Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Raymarine C80; too small?

Old 07-25-2005, 01:33 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Brooklyn, NY USA
Posts: 1,145
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Raymarine C80; too small?

Do you guys with a Raymarine C80 feel like the screen is too little when split into GPS, Sonar, Radar mode? Iím tearing myself up deciding between the C80 or C120. Any opinions will be helpful since I canít make the decision by myself anyway. This is for a 26í Seaswirl Striper walkaround. Thanks.
Old 07-25-2005, 01:37 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 1,513
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Raymarine C80; too small?

If you have the dash room and funds available, the larger screen is alot nicer when split that much.
Old 07-25-2005, 01:39 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Wellington , Fl
Posts: 1,580
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine C80; too small?

go with the larger display,, when your in a rough sea the larger display helps a bunch. I have not heard anyone complain about the display being to large,, Bigger is always better
Old 07-25-2005, 02:04 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Brooklyn, NY USA
Posts: 1,145
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine C80; too small?

I have the dash space (and the funds) but itíll be mounted on a bracket. If I drive while Iím sitting down (rarely) the top of the display with block about 2 inches of the bottom of the windshield. I have to mount it on a bracket so I can take it home with me when Iím done for the day. I donít trust leaving an expensive easy to steal item on the boat. I wish I had a pic of my dash for you guys. I can post it tonight.
Old 07-25-2005, 02:46 PM
  #5  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location:
Posts: 19
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine C80; too small?

With that unit, if you add a heading sensor, you can lay the radar right on top of the chart plotter screen. The radar targets will come up in purple. So you will be able to see both radar and chart plotter on one full screen. Then, if you are not actually looking at the fish finder for fish, you can bring the depth information up on the data bar. So if the larger display (C120) blocks your view, you can still use the C80 and get all the data on one screen. But if you can work around the C120, I suggest you go for it.
Old 07-25-2005, 04:24 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: North Myrtle Beach SC
Posts: 8,045
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine C80; too small?

Even with the C120 size; when you have the 3 screens it does look pretty small. The fish finder is on the bottom which takes up 70 percent of the screen. There is a way to make your own page set, but I have not figured out that one yet. With the ST60, I will leave it on chart or radar most of the time anyway.
Old 07-25-2005, 04:45 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 1,513
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine C80; too small?

Kingair, hold down page until the menu pops up and scroll down to the custom and it will prompt you the way through it.
Old 07-25-2005, 06:19 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: North Myrtle Beach SC
Posts: 8,045
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine C80; too small?

I will give that a try.
Old 07-25-2005, 06:32 PM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Beaufort, SC
Posts: 295
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine C80; too small?

I have the C80....love the dang thing but wish I had two of them! Get the C120!

Junior

Semper Fi

Remember, youíre always a student in an airplane.
Old 07-26-2005, 10:02 PM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Pensacola, Fl
Posts: 195
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: Raymarine C80; too small?

I have the C120 and have seen boats with the C80 on board. If you've got the room, go withe C120. You won't be disappointed.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.