Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Raymarine S1000 autopilot problems???

Old 07-31-2005, 08:03 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location:
Posts: 55
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Raymarine S1000 autopilot problems???

Hi All,

I installed an S1000 autopilot at the beginning of this season on my boat that was less than 1 year old. Prior to the autopilot install the outboard engine would stay at whatever steering angle that I put it untill I moved the steering wheel. (example if I truned the wheel so that the drive was turned halfway to port and parked the boat if I came back a week later the drive would still be half way to port in the same position.) Since installing the s1000 the drive will fall over to one stop or the other within a few hours and recently the time has shortened to about 5 min before the drive will fall from center to hardover without anyone touching the steering wheel.

I have bled the steering system many time to try to eliminate this as a possibility. I am assuming that the fluid is leaking past a seal in the s1000 pump.

Has anyone else had this problem with the s1000???
Old 08-01-2005, 07:47 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: cordova,md
Posts: 304
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Raymarine S1000 autopilot problems???

the s1000 system depends upon the check valves in the helm. sounds to me like the check valves in the helm are leaking.

If the s1000 runs, it moves fluid. If it is still fluid is neutral
Old 08-01-2005, 05:51 PM
  #3  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location:
Posts: 55
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine S1000 autopilot problems???

Thanks larrynimmo,

I'll check into that, IO assume that the check valves are behing the large hex nuts on the back of the helm, and that they can be removed and inspected???


Old 08-02-2005, 08:39 PM
  #4  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location:
Posts: 55
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine S1000 autopilot problems???

I pulled the autopilot out of the steering system this afternoon and rebled the system. My drive is no longer falling over so the problem must be in the Raymarine pilot pump.

Has anyone else with the S1000 seen this condition???

Old 08-02-2005, 09:18 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: mid/lower Chesapeake
Posts: 877
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine S1000 autopilot problems???

I have seen a bad pump from the factory before that leaked like yours but it probably got trash in it during the install. you did use pipe dope & not teflon tape on any fittings that needed sealing,didn't you?
Old 08-03-2005, 07:33 AM
  #6  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location:
Posts: 55
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine S1000 autopilot problems???

I used the loctite specified in the manual even though I had to wait about 10 days for it to show up.

lately my pilot hasn't seemed to turn the boat evenly... What I mean is the pilot turns the boat to starboard much faster than it turns the boat to port. In fact I tried to go back through the leaning in process to see if that would help but the learn in failed every time and I ended up doing 360 degree turns to port more than once. If I try to use the pilot in track mode when I come to a way point that requires a turn to port the turn is slow and takes a while to get to the new track line. If the way point requires a turn to starboard you better be holding on as it will throw the drive close to hard over even when at 25mph. If I use the pilot at 3mph (as is normally the case) it seems to work ok in auto mode but the track mode will let the boat get a cross track error of .1-.2 NM before it slowly brings the boat back towards the intended course. After that the some thing will happen on the other side of the cross track error line. Since I purchased the pilot so I could steer a strait course while towing a sonar the .1 to .2 NM error is way too large.

The situation seems to have gotten worse lately and the out board has started falling over a lot quicker recently as well. Until I took it apart yesterday it was falling over from center to full over in about 5 min. When I first put the pilot on it may have taken a few hours.

I think there must be something wrong in the pilot pump. Sounds like I will be talking to Raymarine again soon.





Old 08-03-2005, 07:38 AM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Merritt Island, FL
Posts: 422
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine S1000 autopilot problems???

Steathdive,

Mine does the same thing. As my helm pump (Seastar steering helm) is quite old I have just assumed it was that the check valves in it were worn out and was going to replace it, but now you have me wondering. I have bled the system several time make sure that was not the problem.
Old 08-03-2005, 10:37 AM
  #8  
MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location:
Posts: 45
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine S1000 autopilot problems???

Mine doos all of the above. Motor falls over, Wont auto learn, Follows a decent course on auto, wont follow a track. Wish I had spent a few more bucks and bought a real auto piolit.
Old 08-03-2005, 11:42 AM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Merritt Island, FL
Posts: 422
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine S1000 autopilot problems???

Plattapuss,

If your AP follows a decent course in Auto, you don't need the autolearn. As for following a track, 1st put it in auto, then once it has control, select track. I have noticed sometimes it takes a weird heading, but then gets right on the track. It seems to maybe work better if I start track mode while going slow, although it will ususally work either way. Once it gets on track it steers a really straight course. Sometimes when I put it in track mode it takes a really strange heading, until the offset error builds up, and I have to either use the arrow keys to bring it back or stop it and restart the track mode. This is my first AP, so I can't compare, but after the first time it drove my boat for 30 miles of open ocean, holding better than a 3 degree course, it was my friend. And if the engine fall over on tilt, I guess I will have to live with it. I don't think that hurts the steering cylinder?

Tom
Old 08-03-2005, 11:54 AM
  #10  
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 46
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine S1000 autopilot problems???

I have the s1000 installed on my whaler with a single 200 optimax. The engine has to be trimmed properly to get the steering performance you want. With the engine down completely, the autopilot doesn't produce enough pressure to turn to port at planing speeds, but can turn effectively and quickly to starboard. I trim the engine to where it is easy to steer in both directions, then turn on the autopilot. At that point the pump can turn in both directions easily. If I trim the engine too far up, it becomes easier to steer to port.

My engine flipped to the side once during trailering, but I don't have an explanation of why it happend. My guess is that there was leakage through the pump into the other side of the hydraulic cylinder.
Old 08-08-2005, 07:06 PM
  #11  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location:
Posts: 6
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine S1000 autopilot problems???

My S1000 is in the box waiting to be installed. These threads, especially the posts by you Scubadown, have been pretty enlightening but have me leaning toward lowered expectations. I actually got such a good deal that I think I can live with it. I am concerned that during my installation I will be going NMEA bare wire from my GPS and will have to clip the connector from the provided cord and make the connections manually. I think I have it down though , I have reviewed the manual from my Garmin gpsmap 162 and appropriate diagram with the installation guide, will keep everyone posted on the results. A couple things I picked up on the other thread (Scubadown) Just for purposes of review is: 1.) that I will not be connecting the NMEA from the corepack back to the GPS Only one NMEA - from gps to corepak. 2.) Mount the pump on a piece of starboard 3.) reduce NMEA sentence output from gps unit from all to as few as I can get away with. One question I dont think I heard much about was setting the S1000 GPS filtering. It says it autos to weak. Would different settings counteract the lack of any course smoothing in my gps unit
Old 08-11-2005, 10:42 AM
  #12  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 26
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine S1000 autopilot problems???

I'm thinking about getting a S1000 when they get the soft ware upgraded so I downloaded the manuals for it but the manuals don't tell you what NMEA sentences you need - in my GPS (Navman 5600) I have to turn on what I need. The thing with NMEA sentence acronyms is they are different to lots of the commonly used GPS acronyms.
Does anyone know what NMEA sentences S1000 needs?.

Below is a list of what I can select in the Navman 5600 with the meaning.

· APA - Autopilot format "A"
· APB - Autopilot format "B"
· GGA - Global Positioning System Fix Data
· GLL - Geographic Position, Latitude/Longitude
· GSA - GPS DOP and Active Satellites
· GSV - GPS Satellites in View
· RMB - Recommended Minimum Navigation Information
· RMC - Recommended Minimum Specific GPS/TRANSIT Data
· BWR - Bearing & Distance to Waypoint, Rhumb Line
· VTG - Track Made Good and Ground Speed
· XTE - Cross-Track Error, Measured
Old 08-11-2005, 10:15 PM
  #13  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: S Fla
Posts: 23,412
Likes: 0
Received 35 Likes on 29 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine S1000 autopilot problems???

i have had two Ray 6001's on two different boats - both steering 225 opti's. My installer has become a good freind and in the numerous talks I have had with him, he always advises his me and his other clients to buy the biggest AP pump they can afford. He is also big on the the gyro equipped units from ray as they calibrate and hold their settings better. AP's are very prone to breaking and flaking out when at the limit of their operating capabilities - lile an anchor, always go one size up from what the mfr recommends....for peace of mind...
Old 08-12-2005, 08:45 AM
  #14  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Merritt Island, FL
Posts: 422
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine S1000 autopilot problems???

Seaman, I will look this weekend and see what NMEA strings my GPS sends to the control unit. If I remember properly, it was only a couple or three strings. 2Hyper,I think you would want to reduce or eliminate any GPS filtering for course and heading to give the AP as much responsiveness as possible. Mine does not have any.Scubadown
Old 08-12-2005, 04:17 PM
  #15  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Merritt Island, FL
Posts: 422
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine S1000 autopilot problems???

SeamanHere are the NMEA strings my GPS output to the AP GGL, APA, XTE, RMB, RMC Good luck
Old 08-13-2005, 01:02 AM
  #16  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 26
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine S1000 autopilot problems???

Thanks scubadown, maybe some of the problems people are having is too many strings, not enough or the wrong ones?

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.