Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Autopilot Thought Process Begins....

Old 07-28-2005, 06:00 AM
  #1  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Thread Starter
 
John_Madison CT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Old Saybrook, CT
Posts: 14,480
Received 744 Likes on 404 Posts
Default Autopilot Thought Process Begins....

Guys....it may be time ??

I'm thinking about the Raymarine S1G ST6000 Auto-pilot for my Parker 2520DV.

While I'm generally a do it yourself'er / figure it out myself kinda guy, with this I will need lots of help.

Can anyone recommend some install tips, like, where would you mount the Fluxgate compass in a boat such as mine?? Will this unit plug into my Raymarine C120??

Is it hard to mount the rudder reference on the OB??

Whatever else you guys know, it would be greatly appreciated.



Thanks,

John
Old 07-28-2005, 06:49 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,167
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Autopilot Thought Process Begins....

The hardest part is the Rudder Ref mounting ... the rest is fairly straight forward....

The Fluxgate needs to be in your cabin out of the elements and as close to center as you can find
with out pictures it's hard to sat where exactly..

Yes all Ray items link directly to each other so you will not have any issues there .....

Good Luck and if I can help let me know ...
John
Old 07-29-2005, 07:33 AM
  #3  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Thread Starter
 
John_Madison CT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Old Saybrook, CT
Posts: 14,480
Received 744 Likes on 404 Posts
Default Re: Autopilot Thought Process Begins....

John: Should the fluxgate be below deck? There is a hatch, right at the center line of the boat, just aft of the bulkhead going into the cabin. The hatch is there for access to a very small Rule forward bilge pump.

Does this make sense?

John
Old 07-29-2005, 08:29 AM
  #4  
cjr
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location:
Posts: 30
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Autopilot Thought Process Begins....

Just a thought, why would the fluxgate need to be at the center of the boat?

I would think that as long as you've got it pointed forward, the heading would be the same anywhere on the boat.

chris
Old 07-29-2005, 11:33 AM
  #5  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,772
Likes: 0
Received 31 Likes on 23 Posts
Default Re: Autopilot Thought Process Begins....

The fluxgate does NOT need to be pointed forward. AND, it does NOT need to be "out of the elements". It should be mounted as close to the centerline of the boat as possible, but this is not a requirement to make it work right. It will just work "better" in the center because in theory there is the same interference in all directions (from yoru boat...).

For me, the rudder ref. was very easy to mount, it just took some digging to get/make the right mount for it to fit my motors. The hardest thing for me, which I am still working on (2 years later), is to get the Fluxgate compass mounted in a "good" location where the deviation is not too high. I can't seem to find a good location on my boat. Partly because the ray fluxgate compass just sucks. I have a KVH heading sensor which works just find. I tried mounting the fluxgate near that, and it had a 17 degree deviation.
Old 07-29-2005, 11:55 AM
  #6  
Senior MemberSponsorCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Central FL, US
Posts: 2,567
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Autopilot Thought Process Begins....

John,

My boat is similar to yours and has the same access hatch at the rear bulkhead of the cabin. I have a forward bilge pump there also. I was able to crawl into that hatch (barely got my arms far enough in) and mount the fluxgate just above the hatch and my deviation was 1 degree when I calibrated the AP.

I darn near got stuck in there a couple of times and it was not easy to mount but the location has worked out well.

I have a storage cabinet on the starboard side just forward of my bulk head where I mounted the course computer as you can see in this photo.



Birdman, I've still got my Rudder Ref mounted on the bent tropica mount. I've been checking the mail everyday looking for that fabricated aluminum mount you were sending me :grin:

I've also been checking the mail for the Raymarine SW upgrade for ST6001G that eliminates the need for the Rudder Ref. I've only been waiting for 17 months but I'm sure it's on the way just as they promised ;?
Old 07-29-2005, 03:52 PM
  #7  
SIM
Senior MemberVendorCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Washington Island,Wi USA
Posts: 13,904
Likes: 0
Received 12 Likes on 12 Posts
Default RE: Autopilot Thought Process Begins....

Remember when setting up the install for any autopilot, in particular the flux gate compass, to check surrounding compartments for electric motors of any sorts. Washdown pumps, electric heads, livewell pumps, speakers, bilge pumps ect. All of these have magnets in them and all will reek havoc with a flux gate compass regardless of brand.

We have a small high quality handheld compass that we use to check out potential area's for magnetic interference when installing a flux compass. Only problem with that is its hard to tell which way you started walking when entering a cabin and trying to keep the compass in the right direction. Its pretty obvious though when you get close to a motor or a speaker because the compass will start going nuts.

I do agree that Raymarine's flux gate's kind of suck.......did I say that out loud??? jk

Andy
Old 07-29-2005, 04:17 PM
  #8  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,772
Likes: 0
Received 31 Likes on 23 Posts
Default Re: Autopilot Thought Process Begins....

You sure did say it out loud!! And I've said it out loud, in print, on the internet and, more importantly, to the Raymarine Tech support Reps, to the Raymarine Sales reps at several boat shows.... But, still no decent replacement Fluxgate compass.

What pisses me off with this thing, is that my handheld compass (I tried the same thing SIM did with a hand held to find a good spot...) doesn't deviate at any of my locations. But the Fluzgate does??? My KVH works great too.

I've been thinking about trying it up on my radar arch??? I'm wondering how stong a magnet is in the radom's "Magnatron"?? Got a funny feeling it's a big one.



Sim, my trim switch on the way?
Old 07-29-2005, 05:09 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Pensacola,Florida,USA
Posts: 162
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Autopilot Thought Process Begins....

I bought and installed the unit you are speaking of. No complaints as of now. The install was a piece of cake except for the rudder feedback. I had to manufacture my own as the factory bracket would not work. Calibration was easy.
Old 07-29-2005, 05:49 PM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: mass/Point Judith, RI dockage
Posts: 11,996
Received 509 Likes on 298 Posts
Default Re: Autopilot Thought Process Begins....

John, I've got the 6001 S1G on my 2510. The rudder ref unit is a snap to install. I recently had to reinstall it because my friendly mechanic decided to store my old one underwater. It took me about 30 minutes to reinstall and another 15 to calibrate.

I did the whole job myself, including the hydraulic lines. It was a piece of cake as long as you get the correct fittings.

The fluxgate is just inside my cabin against a bulhead, away from electronics and motors. I haven't had a problem with it at all.

Is it worth it? HE%% YES!!!!!!

Aside from just being able to kick back and watch the water while going to and fro, it is an absolute joy to have out trolling. I pick a course and it holds it. I don't have to be at the helm; I'm setting out lines, checking lures, and chatting all while the boat holds a dead true course. I just make sure to keep glancing forward so we don't go bump with anything.

I would absolutely not own another boat without one (an AP).

Good luck with it.... Let me know if you want to look at mine or need some help.
Old 07-30-2005, 06:00 AM
  #11  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Thread Starter
 
John_Madison CT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Old Saybrook, CT
Posts: 14,480
Received 744 Likes on 404 Posts
Default Re: Autopilot Thought Process Begins....

Gerg: Yes sir, I would love to see your rig. Get this, I am home alone for 6 whole days. I drop the family in NJ today, will be back tonight and will FISH FISH FISH............everyday until next Sat, when I pick them up.

Wanna go offshore next week?? Otherwise, I would love to see your rig.

Email me at: jmetaxas@aol.com

Muchas Gracias,

John
Old 08-01-2005, 11:49 AM
  #12  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Merritt Island, FL
Posts: 422
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Autopilot Thought Process Begins....

John,You might consider the Ray S1000 AutoPilot. No rudder feedback and no fluxgate. I have had mine for several months and it works great. It uses your GPS for heading position. As it is my first autopilot I can't compare it to the type with a fluxgate compass but it does all I want in an autopilot.
Old 08-01-2005, 09:19 PM
  #13  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Thread Starter
 
John_Madison CT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Old Saybrook, CT
Posts: 14,480
Received 744 Likes on 404 Posts
Default Re: Autopilot Thought Process Begins....

Scubadown: I thought about the S1000, but want an autopilot that can troll down under 2mph. Also, my boat is a heavy 25', so I'm not sure this AP is suited for my rig.

John
Old 08-02-2005, 11:48 AM
  #14  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Merritt Island, FL
Posts: 422
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Autopilot Thought Process Begins....

John,

Yeah the below 2MPH is a problem, it won't take the helm below 2.5MPH. My boat is a 24 Grady and I have had 15 scuba tanks, 5 sets of scuba gear and 5 divers and the weight seems to make no difference in the performance in the AP.
Old 08-02-2005, 04:33 PM
  #15  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Huron, Ohio, USA -
Posts: 1,315
Received 63 Likes on 37 Posts
Default Re: Autopilot Thought Process Begins....

scubadown - 8/2/2005 11:48 AM



John,

Yeah the below 2MPH is a problem, it won't take the helm below 2.5MPH. My boat is a 24 Grady and I have had 15 scuba tanks, 5 sets of scuba gear and 5 divers and the weight seems to make no difference in the performance in the AP.
The new software for the S1000 has been tested down to about 1.5 MPH. Not sure on a release date. This is from a very reliable source at Raymarine.
Steve
Old 08-02-2005, 06:23 PM
  #16  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Merritt Island, FL
Posts: 422
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Autopilot Thought Process Begins....

Raymarine notified me today they had an update for my S1000 to allow it to operate at speeds greater than 1.0 MPH.
Old 08-02-2005, 06:54 PM
  #17  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cape Carteret, NC
Posts: 158
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Autopilot Thought Process Begins....

Scubydoo, what do you need to do to get the update? Send in the brain (computer) and what else? Thx.
Old 08-02-2005, 07:08 PM
  #18  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: mass/Point Judith, RI dockage
Posts: 11,996
Received 509 Likes on 298 Posts
Default Re: Autopilot Thought Process Begins....

Woops, John,just revisited this thread. sorry about that. I'm about to go out of the country for 10 days, but we can link up when I get back. I've got more shark/tuna trips planned.......
Old 08-03-2005, 07:34 AM
  #19  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Merritt Island, FL
Posts: 422
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Autopilot Thought Process Begins....

Quig,

Ray said to just send in the computer for an update, but I guess the new ones come with the revised software.
Old 08-03-2005, 12:11 PM
  #20  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ocean Pines, MD
Posts: 892
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Autopilot Thought Process Begins....

Why not get a Simrad AP16? I have an AP11 (which has been replaced by the AP16), an it works fine at any speed as long as it doesn't run out of steering in a head sea. It's been ttoally trouble free, including the flux gate compass.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.