Notices

Yamaha Fuel Management

Old 01-27-2014, 02:12 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Fernandina Beach
Posts: 438
Default Yamaha Fuel Management

I searched first and didn't find it so here goes. I have a pair of 01 Yamaha F115's on my cat. I have the round digital gauges, the 2 tach's work fine. The speed /fuel gauge is dead as is the fuel management. I bought a new fuel management gauge but really don't want to pony up another 300.00. I have an analog gas gauge already I just want the fuel management to work. Do I have to get the speed/fuel for it to work. I am running a Raymarine C80 if that can be brought into the equation via seatalk or nmea 2000
big eric is offline  
Old 01-27-2014, 03:14 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location:
Posts: 13,052
Default

Normally a Fuel Management Meter (FMM) is not used with a combination speed/fuel meter. The FMM is usually used with a standalone Yamaha speedometer.

To have full functionality the FMM needs a speed input. That normally comes from either a Yamaha speedometer or a GPS via an NMEA 0183 output.

Here is a diagram that depicts the connection of an FMM to either a Yamaha speedometer or a GPS.

jethro1 is offline  
Old 01-28-2014, 07:58 AM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Fernandina Beach
Posts: 438
Default

My Yamaha gauge for speed also has the fuel gauge on the right side of it. So I can get the gps wired into the fuel management gauge and it should work? Also is there a way to test the sensors in the fuel line to make sure they work, if they need replacing as well I will just by floscan or Navman.
big eric is offline  
Old 01-28-2014, 12:04 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location:
Posts: 13,052
Default

Originally Posted by big eric View Post
My Yamaha gauge for speed also has the fuel gauge on the right side of it. So I can get the gps wired into the fuel management gauge and it should work? The speed part will work. The FMM also needs to be connected to a fuel flow sensor. Also is there a way to test the sensors in the fuel line to make sure they work, not that I know of if they need replacing as well I will just by floscan or Navman.
Apparently you do not have a combination speed/fuel gauge. What you have is a speedometer that has a fuel quantity gauge included within it. These are two completely different instruments. See illustration below.

As I said, an FMM needs a speed input for full functionality. If you do away with the speedometer (assumes that it was providing a speed input to your FMM) then you will need to connect the FMM to a GPS to get the speed input that might have formerly come from the speedometer.

A Yamaha FMM (which you said you just bought) does the same functions as a Floscan or Navman. No need to buy those. Unless you need a new sensor and want to not use the FMM that you said you just bought.

Remove the tank sender wires that were formerly connected to the Yamaha speedometer and connect them to the analog fuel gauge. If the gauge, the sender or the wiring is inoperative then those should be fixed or replaced.

You might want to think about getting a mechanic to troubleshoot and fix whatever problems that you are having.

jethro1 is offline  
Old 01-29-2014, 10:55 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Fernandina Beach
Posts: 438
Default

thanks, yes I have the two gauges on the outside of the photo. I have the sending unit hooked to an analog fuel gauge presently and they work so it looks like I can swap out the dead FMM with the new gauge plug and play and hook my C80 to the back and it should work. Thanks!
big eric is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread