Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Disappointed with Raymarine RC435 Chartplotter

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Disappointed with Raymarine RC435 Chartplotter

Old 07-22-2005, 01:07 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,055
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 1 Post
Default Disappointed with Raymarine RC435 Chartplotter

Guys, I've gotta tell you, I am really disappointed with this chart plotter. I looses lock way-more than a Garmin I had. The antenna is located in the same place too. The screen refresh rate is very poor. I can't keep the image of the curson in the middle of my screen either. It seems to have a mind of its own. The processor speed I think Is the culprit. I can't imagine anyone truly enjoying the use of this thing.

Do you think there is a software update for this thing......?

I absolutely LOVE my DS600x depth sounder/fish finder though...

Tom
Old 07-22-2005, 09:13 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 265
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Disappointed with Raymarine RC435 Chartplotter

Hi,

I have a Raymarine 435i (internal antenna).
My 435 seldom loose signal (two times during two seasons now) has the chart plotter got a screen that "freeze".
Had to turn it off then on to get it to work again.
Not good regarding safety but I just see it as a dumb electronic box that works 99.99 % of the time and that
is good enough for me. I use paper charts as my primary source and the 435 as a "nice to have" thing to
check my position against. I act as if I had no 435 since it can stop working anytime for whatewer reason
(my reason like bad installation or because Raymarin biuld my individual 435 on a "bad day"("monday" or whatever reason it might be).

My 435i was first shipped with old software that had some bugs (among the bugs was it did not display
depth figures on the screen...). So I got two compact flash cards from the distributor in my country (I live in Sweden)
and I could update it to 1.08 (and that is the latest version according to Raymarine website, downloads).
http://raymarine.custhelp.com/cgi-bi...i=&p_topview=1

If You have activated satellite differential (SD) in GPS SETUP you shoud perhaps inactivate it (it is backwards - when
it shows "SD-GPS OFF" it will be active, when it shows "SD-GPS ON"will be inactive). You maybe should inactivate it to avoid get message on screen that it has lost SD fix.

The cursor on screen:
It is a setting for this, it is meant the "boat" (when using "Find boat) should be placed automatically about 2/3 of the screen, down.
That way you get more chart to look at in front og the "boat" symbol.
You can turn that off if you want in the SYSTEM SETUP, Screen Amplifier (off). Factory default is ON.

Slow redraw on screen:
If You have in SYSTEM SETUP selected Orientation HEAD UP it is possible there will be some slower redraw.
Try NORTH UP or COURSE UP and see if better. I use HEAD UP on my 435i and it is reasonable fast redraw on screen.
Factory default is NORTH UP.

I'm satisfied with my 435i but if I was going to buy a similar GPS chartplotter today there are better units than this
I would consider.

It has been complain in a chart plotter test (in Norway) last Year that the redraw of 435 was slow
with head up selected. The test was published June 17 2004:

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
http://www.vimenn.com/?article_id=22197

In Norwegian:
"Men på ett punkt henger denne plotteren klart etter: skjermoppdatering.
Med ”baug opp”-visning henger den rett og slett ikke med.
Som testens eneste blanker den skjermen i vår svingtest.
Dermed er du uten plotter i de kritiske sekundene inn på en ny kurs.
Her må produsenten rett og slett skaffe seg raskere prosessor slik konkurrentene har klart.
Før det er den etter vår oppfatning ikke egnet i en hurtiggående båt."

In English:
"In one area this chartplotter does not keep up with its rivals: screen redraw.
With "head up" selected it does simply not keep up to redraw the screen correctly.
As only unit in this test there are blank screen sometimes in the turn test in the boat.
This way You are without content on screen the critical seconds when You are about to
end a turn.
Here the producer must simply place a faster CPU in the unit similar to what its
rivals has.
Before this has been done it is not in our opinion suitable to be used in a fast boat."
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I bought my 435i in begining of June 2004. I can not see it behave as bad as the test above
indicate. My boat is rather fast, 39 knots (45 mph) at full throttle. No problem for me really about
redraw on screen even att full speed.

I suggest You contact Raymarine support and ask if You have got an "old" 435 with a first generation processor
or similar, it is possible Raymarine has upgraded to faster CPU later. I guess they can figure that out if You provide
them with Your 435 serial nr (but I do not know for sure).

Good luck!
Old 07-22-2005, 10:12 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 8,720
Received 489 Likes on 323 Posts
Default Re: Disappointed with Raymarine RC435 Chartplotter

I've had mine for 2 years RC435 & have absolutely no problems with it. Fish offshore 50 miles never loose track. Read ur manaul thoroughly then play with the setup & function buttons. I also have a RC400 as a backup button functionality is exactly the same as the RC435. I have my antenna flush mounted in front of the 435 under my windshield. Has been a terrific unit for me. Sorry ur having difficulties.

Here's what is happening to u if u have Autozoom & Screen Amplifier selected (those are factory defaults) then when u press Find Ship it activates the Autozoom feature. Screen Amplifier makes best use The screen amplifier is only active when the cursor is homed on ur vessel (this happens when u push the Find Ship Button). Ur screen will always show 2/3's of the screen forward of your direction of movement regardless of the screen setup (NorthUp/HeadsUp/Trackup).

You will c alot of screen refreshes in this mode of operation. Turn off Autozoom & Screen Amp located in the Chart Setup area. U'll c a big difference.

Just read the manual thoroughly and u will find it very easy to use once u understand the functionality. If u need more help e-mail me. Good Luck!

Tom



Old 07-23-2005, 05:24 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 8,720
Received 489 Likes on 323 Posts
Default Re: Disappointed with Raymarine RC435 Chartplotter

Here's some info on the functionality of the 435.....

FIND SHIP is used to re-draw the chart with the vessel at its center and the cursor homed on the vessel. To center the vessel:

1. From chart mode, press ENTER; the primary function bar is displayed.

2. Select FIND SHIP; the following actions are performed: The chart is re-drawn with the vessel’s position in the center. The cursor is homed onto the vessel position and moves with it. When the vessel moves near the edge of the chart window, the chart is redrawn with the vessel at the center and the cursor homed on the vessel. While homed, the status bar indicates position, SOG and COG.

If SCREEN AMPLIFIER is enabled, the screen displays the vessel offset from center, to increase forward visibility, look in Chapter 4 Setting Up.

To release the cursor from homed mode press the trackpad to movet he cursor away from the vessel’s current position. The status barshows the cursor position, range and bearing from the vessel.

Hope this helps ........
Old 07-24-2005, 04:46 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 8,720
Received 489 Likes on 323 Posts
Default Re: Disappointed with Raymarine RC435 Chartplotter

Here's a picture of my Ray 120 GPS antenna installation. I have no problems locking onto the sat constallation & maintaining track.

Old 07-24-2005, 10:09 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern Ohio
Posts: 15,957
Received 1,849 Likes on 989 Posts
Default Re: Disappointed with Raymarine RC435 Chartplotter

In Norwegian: Is this a problem on the forum?? If so, maybe I should try to learn Norwegian! What the hell??
Old 07-25-2005, 03:34 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 265
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Disappointed with Raymarine RC435 Chartplotter

Hi RussH,
As You can see I translated it to English.
It was mostly for my own use when I translated.
Sorry.

/Bo

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.