Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

trying to link Furuno radar to AP11

Old 03-13-2014, 02:21 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 66
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default trying to link Furuno radar to AP11

I have a Navnet 1933 Radar I am trying to link to my AP11 autopilot. on the J300X there is a spot for radar, says clock and data, but does not say positive or negative... Do I land the TX and RX from my furuno on the radar spot of the J300X? or can i just use the NMEA input and output? I need to get a heading sensor from the AP11 to my radar, and the radar info to the autopilot. NMEA signal would be easily done but not sure if I have to use the radar port on the junction box.

thanks guys
Old 03-13-2014, 03:33 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 308
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Radar Clock and Data should be, left to right, on a Furuno six pin cable, White, Black, Yellow, and Green. If I remember correctly, in the AP11 setup, there is a page to select either Simrad or Furuno radar. Select Furuno and this will give you the heading data.
Old 03-13-2014, 04:38 PM
  #3  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 66
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

for that would I need a 6pin cable from my heading sensor port straight to my autopilot jbox? Would that send the radar signal to the AP and also heading signal back to radar?
Old 03-13-2014, 06:14 PM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 308
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Heading sensor port is DATA3 on 10" NavNet. Nothing is being sent to the autopilot.
Old 03-14-2014, 08:54 AM
  #5  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 66
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Ok thats what im thinking... ill need a seperate NMEA input between the two units... thanks for the help
Old 03-14-2014, 06:31 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 691
Likes: 0
Received 10 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

And you will hook up your furuno nmea out to the j300x nmea input2 port. If I was closer to my boat I would take a pic of the wires as I just hooked mine up last week.
Old 01-03-2015, 10:50 AM
  #7  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 66
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Would I need to link my 1933 data 3 6 pin port to my J300X heading sensor (2 pins) or my J300X radar clock/data(4 pins)? I currently linked my J300X heading sensor +- to the RX +- of the data 3 6pin and doesnt appear to be working correctly, anyone familiar with this?
Old 01-03-2015, 06:07 PM
  #8  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 66
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

guess i just needed to read responses closer... got it figured out... thanks offsraddict

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.