Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

MP3 player + amp with no head unit

Old 08-01-2005, 11:52 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Houston & Rockport, Texas
Posts: 234
Received 4 Likes on 1 Post
Default MP3 player + amp with no head unit

Ok, this is interesting. So, if I just use an amp and plug my MP3 player into it, how does that work? I want to run 4 speakers. The cable that has the small headphone plug terminates with 2 RCA plugs. The amp has 4 RCA inputs. What am I doing wrong?

Also, at what power level do I have trouble with my batteries (when the engine is off). Is a 20amp 4x35 (4 ohm) amp going to give me trouble?
Old 08-01-2005, 07:42 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: S Fla
Posts: 23,412
Likes: 0
Received 35 Likes on 29 Posts
Default RE: MP3 player + amp with no head unit

Monarchy - 8/1/2005 12:52 PM

Ok, this is interesting. So, if I just use an amp and plug my MP3 player into it, how does that work? I want to run 4 speakers. The cable that has the small headphone plug terminates with 2 RCA plugs. The amp has 4 RCA inputs. What am I doing wrong?

Also, at what power level do I have trouble with my batteries (when the engine is off). Is a 20amp 4x35 (4 ohm) amp going to give me trouble?
you split the 2 rca's into 4 - cable at radio shack - you can run at reasonable level for an hour or so - what batts do you have? - sent you an email...
Old 08-01-2005, 09:46 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location:
Posts: 657
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: MP3 player + amp with no head unit

You can do what Glen said, but also check your amp manual. Some have a switch or the ability to be "bridged" and use one set of inputs for all outputs. You're essentially going to have 2 channels (L &R) and Front & Rear will be connected together (same for each side). If there's no bridge feature on the amp inputs, get a splitter at RS as Glen suggested. Many amps also have an input sensitivty adjustment. You may have to play with volume of MP3 player and input sensitivity of amp to get right level. Ideally, you want both at mid level (but certainly neither one pegged) or you can get significant distortion.

Amo efficiency varies greatly, so your best bet (if you have an ampmeter) is to measure draw while working. If you know it draws say 10 amps at volume then you can calculate how much battery capacity you need. If this is your only on board battery make sure you leave plenty to get started. When I'm on anchor at the sandbar all day (AND I HAVE ONLY 1 BATT) I'll start the engine at lunch and run at fast idle for 15 minutes. Good luck. I think you'll love it I don't even use the radio anymore with the ipod.

Steve

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.