Notices

Connecting HDS5 to my 200 HPDI

Old 08-11-2013, 06:26 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Metairie
Posts: 103
Default Connecting HDS5 to my 200 HPDI

I just bought a new Lowrance HDS5 this weekend. I have a 2006 200 Yamaha HPDI engine. Can anyone tell me what the data wires that come with the factory plug on the charter/sounder are for? Is this what ties in with the engine harness to display RPM, temp, etc. from the engine computer to the chart screen. If not, what do I need to get the engine to display on the unit. Hope I did not confuse anyone, Thanks.
CullsKey is offline  
Old 08-12-2013, 04:09 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location:
Posts: 13,051
Default

The installation manual will tell you what the wires in the primary harness of the display are for. You will note they have nothing to do with engine data.

Look at the back of the display. Do you see a port labeled as NMEA 2000? That is where an NMEA 2000 network is connected.

Engine data can be fed to an NMEA 2000 network so that certain engine related information is displayed on the chart plotter.
jethro1 is offline  
Old 08-12-2013, 07:23 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Metairie
Posts: 103
Default

OK Thank for the info.
CullsKey is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: