Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Garmin at home???

Old 07-13-2005, 08:27 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wildwood Crest, NJ
Posts: 100
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Garmin at home???

Does anyone take their Garmin GPS/Chart plotter off their boat and connect it to a 12v power source at home. It would be nice to sit at my kitchen table and configure routes or add notes to waypoints. I wouldn't expect the GPS but just to be able to power on the unit.

I have the Garmin 198c and its mounted to the top of my CC so it is easily removeable.

Thanks, Guys!
Old 07-13-2005, 08:30 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,167
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Garmin at home???

Lot of folks do that very deal ..get the AC/PC adapter and the trip and waypoint softwear and you can play for hours on end ...lol..

John
Old 07-13-2005, 08:42 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Likes: 0
Received 28 Likes on 28 Posts
Default Re: Garmin at home???

I use the Blue Chart CD and the chip burner. It's very easy to plan routes and create waypoints on the computer and then upload them to the plotter. Much easier than it would be to do it on the unit itself, even at home.
Old 07-13-2005, 08:48 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 1,513
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Garmin at home???

I have the Garmin gps antenna with USB into my laptop right now and getting position on my desk while it is just laying here. Many of them will shoot through the roof. You will be surprised!
Old 07-13-2005, 09:51 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Raleigh & Holden Beach NC
Posts: 2,024
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: Garmin at home???

Yeah, I do it to download waypoints...specifically to load numbers from the electronic Maps Unique to my GPS...
Old 07-14-2005, 06:53 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 524
Received 22 Likes on 13 Posts
Default RE: Garmin at home???

I work with my GPS at home, too, but I didn't buy the power supply from garmin. Instead I bought a small pack of connectorsthat fit the pins on the back of the unit, and a pair of light duty insulated alligator clips-1 with a red boot & 1 with a black boot. We had 2 feet of instrument wire laying around, crimped the connectors and clips to opposite ends,and then put red & black shrink tube on the connectors, which were bare. Also bought an inline atc fuse holder to keep it safe.

Most of Garmin's units work on anywhere from 8 to 35 volts DC, so I hook the alligator clips to the terminals of any one of six batteries (9-18 volts) from my cordless tools, and then to the unit. The owner's manual gave me the pin layout for the cable, we drew it out on a piece of copy paper with a SHARPIE, then turned the paper over to be sure we hooked it up to the unit right the first time.

Works like a charm, is completely portable so you can work with it anywhere, not a lot of wires to untangle,and it will work with nearly any unit or battery. Probably other brands,too. I guess you could even use a 9 volt alkaline?

I bought the stuff at a NAPA store that I manage,and can provide the part numbers if you want. Many parts guys will have the deer in the headlights look ahen you tell them what you want to do. A good store will have the stuff in stock (connectors, alligator clips, anf fuseholder).

If you don't have any cordless tools you will have to by one (some?)

I also found out how to connect to my PC for software updates w/o buying that Garmin cable. Easy & cheap!
Old 07-14-2005, 07:33 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Likes: 0
Received 28 Likes on 28 Posts
Default Re: Garmin at home???

You could just buy a power supply intended to run an auto radio or CB from 120 volts AC. Or two six volt lantern batteries wired in series.
Old 07-18-2005, 04:46 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Bradenton, FL
Posts: 1,338
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Garmin at home???

I use the AC/PC adapter at home to update software and teach customers how to use their units.. works very well.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.