Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Homeport for iPad and Desktop?

Old 03-04-2014, 04:41 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Stuart, Florida
Posts: 3,720
Default Homeport for iPad and Desktop?

I am interested in getting the Garmin HomePort program and have a question? I see I can download the program from Garmin's site but was wondering is there a separate app for the iPad/iPhone?

Does that mean i have to buy the app for the iOS device and my desktop?
oceanluvr30 is offline  
Old 03-04-2014, 04:58 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 265
Default

Yes, The iPad app is called BlueChart mobile and it has slightly different functionality than the homeport does.
spearfish III is offline  
Old 03-04-2014, 05:45 PM
  #3  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 6
Default

I understand they are in business to make money but I just bought three Garmin products and looks like upon registering them they would give the homeport download or at least give a 50% discount. jmo
Dieago is offline  
Old 03-05-2014, 03:38 AM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ct
Posts: 1,442
Default

Originally Posted by spearfish III View Post
Yes, The iPad app is called BlueChart mobile and it has slightly different functionality than the homeport does.
BlueChart rocks, especially when you tie it in with activecaptain. The reason they offer it as stand alone is so they can offer something to the non Garmin public. Its a bonus as a free download for the buyers of the plotters just makes the user interface that much better and easier to manipulate.
Ctsearay is offline  
Old 03-16-2014, 05:18 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Eastern nc
Posts: 452
Default

Originally Posted by Ctsearay View Post
BlueChart rocks, especially when you tie it in with activecaptain. The reason they offer it as stand alone is so they can offer something to the non Garmin public. Its a bonus as a free download for the buyers of the plotters just makes the user interface that much better and easier to manipulate.
How do you get HomePort free? I just bought a plotter.
willyfastz is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread