Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Airmar tm150m for simrad navico sonarhub

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Airmar tm150m for simrad navico sonarhub

Old 02-25-2014, 04:57 AM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 1,708
Default Airmar tm150m for simrad navico sonarhub

Has anyone had any luck finding this or does anyone have any information on when available?

I have sonarhub ordered for my 2 simrad nss 8's.

I have seen them for sale for the garmins, but not with the lowrance/simrad connectors.
Akgoff4 is offline  
Old 02-25-2014, 05:05 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5,216
Default

Originally Posted by Akgoff4 View Post
Has anyone had any luck finding this or does anyone have any information on when available?

I have sonarhub ordered for my 2 simrad nss 8's.

I have seen them for sale for the garmins, but not with the lowrance/simrad connectors.
I *think* you can order the SonarHub bundled with the TM150M.
stiletto is offline  
Old 02-25-2014, 05:17 AM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 1,708
Default

Originally Posted by stiletto View Post
I *think* you can order the SonarHub bundled with the TM150M.
Thanks for reply. Lowrance told me the bundles won't be shipping for a couple of months. So, I went ahead and ordered sonarhub without bundled transducer. I ordered Lss-2 separately.
Akgoff4 is offline  
Old 02-25-2014, 05:28 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,410
Default

I've read about TM150M delivery problems delaying the SonarHub bundle.
abbor is offline  
Old 02-25-2014, 05:31 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5,216
Default

You can get the TM150M without connector and put the Lowrance pigtail on it.
stiletto is offline  
Old 02-25-2014, 05:33 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,410
Default

I don't think TM150M is available without connector, but it's of course possible to cut off the Garmin connector and splice in a Lowrance connector.
abbor is offline  
Old 02-25-2014, 05:42 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5,216
Default

Call SemperFiFishing, transducers are his first love. Then comes his wife...

GiL @ 1 (800) 925-0341
stiletto is offline  
Old 02-25-2014, 05:56 PM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 1,708
Default

Originally Posted by abbor View Post
I don't think TM150M is available without connector, but it's of course possible to cut off the Garmin connector and splice in a Lowrance connector.
Would that be a dumb idea? Would it be possible / better to just put in a broadband 83/200 and run it thru chirp sonarhub if it looks like the delay will be months? When the tm150 becomes available just unplug 83/200 from sonarhub and go directly into back of nss8? (3 transducers possible?)
Akgoff4 is offline  
Old 02-25-2014, 06:26 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,410
Default

I would have considered a P66 instead. TM150M and Lowrance 83/200kHz are in a way overlapping when it comes to application area. P66 has better better performance at deeper water than TM150M, at least when P66 is connected to NSS and TM150M to 527xs. P66 will also bring the wide coverage of the 50 kHz.
abbor is offline  
Old 03-04-2014, 08:17 AM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 455
Default

So a P66 would be better than a TM150M for depths less than 200'?
GatorDebaitor is offline  
Old 03-04-2014, 08:27 AM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,410
Default

No, my proposal was to get a P66 instead of a Lowrance 83/200 (HST-WSTBL) until TM150M is available. You plan to have two units so you can leave the P66 after TM150M is mounted.

After installing TM150M a HST-WSBL would bring no value beacuse TM150M is better than HST-WSBL for everything. P66 will probably bring value, based on testing I've done a NSS with P66 has better sensitivity such that it works better than a Garmin 527xs with TM150m from 150' and deeper.
abbor is offline  
Old 03-04-2014, 01:36 PM
  #12  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 1,708
Default

Originally Posted by abbor View Post
No, my proposal was to get a P66 instead of a Lowrance 83/200 (HST-WSTBL) until TM150M is available. You plan to have two units so you can leave the P66 after TM150M is mounted.

After installing TM150M a HST-WSBL would bring no value beacuse TM150M is better than HST-WSBL for everything. P66 will probably bring value, based on testing I've done a NSS with P66 has better sensitivity such that it works better than a Garmin 527xs with TM150m from 150' and deeper.
So, you're proposing P66 for now hooked directly into one of the two NSS. Then, when Sonarhub comes out attach the LSS-2 StructureScan transducer through it. Then, when I can get the TM150m, add it to the Sonarhub as a 3rd transom-mounted transducer?
Akgoff4 is offline  
Old 03-04-2014, 01:39 PM
  #13  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,410
Default

Correct
abbor is offline  
Old 03-04-2014, 01:57 PM
  #14  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 455
Default

Won't that create an issue with the networked units sharing the sounder information?
GatorDebaitor is offline  
Old 03-04-2014, 02:04 PM
  #15  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,410
Default

No, it's just to uncheck network sonar for the NSS where the P66 is connected.
abbor is offline  
Old 03-04-2014, 07:04 PM
  #16  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 22,027
Default

Originally Posted by strhtjen View Post
I have seen them for sale for the garmins,
Correct.....you can currently get the TM150, B150, B75, B175 in the Garmin 8 pin for tier single band units.

For the B175C-HW one still needs to use the 8 pin adapter.
semperfifishing is offline  
Old 03-05-2014, 04:29 AM
  #17  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 1,708
Default

Originally Posted by semperfifishing View Post
Correct.....you can currently get the TM150, B150, B75, B175 in the Garmin 8 pin for tier single band units.

For the B175C-HW one still needs to use the 8 pin adapter.
ANY word on when navico version of tm150 will be available?
Akgoff4 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread