Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

600w vs 1000w Transducer for Furuno Navnet

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

600w vs 1000w Transducer for Furuno Navnet

Old 07-13-2005, 10:19 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Deale, MD
Posts: 419
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 600w vs 1000w Transducer for Furuno Navnet

A technical question. I will be installing a transom-mounted transducer for my Furuno 1833 NavNet. (I can't install anything else because of the hull liner).

I can buy a 600w ($80) or 1000w ($350 or so) unit. Most of my fishing is in Chesapeake Bay, but I plan to go offshore 20 miles or so in VA and NC waters. Both transducers do 50 and 200.

Would I actually be buying anything useful with the more expensive unit? Thanks.
Old 07-14-2005, 05:13 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando
Posts: 3,997
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: 600w vs 1000w Transducer for Furuno Navnet

depends on whether the FF can produce a 1000w of power. But in general the bigger the power capacity of the transducer the better the receive sensitivity too. More power means deeper depths and smaller fish getting detected. better sensitivity also plays a part in that too. Lower Q means better fish separation so you detect 2 fish instead of one big blob.

what is the part numbers of the xducers?
Old 07-14-2005, 05:46 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location:
Posts: 755
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: 600w vs 1000w Transducer for Furuno Navnet

samblate - 7/13/2005 11:19 PM

A technical question. I will be installing a transom-mounted transducer for my Furuno 1833 NavNet. (I can't install anything else because of the hull liner).

I can buy a 600w ($80) or 1000w ($350 or so) unit. Most of my fishing is in Chesapeake Bay, but I plan to go offshore 20 miles or so in VA and NC waters. Both transducers do 50 and 200.

Would I actually be buying anything useful with the more expensive unit? Thanks.
Since the black box will do either 600 or 1kw, go with 1kw. You are already spending big bucks, so imo a few hundred more is worth it.
Old 07-14-2005, 07:06 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: West Palm Beach,FL,USA
Posts: 1,318
Received 42 Likes on 26 Posts
Default RE: 600w vs 1000w Transducer for Furuno Navnet

The NavNet BB fishfinder can be switched to 1,000 watts. It is normally delivered set to 600 watts.
If you were looking at a thru hull or in-hull I would say to use a 1kw.
But, before you commit to a transom mount version of a 1kw be sure to take a look at one and the installation. Some people can't accept what will be haging off the transom of the boat.

I believe there is someone on this forum with one and has posted pictures. Go to the Airmar website and look up the TM260.
Old 07-14-2005, 08:01 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,167
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: 600w vs 1000w Transducer for Furuno Navnet

here is a 1000watt transducer

that is what they will look like !!!!
Now if you serious about finding needles in hay stacks ...get the 1k ducer!!!!!

John
Old 07-14-2005, 08:46 AM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location:
Posts: 1,365
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Re: 600w vs 1000w Transducer for Furuno Navnet

Also, be aware that to change the BB sounder to 1kw you will need to change a jumper switch. The instructions aren't obvious on the issue and without the jumper change you will still be at 600. Would have been a whole lot easier if Furuno had installed an outside switch instead of the jumper but oh well....
Old 07-14-2005, 09:00 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: West Palm Beach,FL,USA
Posts: 1,318
Received 42 Likes on 26 Posts
Default Re: 600w vs 1000w Transducer for Furuno Navnet

I believe that the reason for an internal jumper is to prevent someone with a 600W transducer from trying it at 1kw or accidently setting it that way. It could be an expensive error.
Old 07-14-2005, 09:38 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 1,513
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: 600w vs 1000w Transducer for Furuno Navnet

John, if the bracket was alittle longer on that transducer setup you would have a transducer/power pole combo.They do not look the best, but if you want performance that is it.
Old 07-14-2005, 09:52 AM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Deale, MD
Posts: 419
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 600w vs 1000w Transducer for Furuno Navnet

Sea_Dad (and everyone else),

Thanks for your answers so far...keep them coming...the Airmar part numbers are P66 for the 600w and MP256 for the 1000w.
Old 07-14-2005, 10:51 AM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Deale, MD
Posts: 419
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: 600w vs 1000w Transducer for Furuno Navnet

I found a brochure from Airmar/Furuno for the 1000w unit which is displayed in Tightline Rod's picutre:

http://www.furuno.com/Furuno/Doc/0/2...56-_Furuno.pdf

They claim that the 1000w unit is 16 times more sensitive than the 600w. Any comments? Anyone ever use both? Thanks.
Old 07-14-2005, 11:18 AM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,167
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: 600w vs 1000w Transducer for Furuno Navnet

Barrett I can pick off fish out at the VA Fogg in 100' plus between and in the reef balls!!!!

John
Old 07-14-2005, 01:57 PM
  #12  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: LINDENHURST, NY
Posts: 1,804
Likes: 0
Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Default Re: 600w vs 1000w Transducer for Furuno Navnet

Tightline Rod's - 7/14/2005 12:18 PM

Barrett I can pick off fish out at the VA Fogg in 100' plus between and in the reef balls!!!!

John
That's probably because when you extend that transom sledge to the "fishing" position, you're cracking the reef balls with a direct hit!
Old 07-14-2005, 02:07 PM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,167
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: 600w vs 1000w Transducer for Furuno Navnet

Saves bait cost when I stun them in to submission and they surrender them selves !!!!!!!


John
Old 07-14-2005, 02:39 PM
  #14  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 1,513
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: 600w vs 1000w Transducer for Furuno Navnet

Tightline Rod's - 7/14/2005 2:07 PMSaves bait cost when I stun them in to submission and they surrender them selves !!!!!!!John

Old 07-14-2005, 03:10 PM
  #15  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: MA and ME
Posts: 16,795
Likes: 0
Received 15 Likes on 11 Posts
Default Re: 600w vs 1000w Transducer for Furuno Navnet

A little more power and when brought to the surface, they will be cooked to perfection
Old 07-14-2005, 05:43 PM
  #16  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 179
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: 600w vs 1000w Transducer for Furuno Navnet

I would suggest the TM260 over the TM256 (you had part # MP256?) as a transom mount 1 kW transducer for your Navnet BBFF1 and 1833. Since I have solid glass hull I am using an M260 shoot-thru with my 1933. Leo from Furuno USA told me the transom mounts are outstanding performers.
Old 07-14-2005, 06:44 PM
  #17  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 2,538
Likes: 0
Received 15 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Re: 600w vs 1000w Transducer for Furuno Navnet

samblate - 7/14/2005 11:51 AM

I found a brochure from Airmar/Furuno for the 1000w unit which is displayed in Tightline Rod's picutre:

http://www.furuno.com/Furuno/Doc/0/2...56-_Furuno.pdf

They claim that the 1000w unit is 16 times more sensitive than the 600w. Any comments? Anyone ever use both? Thanks.
A buddy has the same boat and same electronics except he had a P66 and he has a killer 1800000000 watt stereo. I have a M260 shoot thru and a small Clarion 4 speaker system.

He fished with me one time and went home bought the M260 and ripped out the P66. He cussed the other guys that said you wouldn't be able to tell the difference. It is more than night and day, It's more like Antartica and the Sahara desert.
Old 07-23-2005, 04:34 PM
  #18  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Deale, MD
Posts: 419
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: 600w vs 1000w Transducer for Furuno Navnet

Again, thanks for the help. I'll buy the 1000 watt unit per your all's advice.
Old 07-23-2005, 04:58 PM
  #19  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 1,513
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: 600w vs 1000w Transducer for Furuno Navnet

You will not be disappointed. It's like going from a closed radome radar to an open array. Definition and clarity is outstanding in that jump!

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.