Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Standard Horizon 150 Plotter won't "Acquire"

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Standard Horizon 150 Plotter won't "Acquire"

Old 07-24-2005, 08:07 AM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: East Moriches, NY
Posts: 99
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Standard Horizon 150 Plotter won't "Acquire"

I have a two year old Standard B&W plotter Model CP150. Last year it worked perfectly, but lately the unit either won't acquire or will do so only after a long while (20 or more min.), or only if shut off and turned on again. I tried replacing the antenna's connector with a solder on (instread of crimp) type connector, but still no change. I tried the self check procedures, but none of them refer to signal strength. Is there any way to determine whether the problem is with the cable, antenna, or unit by using an ohm meter? Removing/relocating antenna is a MAJOR job because the cable is threaded through the hard top and bundled with other wires (big install mistake!) I'd appreciate any help because I'd hate to have to remove the antenna unless absolutely necessary.

Thanks in advance,
SZ
Old 07-24-2005, 08:44 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: long island
Posts: 419
Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Re: Standard Horizon 150 Plotter won

Your not the only one having trouble aquiring sats.I too have a Standard CP but my brother in law is having the same problem with his Garmin 3010 as well the people at the dock that I asked today.I started having the problem last saturday and also thought it was my unit,but now I would say the gov't,military has something to do with it.
Old 07-26-2005, 01:50 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: lindenhurst n.y. USA
Posts: 116
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Standard Horizon 150 Plotter won't "Acquire"

I had the same problem last season. If the plotter is only 2yrs old it is stillunder warrantee. I was lucky enough to try it out on someone elses boat with the same antenna. If you can verify antenna is bad e/mail S/H & tell them , they will most likely send u a new antenna( they did 4 me)
Old 07-27-2005, 12:42 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Thornton's Ferry,NH,USA
Posts: 10,755
Likes: 0
Received 81 Likes on 47 Posts
Default RE: Standard Horizon 150 Plotter won't "Acquire"

try this...

http://www.thehulltruth.com/forums/thread-view.asp?tid=31993&posts=5&highlight=stand ard&highlightmode=1#M344509

Main Menu - Advance Setup - Input/Output - Internal GPS - Restart GPS (enter)

This is the reboot process. On/off doesnt reset all the functions.

Good luck!

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.