Notices

Lowrance navigation soft ware

Old 08-12-2013, 07:30 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Orange Beach, AL
Posts: 277
Default Lowrance navigation soft ware

I Have a lowrance hds 7 gen2 and wnat to load all my numbers into my machine... can i do this in a xls or someother program then drop it onto a sd and load them that way ??? and if so what would the number look like
BILL MONEY is offline  
Old 08-13-2013, 10:05 AM
  #2  
Edd
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Inland Waters of California
Posts: 1,874
Default

Get this program for FREE.

http://gpsbabel.en.softonicdownloads...1-000008ee9297

I don't use it but I hear tons of good things about it.

Edd
Edd is offline  
Old 08-13-2013, 11:47 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 781
Default

Like Edd, I know of others that have used that free software with success. Also, you can look at the Lowrance Insight Planner software:

http://www.lowrance.com/InsightPlanner-en-us.aspx
Todd Driscoll is offline  
Old 08-13-2013, 12:15 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location:
Posts: 106
Default

If you put them in an excel file in the proper format, save them as a text file, import text file into the GD6 software then save as a USR file it should be transferable to your unit on a sd card. Works on my Elite 7. I typically add the column of spaces, comas, numbers and asterics in excel and then save in a ms dos text format and then see if they import. You may have to play with the format a little bit.

(Lat dec Min)(,)(space)(Long dec min)(,)(spc)(Description)(spc)(#)(*)
27.62358, -82.6374, 2' Grouper Ledge 1*
27.96578, -82.3057, Cobia Ledge 2*
27.86998, -82.9202, Horeshoe Ledge 3*
eshoberg is offline  
Old 08-15-2013, 04:17 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Orange Beach, AL
Posts: 277
Default

Thanks guys... i had to find the thread .. it didn't let me know there was a response to my question...
Todd
do you know if i buy the softeware can i use it to plan trips and routes and then up load on a SD card to the machine ?
... Edit ..... found the answer buy looking at the website.....
Thanks for the help
BILL MONEY is offline  
Old 08-15-2013, 05:03 PM
  #6  
Edd
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Inland Waters of California
Posts: 1,874
Default

Originally Posted by BILL MONEY View Post
Thanks guys... i had to find the thread .. it didn't let me know there was a response to my question...
Todd
do you know if i buy the softeware can i use it to plan trips and routes and then up load on a SD card to the machine ?
... Edit ..... found the answer buy looking at the website.....
Thanks for the help
You can do all that and much more. I should have suggested the program to you the first time.

Edd
Edd is offline  
Old 08-15-2013, 06:42 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Orange Beach, AL
Posts: 277
Default

Thanks Edd ... i looked at the insight but forgot... i will most likely get the insight and then a map card...
BILL MONEY is offline  
Old 08-15-2013, 07:19 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location:
Posts: 106
Default

Have the insight software and not overly impressed for entering waypoints from a spreadsheet. Might help with routes. I found myself importing to the ancient gdm6 software and creating USR files. Help me out if I'm missing something here to make my life easier because the way I did it required a lot of dos editing.
eshoberg is offline  
Old 08-15-2013, 07:20 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location:
Posts: 106
Default

When I imported to Insight, it added a bunch of N/A columns that I had to delete before I could save to a USR file that would import.
eshoberg is offline  
Old 08-15-2013, 07:32 PM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Nokomis, Florida
Posts: 1,138
Default

Originally Posted by eshoberg View Post
If you put them in an excel file in the proper format, save them as a text file, import text file into the GD6 software then save as a USR file it should be transferable to your unit on a sd card. Works on my Elite 7. I typically add the column of spaces, comas, numbers and asterics in excel and then save in a ms dos text format and then see if they import. You may have to play with the format a little bit.

(Lat dec Min)(,)(space)(Long dec min)(,)(spc)(Description)(spc)(#)(*)
27.62358, -82.6374, 2' Grouper Ledge 1*
27.96578, -82.3057, Cobia Ledge 2*
27.86998, -82.9202, Horeshoe Ledge 3*
Just a heads up.....There is a translation error when importing waypoints with the Lowrance software. It does not amount to much, about 8 feet. It also truncates names.

You could use GPS Babel and then export a usr file.
nfairbank is offline  
Old 08-16-2013, 05:19 AM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location:
Posts: 106
Default

Is that error with the insight or GDM6 program?
eshoberg is offline  
Old 08-16-2013, 07:34 PM
  #12  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Nokomis, Florida
Posts: 1,138
Default

Originally Posted by eshoberg View Post
Is that error with the insight or GDM6 program?
The error is when loading into the HDS unit. It has been a while since I loaded anything but it is not significant as when I calculated it was only 8 feet.

I do not know whether it is still true, but there also use to be an export error when exporting to gpx format.

If I can clarify for you, let me know.
nfairbank is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread