Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

198c Garmin ????

Old 07-13-2005, 07:30 PM
  #1  
Junior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bridgeport,CT
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 198c Garmin ????

I have a 1990 22' shamrock inboard boat,looking at one pc unit GPS/fishfinder. I know this unit is new but would like to hear from some
guys or gals that have it on their boat? The good and bad feedback.Thanks
Old 07-13-2005, 07:47 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,167
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: 198c Garmin ????

Several customers have had to remove the factory fuse holder to stop a power issue!
Garmin Customer service has been vage about warranty issues with doing that..

Other wise early reports are very favorable!!

I'l give it



John
Old 07-14-2005, 05:38 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Virginia Beach, Va
Posts: 5,721
Received 389 Likes on 272 Posts
Default Re: 198c Garmin ????

John,Could you explain about the power issue. Having just installed one for a friend, I'm very interested should the problem arise with his. The 198C is great and the pre loaded charts save alot of money.
Old 07-14-2005, 07:09 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 974
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: 198c Garmin ????

Mud Runner - 7/14/2005 10:38 AM

John,Could you explain about the power issue. Having just installed one for a friend, I'm very interested should the problem arise with his. The 198C is great and the pre loaded charts save alot of money.
Yeah, I installed one for a friend too -- me! To put it mildly, I am curious about the "power issue" and also about the vagueness from Garmin about warranty coverage.... Hmmmm...

TED
Old 07-14-2005, 07:57 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,167
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: 198c Garmin ????

I have two customers that started having the unit cut off while running in a med chop across the bay
(just like some of the other Garmin post )
They were advised by Garmin that since they are wiring directly to a fuse block that they should remove the factory fuse holder, They did and the power cycling stopped..

Although there is a portion in the Manual that states unit must be fused at all times the Service Tech did not come forward and state the installing it the way they did would affect their warranty ...

John
Old 07-14-2005, 08:05 AM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wildwood Crest, NJ
Posts: 100
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: 198c Garmin ????

Just purchased a new Trophy CC and had the dealer install a 198c and VHF radio. The first time out I had problems with the vhf causing interference with the sonar. Every time I would key up the vhf the sonar screen on the 198c would say "Sonar Disconnected". I would have to turn off the unit before it would work correctly again.

I called Garmin and they gave me three possible reasons for this. 1. My battery was low and the draw from the vhf didn't leave enough power for the sonar. 2. The vhf was installed to close to the 198c. 3. The wiring for the two units was too close.

Both the 198c and the VHF are installed on the top of my console about 6 inches apart and my vhf antenna is mounted on the grab rail on the side/top of the console.

My boat is now back at the dealer and they are working to correct the problem. I will report back when I get the boat back in a few days.

I would love to hear about the power problem and any solutions. ( wonder if that drained my battery and would cause my other problems......Hmmmm?)

Bill
Old 07-14-2005, 12:30 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 974
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: 198c Garmin ????

Tightline Rod's - 7/14/2005 12:57 PM

I have two customers that started having the unit cut off while running in a med chop across the bay
(just like some of the other Garmin post )
They were advised by Garmin that since they are wiring directly to a fuse block that they should remove the factory fuse holder, They did and the power cycling stopped..

Although there is a portion in the Manual that states unit must be fused at all times the Service Tech did not come forward and state the installing it the way they did would affect their warranty ...

John
OK, I think I can live with that. It sounds as if the fuse holder isn't able to stand the pounding/vibration. It would also seem to me that if you are wiring to a fuse block, the unit is certainly fused and there would be no effect on the warranty. But what do I know -- I'm a lawyer!

Thanks,
TED
Old 07-14-2005, 12:37 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Emerald Isle, NC
Posts: 101
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: 198c Garmin ????

Trophy,

I had the same problem with my sonar going out when I keyed the mic on the VHF. There are two possible soloutions, one being move the two units and wires further apart. two, use your low power button on the vhf radio. I used the second fix for a couple of weeks until I had time to repostion the VHF and wires (power and antenna) to a different location on the boat.

I hope this helps.
Old 07-14-2005, 12:41 PM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,167
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: 198c Garmin ????

I would not see where a persone would send in the wiring harness if they were to send in a unit for warranty work


That's the sort of reply the Garmin Tech told my customers !!!!!!


John
Old 07-14-2005, 02:01 PM
  #10  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location:
Posts: 19
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: 198c Garmin ????

I just installed one on my KenCraft about 3 weeks ago and so far I am very pleased. Haven't had any power related issues. The sonar reads well, the unit is easy to use (splitting screens, entering way points and such) I also love the feature of being able to mark structure underwater. Works great for wreck fishing!

One thing I didn't like was the data connector to the unit. Mine is rather loose and I hope it doesn't cause any issues down the road.
Old 07-15-2005, 03:21 AM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 974
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: 198c Garmin ????

mattman - 7/14/2005 7:01 PM

One thing I didn't like was the data connector to the unit. Mine is rather loose and I hope it doesn't cause any issues down the road.
Interesting observation. I noticed that mine seems a little loose and a little fragile. I suspect that the "looseness" is part of the design and nothing to worry about. However, I do worry about the apparent fragility. I have mine in the gimbel mount (I was worried about reading the unit in the sunlight which has turned out to be a non-issue) and I have to remove it each time I leave the boat. The connector just doesn't seem robust enough to survive that use over time. However, a new power/data cable isn't that expensive and should resolve that problem when/if it arises.

Regards,
TED
Old 07-15-2005, 07:44 AM
  #12  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 137
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: 198c Garmin ????

Another thread questioned whether you could use additional chips, like lakemaster, with the 198. Someone suggested that with the preprogramed maps you couldn't add the inland chart cards, you could only use the coastal charts included with the unit. I saw one at Boatus yesterday, and it seemed to have a place to install another card.

Can you add the additional charts? I assume at some point you will have to update the charts installed on the unit and that will have to be done via card. (unless they make you send it back to the factory)
Old 07-15-2005, 12:41 PM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 974
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: 198c Garmin ????

jfdlaw - 7/15/2005 12:44 PM

Another thread questioned whether you could use additional chips, like lakemaster, with the 198. Someone suggested that with the preprogramed maps you couldn't add the inland chart cards, you could only use the coastal charts included with the unit. I saw one at Boatus yesterday, and it seemed to have a place to install another card.

Can you add the additional charts? I assume at some point you will have to update the charts installed on the unit and that will have to be done via card. (unless they make you send it back to the factory)
Yes, you can... That is what the card slot is for. If you look at the description on the Garmin web site that is pretty clear. What is not clear is how we will update the charts that come with the unit! ;?

Best
TED
Old 07-15-2005, 01:41 PM
  #14  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location:
Posts: 501
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Re: 198c Garmin ????

Tedj101 - 7/15/2005 12:41 PM

jfdlaw - 7/15/2005 12:44 PM

Another thread questioned whether you could use additional chips, like lakemaster, with the 198. Someone suggested that with the preprogramed maps you couldn't add the inland chart cards, you could only use the coastal charts included with the unit. I saw one at Boatus yesterday, and it seemed to have a place to install another card.

Can you add the additional charts? I assume at some point you will have to update the charts installed on the unit and that will have to be done via card. (unless they make you send it back to the factory)
Yes, you can... That is what the card slot is for. If you look at the description on the Garmin web site that is pretty clear. What is not clear is how we will update the charts that come with the unit! ;?

Best
TED
YOu can use the card slot for that also, though you may need to buy a programmer
and blank chip if you want to use lakemaster. It seems unlikely that you would need
both at the same time, so you can just buy a new card with the latest maps and tell
the unit to use the card slot. Buying a whole new card may be slightly more expensive
than an update from Garmin, but the difference wont be much.

Everyone pays for Garmin updates!

JP
Old 07-22-2005, 09:43 PM
  #15  
MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Holly Springs< NC
Posts: 36
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 198c Garmin ????

I have a 198c, since April 05... and have had no problems other than ESTO issues... also use the inlands lake card. I just wish garmin had more maps... alot of the areas in NC that I go, and would like to go, are not covered. But all-in-all I have been very satisfied with the unit.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.