, Done that, Got the scars
Monstro

Old 08-03-2005, 10:02 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 204
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: 2 GPS units with one external antenna - Is this possible?

Monstro - 8/3/2005 9:37 AM

Use an antenna splitter. One antenna many drops.
http://www.navtechgps.com/supply/split.asp

Been there, Done that, Got the scars
Monstro
Wow, $332 is the cheapest one. I probably could get a second antenna installed for that! Thanks though.
Old 08-03-2005, 10:04 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 1,414
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: 2 GPS units with one external antenna - Is this possible?

it would be far cheaper to buy a 250c and let someone make the mounting hole in your dash a little bigger....or the 320C if you have 6.2 vs 4.9" of height....they are the same width.....the 320c is an exact match to your current 182 in size. (BTW, I also have a 182 and 240..but I have a 320c which I'll mount as soon as I get a chance).

As far as "backup", if you want true backup, you want two antennas. The backup won't do you any good if the splitter, antenna wire or antenna have a problem.
Old 08-03-2005, 10:15 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Hammond, LA
Posts: 17,424
Likes: 0
Received 34 Likes on 26 Posts
Default Re: 2 GPS units with one external antenna - Is this possible?

why not just buy the 178c that comes with the external antenna?? ;?
Old 08-03-2005, 10:17 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: BOEmarine.com
Posts: 17,611
Likes: 0
Received 203 Likes on 136 Posts
Default Re: 2 GPS units with one external antenna - Is this possible?

The 178C will work fine as a dedicated FF without GPS. But you can simply take the NMEA GPS info out of your 182 and put it into your 178 to get GPS on your 178. I have never done it but it should work fine. Your 182 would need to be on in order for your 178 to have a signal.
Old 08-03-2005, 12:28 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 204
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: 2 GPS units with one external antenna - Is this possible?

cgrand - 8/3/2005 10:15 AM

why not just buy the 178c that comes with the external antenna?? ;?
I am going to but the 178C with the external antenna, but I would rather not have to install an additional antenna and wiring. I was hoping to use the existing external antenna and wiring that my 182 uses. That's all.
Old 08-03-2005, 12:32 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: adrift, in full control
Posts: 1,824
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Re: 2 GPS units with one external antenna - Is this possible?

good thing NMEA 2000 is on the horizon--push and twist universal connectors, one type of wire. why the heck didnt the marine industry do this years ago!

pics of NMEA 2000 connectors on our e-tec gages on our website.

Old 08-03-2005, 12:36 PM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Hammond, LA
Posts: 17,424
Likes: 0
Received 34 Likes on 26 Posts
Default Re: 2 GPS units with one external antenna - Is this possible?

thunt55 - 8/3/2005 12:28 PM

cgrand - 8/3/2005 10:15 AM

why not just buy the 178c that comes with the external antenna?? ;?
I am going to but the 178C with the external antenna, but I would rather not have to install an additional antenna and wiring. I was hoping to use the existing external antenna and wiring that my 182 uses. That's all.
if you are able to connect the two, via one antenna and/or nmea, you will have two working GPS units, but you will not have a true independent "back-up" unit if one fails, which i assume is why you are doing this in the first place.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.