Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

NSS8 or NSE8 and 3G

Old 02-21-2014, 12:15 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 45
Default NSS8 or NSE8 and 3G

I'm putting radar on my boat and have been researching pro's and con's....I have a good traditional pulse sonar system on it already, but may like to add shallow water (to 500') chirp later on. Also, I may or may not add autopilot later on as well. Seems like the NSE may be worthwhile for the future. Right now I need radar, so I'm seriously considering NSE8, 3G, GS25 and Navionics Platinum +.

Any input is appreciated. I know about the rebates on the NSS, but would that device provide for future as above.

Thanks!
Whidbey is offline  
Old 02-21-2014, 12:52 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,025
Default

NSS Evo2
keizerh is offline  
Old 02-21-2014, 01:12 PM
  #3  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 45
Default

Thanks, expanding research. I'll check, but what TM broadband transducer would you recommend for wide upper column to work with it? I have a through hull ss264n pair already, so the chirp would want to be TM. Also, with the wide it looks like a more compatible dual range radar and thus the 4G. It also looks like heading data is built in for overlay? And for about the same pricing as my original intention. Thanks on this.
Whidbey is offline  
Old 02-21-2014, 01:36 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,025
Default

Transducer guy's come in please
keizerh is offline  
Old 02-21-2014, 01:38 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 905
Default

Just went down a similar road. The NSS8 can be had for about $1000 with rebate. The upcoming SonarHub with CHIRP will be compatible with the NSS8. There are existing options for the autopilot. I don't think the 4G includes anything over and above the 3G in regards to the overlay. You still need the GS25 for compass. The only small detail worth noting is the the Simrad 3G and 4G and the Lowrance 4G include the RI10 radar interface box required for overlay. The Lowrance 3G does not include the RI10. My searches are showing that the built in charting is good and Navionics Platinum does not provide any major improvement. Not sure why the NSE would be anymore future proof than the NSS. The NSS is the much better deal right now. The NSS Evo2 should certainly be more future proof than the NSS, and I considered it....but I just can't figure out why so many people repeatedly recommend a product that hasn't even been released yet. Reliability is an important factor for me. Only time in the field will determine reliability.
tainted is offline  
Old 02-21-2014, 01:49 PM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 22,027
Default

Originally Posted by Whidbey View Post
Thanks, expanding research. I'll check, but what TM broadband transducer would you recommend for wide upper column to work with it? I have a through hull ss264n pair already, so the chirp would want to be TM.
If you are looking at a single band CHRIP transom mounted ducer.... the only option is the TM150M.
95 to 155 kHz and a cone of 25 to 16 degrees.

............

If one has a dual band sonar such as the GSD26 , BSM-2 or DFF1-UHD then there is the TM265C-LH or even better the TM275C-LHW
semperfifishing is offline  
Old 02-21-2014, 01:53 PM
  #7  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 45
Default

Excellent, Thank you! Do you mind sharing with whom you're pricing?
Whidbey is offline  
Old 02-21-2014, 01:56 PM
  #8  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 45
Default

Gil, thanks. Will the SonarHub work with both single or dual? Sounds like the 150m may be a good option for the upper column in chirp working with the pulse ssn264 pair?
Whidbey is offline  
Old 02-21-2014, 02:01 PM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 905
Default

I bought mine from Gil.
tainted is offline  
Old 02-21-2014, 02:23 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,410
Default

I'm quite sure TM150M is not the transducer you would like, the sensitivity is quite low.

One of the new wide transducers is right for you, the options are single band B175W or dual band transom mount TM275LH-W. To useTM275LH-W you need the BSM-2 black box sounder.
abbor is offline  
Old 02-21-2014, 02:34 PM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5,216
Default

There are a hundred thru hull single band transducers, only the one transom mount. See about replacing one of your SS264 Pair with a B175W. The advantages of the Evo2 over the NSS are dual range radar capability, faster processor, built in structure scan, single band CHIRP sonar, and multitouch interface.
stiletto is offline  
Old 02-21-2014, 03:23 PM
  #12  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 45
Default

I really like my pair w/ my 587 for what it does. Has the BSM-2 improved? I've read about problems with it. The TM275LH-W may be the ticket for a later add on (Thank you abbor)....after radar. Now since the NSS have a sounder built in, are they as suited for a BSM-2 as an NSE? Gil, sharpen your pencil Thanks for the comparison breakdown, stiletto.
Whidbey is offline  
Old 02-21-2014, 03:39 PM
  #13  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 22,027
Default

Originally Posted by Whidbey View Post
Gil, sharpen your pencil



Sharpen my pencil..right.

I'll get right on it......just have to find the on / off switch for this thing..

Last edited by semperfifishing; 02-21-2014 at 09:01 PM.
semperfifishing is offline  
Old 02-21-2014, 08:52 PM
  #14  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5,216
Default

Originally Posted by tainted View Post
The only small detail worth noting is the the Simrad 3G and 4G and the Lowrance 4G include the RI10 radar interface box required for overlay. The Lowrance 3G does not include the RI10.
FYI the RI10 is required for MARPA, not overlay.
stiletto is offline  
Old 02-22-2014, 08:58 AM
  #15  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 905
Default

Originally Posted by stiletto View Post
FYI the RI10 is required for MARPA, not overlay.
?

Page 14 of the radar installation manual. "Note: to add MARPA and/or chart overlay, you need to add an RI10 Interface Box and Heading Sensor."

If what you are saying is true, and the manual is wrong, I am already aggravated with Simrad and I haven't even installed the unit. I could have saved some money by going with the Lowrance 3G.

Also, does this mean I don't have to purchase a Simnet kit and connect the RI10 to the NMEA 2k network? I could care less about MARPA. Overlay is what I want.
tainted is offline  
Old 02-22-2014, 09:09 AM
  #16  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5,216
Default

Originally Posted by tainted View Post
?

Page 14 of the radar installation manual. "Note: to add MARPA and/or chart overlay, you need to add an RI10 Interface Box and Heading Sensor."

If what you are saying is true, and the manual is wrong, I am already aggravated with Simrad and I haven't even installed the unit. I could have saved some money by going with the Lowrance 3G.

Also, does this mean I don't have to purchase a Simnet kit and connect the RI10 to the NMEA 2k network? I could care less about MARPA. Overlay is what I want.
Yes, you don't need the Siment to N2K cable. You will want MARPA though. You can do things like target a boat and get his coordinates And I wouldn't get a Simnet kit, I would get an nmea2K starter kit and get a Simnet to NMEA2K cable. Abbor will correct me if I am wrong....
stiletto is offline  
Old 02-22-2014, 03:24 PM
  #17  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 45
Default

If you don't mind, could you (abbor and/or stiletto) proof my list so that I get everything I need from the get go. I know NSE is much more, but as an investment in quality to me it seems like it may be worthwhile...and I may make use of the video later, and I know how messy my hands get and wouldn't want that all over my screen. Faster, brighter, and sturdier = has always cost me more.

NSE8
GS25
Simrad 3G....this appears to be an area that I don't see the benefit to 4G, please correct me if I'm wrong.
Navionics - NAV-MSD/638P+

So, cables as provided for above from siletto to tainted (SIM-000-10628-001) and (Simnet to NMEA2K cable -- do you know what part this cable is?) , anything else for a complete parts to install list for this system? Thanks

Last edited by Whidbey; 02-22-2014 at 05:21 PM.
Whidbey is offline  
Old 02-22-2014, 05:34 PM
  #18  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 45
Default

Originally Posted by Whidbey View Post
So, cables as provided for above from siletto to tainted (SIM-000-10628-001) and (Simnet to NMEA2K cable -- do you know what part this cable is?) , anything else for a complete parts to install list for this system? Thanks
OK, so the above is with NSS. If I go NSE, I have three network ports, correct? Radar, BSM-2 and ??? or nothing more or maybe.......and if I want more on the network, I'll ad NMEA2K Starter Kit and some T's, am on the right track?
Whidbey is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread