Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Waypoint Input

Old 07-28-2005, 12:46 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: North Myrtle Beach SC
Posts: 8,045
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Waypoint Input

I am using Raymarines waypoint utility and have the following coordinates for AR 372. Does anyone know how I list this in there program. I would appreciate anyones help.

34 06' 13''
77 44' 57"
Old 07-28-2005, 01:17 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 761
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 1 Post
Default RE: Waypoint Input

The Waypoint Utility zip file contains a sample Excel spreadsheet that allows you to input the Waypoint name, coordinates and other information. Open the file and mimic the sample waypoint entry in the Excel file with your data and you can't go wrong.

You then save the Excel file and close out of it. Launch the Wyapoint Utility application and it will prompt you to convert the Excel file to a proprietary file for the Raymarine unit. The new file must be named archive.fsh

Save the "archive.fsh" file to a copmpact flash card and then load insert the card into the RM unit. To load the information from the card
1. Press the DATA button.
2. Press ARCHIVE & TRANSFER.
3. Press RETRIEVE FROM CARD.
4. From SELECT LIST, choose WPT (Waypoint)
5. The card contents for your selection appears on the screen.
6. Use the trackpad (up/down) to select what you want to retrieve or press RETRIEVE ALL or RETRIEVE GROUP/ROUTE/TRACK as appropriate. A message box appears to show that the information is being written to the display.
7. When the transfer is complete a message will appear on the screen.

Just follow the instructions carefully and it should be a piece of cake.
Old 07-28-2005, 02:39 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: North Myrtle Beach SC
Posts: 8,045
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: Waypoint Input

Thank you. How do you enter the actual data given my example above; i.e,

Lat Degs Lat Mins Lat N/S Long Degs Long Mins Long E/W
Old 07-29-2005, 08:19 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 761
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 1 Post
Default RE: Waypoint Input

RM and the waypoint utility uses Decimal Minutes (and most GPS units, I believe), not Minutes and Seconds as you've got, so you need to first convert to Decimal Minutes. Your coordinates would convert (I think) to:
34 06' 13'' = 34 06.217 N
77 44' 57" = 77 44.950 W

You would then enter (without the quotation marks) into the Excel spreadsheet:
"34" in the "Lat Degs" column
"06.217" in the "Lat Mins" column
"77" in the "Long Degs" column
"44.950" in the "Long Mins" column
Use N and W in the appropriate hemisphere columns.

I can't vouch for its accuracy, but I used a converter at: http://www.terraserver.com/tools/degrees_converter.asp
to do the lat/lon conversion to Decimal Minutes.

Good luck.
Old 07-30-2005, 07:54 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: North Myrtle Beach SC
Posts: 8,045
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: Waypoint Input

Awesome, thank you

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.