Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Furuno 1650 waypoints...

Old 08-02-2005, 09:15 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location:
Posts: 534
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Furuno 1650 waypoints...

Had one on my CC that already had AR's and buoys entered and labeled. Now I've got a new unit on my W/A....I know there's a way to sit at the marina and enter and label those same wrecks and buoys but the dang manual is confusing da hell out of me....

Can anybody put it on layman's terms the shortcut to enter the coordinates and label? Or is there a way...you don't have to be at that location do you? ;?
Old 08-03-2005, 04:09 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 256
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Furuno 1650 waypoints...

You should have taken the 1650 off the old boat with you to the new boat .

All kidding aside, there're three normal ways to enter waypoints. As you know, one is by being there and hitting the save button momentarily - that's the simplest way. If you have a paper list of waypoints with latitude/longitude coordinates copied from the old boat's 1650 and want to put those waypoints in the new boat's 1650 while sitting in the marina, you can still sort of use that method by using the second method.

In the second method you move the cursor cross hair onto the position of the waypoint, then save it. To do this you first hit the WPT/RTE hard key below the screen, then the soft key (on the side of the screen) WAYPOINTS, then the soft key WAYPOINT BY CURSOR, then you move the cursor to the lat/long you want, then hit the soft key NEW WPT. The waypoint window will open and let you name the waypoint. Hit SAVE when done. Repeat for other waypoints.

If you find it too humbug trying to get the cursor dead-on to the lat/long you want, then use the third method, which is to enter the waypoint directly using the coordinates from your list. Hit the WPT/RTE hard key, then the WAYPOINTS soft key, then the ALPHANUMERIC LIST soft key (presuming your paper lists them alphabetically), then hit the NEW WPT soft key. The waypoint window will open showing your position in the marina; change the entries to suit your desired waypoint, then when done hit SAVE. Repeat for other waypoints.

Fairly straightforward although a bit time-consuming since got to push a button for every number and some buttons more than once to spell out names. But prob'ly the same for any other unit, so just keep in mind how easy it'll be to steer to all those fishing hot spots when you're all done .

Tight lines!
Old 08-03-2005, 07:07 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Mass
Posts: 1,977
Received 46 Likes on 36 Posts
Default Re: Furuno 1650 waypoints...

just to add to lawai's #3 suggestion, if you hit the Clear button while in the waypoint window it will erase the name and coordinates of the current waypoint allowing you to enter your own name/coordinates.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.