Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Garmin WiFi Adapter Questions...

Old 11-19-2013, 07:53 AM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Floaters
Posts: 6,430
Received 586 Likes on 283 Posts
Default Garmin WiFi Adapter Questions...

I want to purchase one this week, and just saw this on their website...

"Additional parts needed for complete installation: Qty:2 RJ45 Ethernet Cables.
If vessel does not have 110v power, a 12v to 110v adapter required."

I certainly don't have 110v power on my Contender, so I need to know exactly what I need. I have to get a big inverter or something?;?
Old 11-19-2013, 07:58 AM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Greater London UK
Posts: 1,082
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Garmin really screwed up on their "Wi-Fi" accesspoint. There are links here on how to "do it yourself" Garmin accesspoint - from different brand routers that will run on 12v. The Uni-Fi (Garmins OEM for Wi-Fi adaptor) is quite voltage sensitive. So don't connect it direct. You need a regulated supply for it - and why the **** garmin has not made one yet is just weird.
Old 11-19-2013, 08:02 AM
  #3  
THT Sponsor
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: BOEmarine.com
Posts: 17,584
Likes: 0
Received 192 Likes on 128 Posts
Default

The power supply they include plugs into a wall outlet. It is a Power Over Ethernet adapter. If you can find one that will plug into a 12V source then you are good to go. I have not needed to look for one because we have only installed these in bigger boats with AC Power. I would suspect Garmin will come out with a more modular wifi adapter because the current one is pretty clumsy.

For an easy and immediate work-around just get an inverter to create 110AC from 12V.
Old 11-19-2013, 08:34 AM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Floaters
Posts: 6,430
Received 586 Likes on 283 Posts
Default

Hmmm. I think I will wait until a better solution comes around instead of installing an inverter for it.
Old 11-19-2013, 10:32 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Freeport, Grand Bahama
Posts: 1,382
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

There was a guy on here that had a link to buying the POE injector you need on Ebay. Do a search and the thread might come up. They were like $5.
Old 11-20-2013, 01:41 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Beaufort NC
Posts: 5,609
Received 2,220 Likes on 1,074 Posts
Default

I use this one for all the smaller installs I do;

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Passive-POE-...item2573196853

Works just fine, just make sure you use a full-connect Ethernet cable, some (like Raymarine) don't populate the power pins. I've had good luck with either Garmin or Cat6 cabling.
Attached Images  
Old 11-21-2013, 12:42 AM
  #7  
International Marine - Suzuki Outboards - Best Pricing Guaranteed
THT sponsor
 
International Marine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 541
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Went to anual Garmin class today. Bill106 is correct. That will work perfectly. Garmin basically explained the supplier couldn't make enough of them in 12v so they ended up going 110.
Old 11-21-2013, 12:47 AM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Greater London UK
Posts: 1,082
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

I would get a regulated 12v power supply to feed the passive POE with. The Picostation is NOT made for < 11.5v - > 12.8 v. And no filters for power spikes as you can get on a boat when starting the engines.

Just plugging in a boat -> 12v passive POE -> picostation is a problem waiting to happen. I have a handful of Nano and Pico stations burnt out due someone thought it was funny to power them on a solar/battery setup without regulation. And that was "regulated" to 13.8v max on the battery/charge controller.
Old 11-21-2013, 12:54 AM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Greater London UK
Posts: 1,082
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by International Marine View Post
Went to anual Garmin class today. Bill106 is correct. That will work perfectly. Garmin basically explained the supplier couldn't make enough of them in 12v so they ended up going 110.
Hi Jim - that is simply not true in any way or form. [Edit: Sorry that sounded like a personal attack - it is not - just frustration over Garmin telling fibs] The access points ARE 12v - but very dedicated 12v. The 110v "model" is just a 110->12vdc 1.5 [used to be - now it says 0.8] amp power supply which is how they are supplied as standard from the factory.

The Picostation is meant for outdoor installation - but not for high volume salt water/spray. The connectors are not sealed so any salt in the humid air will enter the device from below - causing corrosion over time. Garmin might have potted them later - or put in gaskets - but the ones I have seen are just standard pico stations.

Last edited by kaz911; 11-21-2013 at 01:23 AM. Reason: clarification
Old 11-21-2013, 01:28 AM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Navatech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Miami Gardens FL
Posts: 5,938
Received 20 Likes on 19 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by International Marine View Post
Garmin basically explained the supplier couldn't make enough of them in 12v so they ended up going 110.
Somehow that doesn't sound right… Plus, no WiFi router that I know (and I have installed hundreds of WiFi routers) actually works of 110V… They all work of a much lower DC voltage… Whether through an external transformer (a.k.a. the "brick") or whether through an internal transformer…
Old 11-21-2013, 03:46 AM
  #11  
Senior Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Beaufort NC
Posts: 5,609
Received 2,220 Likes on 1,074 Posts
Default

Kaz, I agree spikes are dangerous to any device but the Pico will handle up to 24VDC continuous. I do a lot of beta testing for Garmin and their techs come to my shop often with new gear to test pre-release, I wouldn't have used that POE without consutling both Garmin and Ubiquiti first. It will work just fine until the battery goes below 11V but if that's the case you're probably not worried about uploading routes or waypoints (or should be!).

Definitely install inside a console or locker that stays dry! Garmin also never envisioned smaller boat owners (without generators) desiring Wi-Fi, hence the standard home Pico transfomer.
Old 11-21-2013, 04:09 AM
  #12  
International Marine - Suzuki Outboards - Best Pricing Guaranteed
THT sponsor
 
International Marine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 541
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Sorry guys, I was just repeating what was said in the class, and as far as that goes, I may have even understood it wrong (it was after lunch..lol) But I did understand clearly that the unit above will work perfectly as bills106 describes.
Old 11-21-2013, 04:25 AM
  #13  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Greater London UK
Posts: 1,082
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by bills106 View Post
Kaz, I agree spikes are dangerous to any device but the Pico will handle up to 24VDC continuous. I do a lot of beta testing for Garmin and their techs come to my shop often with new gear to test pre-release, I wouldn't have used that POE without consutling both Garmin and Ubiquiti first. It will work just fine until the battery goes below 11V but if that's the case you're probably not worried about uploading routes or waypoints (or should be!).

Definitely install inside a console or locker that stays dry! Garmin also never envisioned smaller boat owners (without generators) desiring Wi-Fi, hence the standard home Pico transfomer.
That is not my experience - 35+ degree Celsius and 13.8 V killed a 8 total (3 pico and 5 nano's) for me - blow their power regulators due to overheat. But maybe they have changed the design. Remember for each volt above the 12 volt the regulator on the PCB is supposed to deliver - is offset as pure heat more or less. I know UBNT says they can take up to 24 volt. But keep it cool.... and keep if off when starting your engines.

Apart from that it is not sealed in any way. It just has a plastic in plastic insulation. The main case is "welded" but the Ethernet and other connectors are open to the pcb. The pcb only has minimal coating on it as well.

That means if you boat on salt water - the salt humidity in the air will be sucked in to the housing due to the changes in pressure. So after a while - take one apart and look for corrosion. Even if you do fill it with marine caulk as Garmin says you should

So please - that is not a marine Wi-Fi access point. It would require so little extra effort to make something that IS meant for harsh salt water environments - and could have Garmin Marine Network connector on it and a suitable marine power connector.

All other Garmin gear is also 9-16 or 10-35 volt capable. So why not the Access Point?

They went through great lengths at designing the new SD Card reader to use Garmin Marine Network connectors and power connectors suitable for drawing up to 5 ampere without any issues (overkill.. but...) it is in line with the rest of their product strategy.

The ONLY thing that falls outside their normal product design guidelines is the Wi-Fi access point.

And if they did not think smaller boats would go for Wi-Fi - why the heck did they put Wi-Fi in the 700 series?
Old 11-21-2013, 06:05 PM
  #14  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Noank, CT
Posts: 669
Likes: 0
Received 11 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by bills106 View Post
I use this one for all the smaller installs I do;

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Passive-POE-...item2573196853

Works just fine, just make sure you use a full-connect Ethernet cable, some (like Raymarine) don't populate the power pins. I've had good luck with either Garmin or Cat6 cabling.
I've been using this one for about six months with no problems....... mounted in my flybridge electronics cabinet.....

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.