Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Yamaha fuel management guage

Old 07-23-2005, 10:48 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Cape Cod
Posts: 134
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Yamaha fuel management guage

I cannot get mpg to work on my guage. All are the functions are working properly.
Any suggestions ??????
Thank You
Al
Old 07-23-2005, 02:31 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kent Narrows, MD
Posts: 7,144
Received 774 Likes on 366 Posts
Default Re: Yamaha fuel management guage

Is it the older unit that receives distance from the engine pitot tube or one of the new ones that is connected to your GPS ? Assuming that it is monitoring fuel burned, the other component it needs is distance travelled.
Old 07-23-2005, 04:17 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Cape Cod
Posts: 134
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Yamaha fuel management guage

All the the gauges are new, the speed signal is coming from the speed ometer.
Do you know the wire config on the plug leading to the fuel mgt gauge?
I am wondering if the plug's wie is not correct

Old 07-23-2005, 07:30 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kent Narrows, MD
Posts: 7,144
Received 774 Likes on 366 Posts
Default Re: Yamaha fuel management guage

Assuming the speedo is reading properly, it does sound like a wiring issue. Shipyard Island Marina is a board vendor. Ask the question on their forum. Andy knows the answer
Old 07-23-2005, 07:59 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Highlands, NJ
Posts: 2,011
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Yamaha fuel management guage

Had the same exact problem. Hooked it up to my GPS and it works great now. There is a whole thread on this subject in Andy's forum. YOu have to pull the lead from the speedo and change a dip switch in the FMG. Use only the white wire from your FMG and hook it up to the NMEA out from your GPS. Very easy fix.
Old 07-23-2005, 08:17 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Posts: 1,857
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Yamaha fuel management guage

Fcal is right. You definately want it pulling data off the GPS because otherwise you may end up paddling home one day when you miscalculate fuel rate burns.

Old 07-23-2005, 10:10 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Palm Coast, Fl.
Posts: 1,494
Received 14 Likes on 11 Posts
Default Re: Yamaha fuel management guage

I had the same problem myself. The speed and the fuel management gage must both work off of the same ignition switch. When you turn one engine on do two gages or three gages come on. If only two come on you have isolated the problem, if the speed and the fuel management do come on together then there is another problem. I would say that I agree with the previous remarks, your best advice would be to get the speed information from the GPS fed into the fuel management gage. I recently bought the sender cable ($12.77) from the dealer to do this. It is simple to do and involves only taking the NMEA + output from the GPS, you're only hooking up one wire.
Old 07-24-2005, 07:03 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Cape Cod
Posts: 134
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Yamaha fuel management guage

Thanks to all. I will try all your suggestions and let you know the result.



Al
Old 07-24-2005, 07:12 AM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Cape Cod
Posts: 134
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Yamaha fuel management guage

I tried your suggestion and you were correct, the fuel mgt sys and the speed ometer are on dif ign. switch.

Is it dificult to fix?
Old 07-25-2005, 11:24 PM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Palm Coast, Fl.
Posts: 1,494
Received 14 Likes on 11 Posts
Default Re: Yamaha fuel management guage

The fix is rather easy. Look at the wiring harnesses coming out of both the speed and the fuel management gauge. There are four wires coming out of the fuel management gauge that will need to be moved over to the speed gauge. Look for an H-shaped connector that these four wires connect to. I wish I could remember the color code of the four wires, I think there was a green, gray, blue and can't remember the fourth. At any rate you should see the same set up on the wires coming out of the speed gauge and on each of the four H-shaped connectors you should find an empty slot that will allow you to plug the wires from the fuel management gauge into. So, all you need to do is to unplug the green wire on the fuel management gauge from its current location and move it to the empty slot of the H connector on the speed gauge matching all four wires color for color. The process took me less than five minutes once I removed the factory wire ties that held everything together. Once you are finished, turn the ignition switch on, three gauges should come on with one switch, the remaining gauge will come on when the other ignition switch is turned on.
I hope I was able to clearly state what needs to be done. Good luck.
Old 07-26-2005, 08:58 AM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Cape Cod
Posts: 134
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Yamaha fuel management guage

Thank you Team Ruby

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.