Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Yamaha Digital Speedo

Old 08-02-2005, 10:58 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location:
Posts: 657
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Yamaha Digital Speedo

This may be a dumb question but........
I have a new Yamaha digital speedo on my Scout. I like it for being large and convenient. However, as many of you know, the tiny pitot tube on the lower unit can get clogged by ANYTHING and it often goes to --. I have a GPS with speed but it's not on the screen I normally use and it's small to boot. Is it possible to feed the speed signal (through nmea sentence) to the Digital speedo to display the speed from the GPS instead of the pressure tube? Maybe I'm dreamin' but it would be nice.

Thanks!
Old 08-03-2005, 02:15 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Oakland, CA, USA
Posts: 1,450
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Yamaha Digital Speedo

Don't think so. The normal speedo is based on water pressure. I doubt the gauge has the NMEA interface in the electronics.

jky
Old 08-03-2005, 01:37 PM
  #3  
Joe
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Libertalia
Posts: 17,432
Received 1,408 Likes on 796 Posts
Default Re: Yamaha Digital Speedo

You are correct. The single gauge spped/fuel management does/can get its mph from NMEA input...but you lose some functionlaity over the two separate speedo and FM gauges.
Old 08-03-2005, 01:50 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sailfish Capital & Black Hills SD
Posts: 16,028
Likes: 0
Received 530 Likes on 279 Posts
Default Re: Yamaha Digital Speedo

Joe - 8/3/2005 2:37 PM
you lose some functionlaity over the two separate speedo and FM gauges.
I don't know what functions you could lose with it. Hit the mode button and you can see all the functions I can think of. ;?
Old 08-03-2005, 01:57 PM
  #5  
Joe
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Libertalia
Posts: 17,432
Received 1,408 Likes on 796 Posts
Default Re: Yamaha Digital Speedo

On the all in one speedo/FM, you lose the clock and most importantly, if you have a water in fuel probe from your fuel filter, the all in one gauge does not have this wiring or alarm. Also, you lose separate fuel consumption readout..if you have two engines.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.