Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Installing Raymarine C-Series

Old 07-12-2005, 11:08 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location:
Posts: 20
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Installing Raymarine C-Series

We ordered a Raymarine C80 for our Maritime Skiff 20P and it should be in any day now. My question is how difficult is it to install. We didnt get the radar yet, for now just the sonar and GPS. I've heard that its an all day job from some people, and other opinions from other people. Running the wires shouldnt be that hard since we already have a transducer and GPS antenna(thats coming off). I will have some help from a somewhat knowledgeable person, but not a professional by any means. Is this going to be a job that has to be professionally installed, or should a few somewhat boatsmart people and a manual be able to complete the job?
Old 07-13-2005, 06:55 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: East Hampton Ct
Posts: 3,365
Received 452 Likes on 283 Posts
Default Re: Installing Raymarine C-Series

Honestly I would keep the "few boat smart people" to a minimum. It's not that difficult. I installed everything but the ducer, that's flush mounted a C80, C70 and bracket mounted a VHF, in one day. It took me about another half a day to mount all the antenae's and run the wires. The longest part was trying to find out how to run the ducer cable from the bilge to the bridge and the most strenuos part was cutting the big ass holes in the dash of a brand new boat, measure alot and cut small, then sneak up on it with a file or zip tool. I took some double sided tape and taped the template of the C sries right where I wanted it and cut through it. Just take your time. Good luck.
Old 07-13-2005, 07:27 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: BOEmarine.com
Posts: 17,611
Likes: 0
Received 203 Likes on 136 Posts
Default Re: Installing Raymarine C-Series

Like Keith said, it's no big deal. There is really nothing tricky to it at all. The installation instructions are fine.....good luck with the operational instructions though
Old 07-13-2005, 08:37 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: North Myrtle Beach SC
Posts: 8,045
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: Installing Raymarine C-Series

Just program Jim's number on your speed dial
Old 07-13-2005, 10:18 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: East Hampton Ct
Posts: 3,365
Received 452 Likes on 283 Posts
Default Re: Installing Raymarine C-Series

Yeah the operational is fun. The thing to do is get the manual out and a couple of beers and start setting up your system, I think you'll find it's not so bad. The tough part is remebering the next day how you did it.
Old 07-13-2005, 11:35 AM
  #6  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location:
Posts: 20
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Installing Raymarine C-Series

Thanks for the info guys, I should be able to install it without to much problems.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.