Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Power Problem

Old 07-17-2005, 09:17 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 338
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Power Problem

Hey Guys,

I have just finished building my own boat and I am having some power problems. My electronics are E120, Radome 18", DSM 300 w/1000w ultra high performance transducer, Clarion XMD3 stereo system, and other odds and ends.

Question is? The wires running to my CC coming from my power source are 12 ga. wires. Often my E120 and stereo tend to come on and off. Could my wires not be big enough? Any ideas? I also have twin evinrudes running while my electronics are doing this.

Thanks again.
Old 07-17-2005, 09:34 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,167
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Power Problem

12GA sounds mighty small how long is your run?..


JOhn
Old 07-18-2005, 07:19 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Skaneateles, New York
Posts: 5,483
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: Power Problem

Take a look at this BlueSeas Wire Size Chart . I would agree, 12 ga. seems light. Add up all the power requirements (amps) of all circuits, then determine length of run (both ways). This will give correct wire size to Bus. I assume the electronics go off when starting motors? I believe you'll fine the Clarion is sucking up a lot of power. Good luck.
Old 07-18-2005, 10:38 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 338
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Power Problem

My run is about 12ft. And yes my electronics do go off with i start the engines!!! Thanks for the link.
Old 07-18-2005, 10:51 AM
  #5  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location:
Posts: 19
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Power Problem

The best thing you can do to solve this is to increase the wire size, add another battery , and a battery isolator that keeps the new "electronics battery" separated from the starter battery.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.