Notices

Auto pilot and HDS12

Reply

Old 01-20-2014, 03:31 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 386
Default Auto pilot and HDS12

What would I have to buy to make a simrad auto pilot system to work with my HDS12 or will it? I can't find anything on lowrance website that tells me either way.
Thanks
24seachaser is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 03:51 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 12,399
Default

Most probably you need the AP2403 VRF system, but this depends on boat and steering system. In addition you need a SimNet to NMEA 2000 (micro-C) adapter for interfacing to HDS.
abbor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 10:20 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,394
Default

I just installed a Simrad AP24 and tied it into my HDS-10 Gen 2 and it was pretty easy. You do need a NMEA 2000 system for the hook-up. I ordered the system from BOE. Call and talk to Jim and they will dial you in to what you need. It came with almost all the parts needed except (3) 36" hydraulic lines to connect up from the pump to the backside of the helm and some plumbing parts to "T" into the existing lines going back to the steering for the twin 200's. Took me two afternoons to do it all (8 hrs). Iv'e used it about a half a dozen times already and no worrys. Good Luck.

Last edited by greenno; 01-22-2014 at 08:14 AM.
greenno is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 03:31 PM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 386
Default

I guess my question is and sorry can you use HDS12 the same way as say nss12 as far interfacing with the auto pilot?
24seachaser is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 04:19 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 12,399
Default

You can interface HDS-12 to AP24 and get it to follow a route, but HDS can't be used as an autopilot controller the same way as NSS.
abbor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 04:24 PM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 386
Default

Originally Posted by abbor View Post
You can interface HDS-12 to AP24 and get it to follow a route, but HDS can't be used as an autopilot controller the same way as NSS.
Thanks for the answer guess I'll get a nss8 for my second screen.
24seachaser is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 04:57 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 12,399
Default

Good idea, HDS and NSS works very well together. I have mixed Simrad / Lowrance systems on two boats (and AP24 on both of them)
abbor is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread