Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Do the Standard Horizon chartplotters fog up like the Garmins?

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Do the Standard Horizon chartplotters fog up like the Garmins?

Old 07-11-2005, 05:30 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Home Port Norwalk, CT
Posts: 301
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Do the Standard Horizon chartplotters fog up like the Garmins?

I know there's a woman from SH that frequents this board, forgive me I don't remember your name.

There is another thread about Garmin chartplotters fogging up since they have to breath. Garmin's tech support says that this is normal and will go away after 35-45 min. but I don't call losing use of the machine for 30-45 min normal.

Do Standard's chartplotters also fog up as part of their normal operation?


Thanks, Rob
Old 07-11-2005, 06:49 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 20,175
Received 995 Likes on 549 Posts
Default Re: Do the Standard Horizon chartplotters fog up like the Garmins?

Garmin tech support is correct as any/all chartplotter screens will fog under the right circumstances as they all have to breath. A fogging screen is a factor of temperature and humidity and a change in same that generally occurs when you turn the machine on in the early morning and the unit heats up rapidly, especially if the sun hits the screen in the early morning when the unit is still cool. Sunlight coupled with internal heat early in the morning when the unit is still cool from the night before = a fogged screen than will generally go away after a few hours as the internal heat of the unit dissapates the moistrure.

I had a Garmin 2010 chartplotter for 2 years and now have a 3010 and neither has ever fogged - but I know they could have.
Old 07-11-2005, 07:32 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Home Port Norwalk, CT
Posts: 301
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Re: Do the Standard Horizon chartplotters fog up like the Garmins?

Thanks for that explanation but I have to ask this.

I use my unit on saltwater. Does this mean that the vapor in my unit is saltwater condensation and if so wil it eventually corrode the internal electronics?


Thanks, Rob
Old 07-11-2005, 09:05 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Lakeland, FL Scout 185SF
Posts: 422
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Do the Standard Horizon chartplotters fog up like the Garmins?

I've had a 2010C installed on my boat and used regularly since AUG2003. It has never fogged, and if it did, it would be in a next day package to Garmin for repair.

The AR coating on the other hand is another story altogether - but let's not derail.
Old 07-12-2005, 11:39 PM
  #5  
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mecahnicsville, VA
Posts: 30
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Do the Standard Horizon chartplotters fog up like the Garmins?

My SH CP150C has never fogged up. I have used it in sub-zero temps off VA Beach for winter stripers and in the FLA Keys in July and August. My Lowrance products (LMS-350A, X70A, LCX-17MT) do not either, except when a unit is defective. The Lowrance gear is Nitrogen filled to prevent this problem. I do not know if the SH units are also filled with an inert gas, but I suspect they are. I ran a small marine electronics shop back in the 1980s and it is my experience that when a Lowrance or Hummingbird product fogs, the inner case is cracked or the o-ring is broken. These units need to be sent back to the factory for repair when they fog. Most local shops can repair electronics problems, but do not have the equipment to re-fill the units with Nitrogen.

I have no idea as to whether the console mounted Garmins are sealed, but my handheld Garmin GPSMAP 175 and my Garmin 60CS have never showed signs of fogging either.
Old 07-13-2005, 08:47 AM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Likes: 0
Received 28 Likes on 28 Posts
Default Re: Do the Standard Horizon chartplotters fog up like the Garmins?

Recoil Rob - 7/11/2005 8:32 PM

I use my unit on saltwater. Does this mean that the vapor in my unit is saltwater condensation and if so wil it eventually corrode the internal electronics?


Thanks, Rob
No, it's atmospheric condensation.

My Garmin 182c has never fogged and I usually go out early in the morning.
Old 07-13-2005, 09:11 AM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 20,175
Received 995 Likes on 549 Posts
Default Re: Do the Standard Horizon chartplotters fog up like the Garmins?

Rob is correcto. Not only is it not saltwater, what it is is distilled water, with the possibility of containing a few electrons. <- just kidding, but the moisture on the inside of the screen (actually it is distilledwater) will cause no harn to your unit.
Old 07-13-2005, 01:41 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Narragansett Bay RI
Posts: 1,039
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Do the Standard Horizon chartplotters fog up like the Garmins?

Recoil Rob - 7/11/2005 6:30 PM
There is another thread about Garmin chartplotters fogging up since they have to breath. Garmin's tech support says that this is normal ...
Garmin's tech said the chartplotter has to breath? You know that's not true. How can IPX7 standards be maintained if the unit breathes?

I've read your other threads and obviously there is a problem with your unit but you'd rather complain than send it back. Please spare us all the drama.
Old 07-13-2005, 02:50 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Diamond Bar, Ca.
Posts: 221
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: Do the Standard Horizon chartplotters fog up like the Garmins?

Well, Mr. UPS just arrived with my 2-pak Dri Box desiccant and Mylar ziplock bags from Sorbent Systems. The bags are very well made, and will hold the Furuno and a couple handhelds easily. Will keep the Furuno in there and see what happens.

http://www.sorbentsystems.com/desicc...-box_appl.html

Here is the IP spec spelled out:

http://www.powersaver.co.uk/tech_pag...ratings/ip.htm

My new (vented) Furuno 7000 is IP45, which means it is protected from objects down to 1mm (prolly the size of the vent hole), and a low pressure water spray.


Kurt
Old 07-13-2005, 07:47 PM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Baha 30 w/ T225 Suzukis
Posts: 684
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Do the Standard Horizon chartplotters fog up like the Garmins?

My SH CP175C has never fogged up.
Old 07-13-2005, 09:11 PM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Northern Neck, VA
Posts: 6,463
Received 2,673 Likes on 1,328 Posts
Default Re: Do the Standard Horizon chartplotters fog up like the Garmins?

my SH 175 has never fogged either.
Old 07-14-2005, 09:26 PM
  #12  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Home Port Norwalk, CT
Posts: 301
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: Do the Standard Horizon chartplotters fog up like the Garmins?

rogerstg - 7/13/2005 2:41 PM

Recoil Rob - 7/11/2005 6:30 PM
There is another thread about Garmin chartplotters fogging up since they have to breath. Garmin's tech support says that this is normal ...
Garmin's tech said the chartplotter has to breath? You know that's not true. How can IPX7 standards be maintained if the unit breathes?

I've read your other threads and obviously there is a problem with your unit but you'd rather complain than send it back. Please spare us all the drama.
I don't know that's true Roger, that's why I'm asking. I don't know if it's normal or not, that's why I'm asking.
If you can't handle the drama, read another thread.

Thanks to all that answered my question about the Standards.
Rob
Old 07-14-2005, 09:41 PM
  #13  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: S Fla
Posts: 23,412
Likes: 0
Received 35 Likes on 29 Posts
Default Re: Do the Standard Horizon chartplotters fog up like the Garmins?

I was alwaysunder the impression that condensation on the inside meant that the inert gas that was sealed inside was no longer there and there was a leak in the case....
Old 07-15-2005, 08:29 AM
  #14  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Not in Texas
Posts: 10,213
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Re: Do the Standard Horizon chartplotters fog up like the Garmins?

My understanding is that some units are not sealed, Garmin being one such unit, and fogging is normal for reasons mentioned above.

I also agree any foggy is not acceptable if it renders your equipment unless until it clears.
Old 07-15-2005, 09:34 AM
  #15  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
PLEDGER
 
HOTSPOT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Bradenton, FL
Posts: 13,397
Likes: 0
Received 10 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Re: Do the Standard Horizon chartplotters fog up like the Garmins?

I have a Garmin GPSMAP162 and a Garmin 240Blue FF, no fogging issues in three seasons of hard use.
Old 07-15-2005, 11:15 AM
  #16  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Diamond Bar, Ca.
Posts: 221
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Re: Do the Standard Horizon chartplotters fog up like the Garmins?

Eyeball - 7/15/2005 8:29 AM

My understanding is that some units are not sealed, Garmin being one such unit, and fogging is normal for reasons mentioned above.

I also agree any foggy is not acceptable if it renders your equipment unless until it clears.
I have a feeling as these units get larger and consume more power, sealing them becomes problematic, hence the vents.

While my Furuno has fogged several times, it has never affected its usefulness. You can see right through the ellipse-shaped moisture and see the screen just fine. Should note that every time the unit has fogged, it was mounted the night before the trip—allowing it to “inhale” as it cooled overnight. On days where I mounted the unit at the launch ramp, it didn't fog. Still sux to see moisture inside such an expensive piece of equipment.

Kurt
Old 07-17-2005, 09:49 PM
  #17  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norcross/Beaufort
Posts: 551
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Do the Standard Horizon chartplotters fog up like the Garmins?

I have had a SH 150 and now the 175C. neither has ever fogged. I have been really happy/satisfied with the 175. It acquired its location in 3 seconds the first time I powered it up.

I like the SH products because you don't have to worry about the screen scratching up like my Furuno has. Also the color and features are excellent. The color and resolution crush my Furuno.

my .02
Old 07-18-2005, 02:36 PM
  #18  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sailfish Capital & Black Hills SD
Posts: 16,028
Likes: 0
Received 529 Likes on 279 Posts
Default Re: Do the Standard Horizon chartplotters fog up like the Garmins?

Been using Garmin products since the came out with the little hand held with the folding antenna, never had a problem with any of them fogging. Only problem that's even remotely like that was a LCD screen on a Humminbird depthsounder that would freeze if I left on the boat overnite in the late fall. Once the sun warmed it, it was fine, started bringing it indoors and problem ended.
Old 07-19-2005, 05:40 PM
  #19  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Baldwin, Long Island NY
Posts: 119
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Do the Standard Horizon chartplotters fog up like the Garmins?

I have the 3010C up in the Northeast (Long Island, NY). When my boat went in the water in April (cold nights), I experienced some fogging. I sent the unit back and Garmin replaced the cover and updated the program. All in a 5 day turn around. No problems since then.
Mine is flush mounted so it stays on the boat with the cover attached. A friend of mine has had some slight fogging on his 3006 but it goes away in about 15 mins., it doesn't bother him enough to send it back.
I believe the temp. has more to do with it.
Old 07-19-2005, 07:39 PM
  #20  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: East Central Florida
Posts: 7,381
Received 700 Likes on 332 Posts
Default Re: Do the Standard Horizon chartplotters fog up like the Garmins?

I have owned a Garmin 3006 since last November. I sent it back to Garmin for fogging 3 times. They finally sent me a whole new unit. The last several times I have been out in the boat the new unit fogged too.

I am getting depressed about it
I had planned to buy the radar module but I don't think I will now.

My 3006 is flush mounted in the dash of my boat. I put the Garmin cover on it when not in use and my boat has a hardtop so it doesn't get direct rain. I am in Central Florida so it is extremely hot and humid here.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.