Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

crows nest over radar dome?

Old 03-05-2014, 08:50 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: FL Keys
Posts: 333
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default crows nest over radar dome?

Thinking of adding a crows nest to my t-top,directly above my radar dome. How many inches above radar dome should floor be as to not effect radar performance to much?
Old 03-06-2014, 06:18 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: BOEmarine.com
Posts: 17,599
Likes: 0
Received 199 Likes on 133 Posts
Default

It could be touching the radar and not affect performance. Your radar has a beam that is 12.5 degrees from horizontal that comes out of the top half of the radar. As long as the "deck" of the crow's nest does not protrude into this "beam" then you will not hurt anything.
Old 03-06-2014, 04:12 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: FL Keys
Posts: 333
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

thanks for response
Old 03-06-2014, 04:18 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,423
Received 110 Likes on 66 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by coralhead View Post
Thinking of adding a crows nest to my t-top,directly above my radar dome. How many inches above radar dome should floor be as to not effect radar performance to much?
The only issue might be the pipe supports. I would imagine they will be small enough in diameter to not create a "blind spot" in the radar sweep area.
Old 03-06-2014, 05:53 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: FL Keys
Posts: 333
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Ok Thanks
Old 03-06-2014, 06:02 PM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Destin fl
Posts: 177
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by ClassicGuy View Post
The only issue might be the pipe supports. I would imagine they will be small enough in diameter to not create a "blind spot" in the radar sweep area.
the pipes will not affect it. My tower is a stand on the T-top type and the radar is also on the T-top.. works just fine

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.