Notices

HDS 7 Touch Accuracy

Old 08-12-2013, 03:29 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: N.J.
Posts: 47
Default HDS 7 Touch Accuracy

I have a HDS 7 Touch side by side to a Garmin 188. The Garmin 188 has an external antennae and the HDS 7 has an internal antennae. They are mounted on the counsel of a 21 foot Sea Hunt Center with a soft T Top. The Garmin's accuracy reads 6 feet while the HDS 7 reads 32 feet. Is is possible that I'm getting a much more accurate reading because of the external antennae? I'm a little disappointed, especially since I missed the free Point 1 antennae by just a couple of months and don't want to spend 200 bucks more. Has anyone been getting similar accuracy, or am I expecting too much from the Lowrance unit?
sallyboy is offline  
Old 08-12-2013, 03:52 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 13,602
Default

Are you sure WAAS is enabled on the HDS Touch?
abbor is offline  
Old 08-12-2013, 04:12 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Pensacola, Fl
Posts: 11,009
Default

The "accuracy" you are seeing is on the GPS page? If so, leave the boat in one position--and put the "trail" feature on--see how much it wanders, and compare the two chart plotters. I'll bet that the Lowrance is drifting less, and is actually more accurate than the older Garmin
thataway is online now  
Old 08-12-2013, 05:21 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Seattle
Posts: 278
Default

The HDS touch internal GPS is pretty poor in sensitivity and accuracy. It is yesterday's technology. So the results you see are what it probably can do unfortunately.

Get a Point-1 which gives you compass and external GPS and it will fix this nicely and give you a compass to boot. See this thread I created on this topic and the testing I did in post #17: http://www.thehulltruth.com/marine-e...uch-gps.html#b
amirm is offline  
Old 08-13-2013, 05:03 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,460
Default

Accuracy is very subjective and quite frankly there is no way known that any unit regardless of make can provide "accuracy" with any certainity as the unit has absolutely no idea of where it actually is to be able to determine true accuracy.

Estimated Position Errors really have no relationship to "accuracy" but are a function of common sateliite values/geometry plus some propriety manufacturer "variables"

An external antenna will always have better integrity than any internal for a number of reasons. The obvious reason with any internal is obstructions which can have a direct affect on satellite geometry hence be reflected directly in the EPE
Kerry is online now  
Old 08-13-2013, 06:08 AM
  #6  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: N.J.
Posts: 47
Default

Originally Posted by amirm View Post
The HDS touch internal GPS is pretty poor in sensitivity and accuracy. It is yesterday's technology. So the results you see are what it probably can do unfortunately.

Get a Point-1 which gives you compass and external GPS and it will fix this nicely and give you a compass to boot. See this thread I created on this topic and the testing I did in post #17: http://www.thehulltruth.com/marine-e...uch-gps.html#b
Amirn, I agree. If I let the boat sit for a couple of days without turning the HDS 7 on, it takes about 10-15 minutes to aquire a signal. The Garmin locks on in less then 10 seconds. I had the same situation in my home on my outdoor deck which is partially obstructed. I store my electronics indoors over the winter, and when I first received the Lowrance it took 20 minutes to pick up a signal. The Garmin took seconds in the same location.
sallyboy is offline  
Old 10-16-2013, 07:02 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Estero, FL
Posts: 104
Default

Wow - seriously? I am about to replace my old Garmin 188c (which has to be about 10 years old) with one of the newer HDS Touch units. My Garmin gets a position in less than 10 seconds every time no matter how long it has been off. How would something newer not be able to do at least as well? I don't get it!
cowpen is offline  
Old 10-17-2013, 07:28 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: LI NY
Posts: 140
Default GPS accuracy

I have installed on my Grady an HDs 7 and HDS 10 mounted in the dash. Using the internal antenna's I get accuracy of 35'. Using the 40000 external antenna I get an accuracy of 13'. Accuracy becomes very important when wreck fishing.
in2fishn is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread