Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Single Yamaha Fuel Management \ Speedometer combo

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Single Yamaha Fuel Management \ Speedometer combo

Old 07-30-2005, 12:20 PM
  #1  
Joe
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Libertalia
Posts: 17,432
Received 1,408 Likes on 796 Posts
Default Single Yamaha Fuel Management \ Speedometer combo

I just installed this in place of my speedometer. I have no idea how it works yet, but i did find out the water in fuel alarm probe I bough at the same time is a waste of money. The gauge doesn't have this feature!

So if you are "upgrading"..don't bother with the water in fuel probe.
Old 07-30-2005, 10:56 PM
  #2  
Joe
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Libertalia
Posts: 17,432
Received 1,408 Likes on 796 Posts
Default Re: Single Yamaha Fuel Management \ Speedometer combo

Ok..Got about 25 miles and 10 gallons through it today. It seemed to work great. I got pretty good g/hr and total readings. About 20% off from my GPS, but really, Ikind of figured that. Not an issue.

What is an issue though is the inability to reset anything. Instructions say to push set and mode at the same time to reset trip and fuel consumption. It just doesn't work. Any ideas?
Old 07-31-2005, 05:56 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Albemarle Sound - NC
Posts: 1,198
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Single Yamaha Fuel Management \ Speedometer combo

Hey Joe.........send SIM this question............and, I thought I had heard that you could interface this gauge to a GPS for speed input.......or maybe that is only for the separate FM gauge.
Old 07-31-2005, 08:10 PM
  #4  
Joe
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Libertalia
Posts: 17,432
Received 1,408 Likes on 796 Posts
Default Re: Single Yamaha Fuel Management \ Speedometer combo

You can interface it. Me and SIM have solved it.
Old 08-01-2005, 09:34 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location:
Posts: 657
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Single Yamaha Fuel Management \ Speedometer combo

Can you put me on this device? I have separate Digital Speedo and Tach and no room for a third. Are you saying you have a combo Yamaha Digital Speedo and Fuel Management? I couldn't find it on their site.

???

Steve
Old 08-01-2005, 10:03 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 1,414
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Single Yamaha Fuel Management \ Speedometer combo

http://www.pws9.com/Merchant2/mercha...Y5-W0088-70-00
Old 08-01-2005, 10:29 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location:
Posts: 657
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Single Yamaha Fuel Management \ Speedometer combo

Thank you !
That's what i was looking for.
Old 08-01-2005, 11:18 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sailfish Capital & Black Hills SD
Posts: 16,028
Likes: 0
Received 530 Likes on 279 Posts
Default Re: Single Yamaha Fuel Management \ Speedometer combo

I have one, it's hooked up to the GPS. These are far superior to the Flo scan, Navman or the old Yamaha fuel mgmt gauges I've had. For one reason; it instantly tells you what you need to know MPG (no doing the math). Another nice thing is it reads in MPH, so you can have nautical miles per hour on your GPS and MPH on the speedo, cool. You will be amazed at some of the results, different MPG for trim settings, different sea states, etc. You can easily dial in the most economical trim and speed of your rig at that moment!. I was surprised that I actually get better MPG at the faster speeds One of the best additions I've ever added to an outboard boat.
Old 08-02-2005, 03:57 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 265
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Single Yamaha Fuel Management \ Speedometer combo

Afishinado,

Did You use Navman Fuel 3100 (gas) or Navman 3200 Diesel?
They can show distance per units of fuel (Fuel economy) when it is interfaced with a speed source (GPS).
The simpler Navman 2100 can not be interfaced to a speed source.

In 3100/3200:
You can set speed unit to miles per hour or nautical miles per hour.
You can set unit Liter or Gal(US or Imp.).
Distance unit can be set to Statute miles or Nautical miles.
(if distance unit is selected to Nautical miles the speed unit automatically slected to knots)
Fuel economy can be displayed in Nautical miles per Liter or Gal,
or Statute Miles per Liter or Gal.

Fuel flow, Liter or Gal per hour, can be displayed also of course.

It has alot of other things that it can display also.

A question about the Yamaha Speed/FM combo instrument:

Do You need to have the setup calibrated with an exact known amount of fuel to get better
then out of the box accuracy? (The Navman FM system needs calibration to get better then
the out of box + - 10% inacurracy).

I also noticed, to my surprise, that I get better fuel economy at higher speeds.
Before I had the Navman Fuel 3100 I assumed about 20 knots was my most economical speed/RPM
with my boat/outboard combination but after getting the Fuel 3100 I can see with my own eyes I get most distance per unit of fuel at 25 knots usually.


Old 08-02-2005, 07:03 AM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sailfish Capital & Black Hills SD
Posts: 16,028
Likes: 0
Received 530 Likes on 279 Posts
Default Re: Single Yamaha Fuel Management \ Speedometer combo

bossee, No it was a Navman 2100 I had on the boat. The fuel gauge broke and I used the 2100 for that purpose primarily.

I don't know of any calibration to the Yamaha unit...
Old 08-02-2005, 11:15 AM
  #11  
Joe
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Libertalia
Posts: 17,432
Received 1,408 Likes on 796 Posts
Default Re: Single Yamaha Fuel Management \ Speedometer combo

The all in unit does give up some features that the separate gauges have. No clock and resettable mileage from the old speedo, and most imprtantly, if you are using the Yamaha water in fuel probe, it can not work with the all in one gauge. It's true your speedometer will still show pitot tube pressure speed, but if you have a GPS, you will have true speed anyway (and if you don't have a GPS hooked to your FM or speedometer, your readings won't be that accurate anyway)

It was mentioned baove about "doing math", but on either of the Yamaha FM gauges, I think it is all calculated for you; it may not be on eth other brands named.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.