Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Electronics Install in my new Striper

Old 01-08-2014, 07:08 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 108
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Electronics Install in my new Striper

Here's a pic from the factory dash and my revised dash after delivery:
Attached Images   
Old 01-08-2014, 07:37 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NOLA/BSL
Posts: 708
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Looks good. Nice job
Old 01-08-2014, 08:15 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5,216
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Nice job. Can't believe the factory wasted so much space with how they mounted those 3 engine gauges. Smart move relocating them.
Old 01-09-2014, 12:48 PM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Chesapeake VA
Posts: 7,581
Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

Good call looks good
Old 01-09-2014, 03:01 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NB, NC
Posts: 2,016
Received 24 Likes on 18 Posts
Default

That looks great! Very nice, clean job with good choices of electronics on all it appears.

Can you give me a measurement of the switch panel both vertically and horizontal dimensions? I spoke to Eric at New Wire Marine just last week about a very similar panel and you have about the right amount of switches and 12V that I will be doing. Thanks.
Old 01-09-2014, 04:11 PM
  #6  
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: SouthsideVa./Kill Devil Hills
Posts: 53
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Looks great. Noticed you got am/fm next to your VHF. I've got mine (Clarion CMS1) just like you but I have interference on VHF when am/fm is on. You have any problem with yours?
Old 01-10-2014, 07:43 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 108
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

The boat is at the glass shop getting a small spider web in the gelcoat repaired under warranty. I can get you the measurement next week when I pick the boat up. I don't have any interference issues, but my VHF and Fusion system share the same antenna. I have one of those splitter boxes installed. So far no issues. The only thing I have left to do is hook up the NEMA system so the GARMIN GPS and VHF talk to each other. I am not going to bother hooking the Fusion system in to the network. I sent a note to the factory telling them that there mounting of the engine gauges was not the best approach and they used to much panel real estate. I send them a picture of my electronics install as a reference. They actually sent me a note back telling me they were going to share that information with several folks at the plant.

Last edited by jmeyer94; 01-10-2014 at 07:46 AM. Reason: forgot something
Old 01-14-2014, 04:23 AM
  #8  
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location:
Posts: 31
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Nice work!

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.