Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Yamaha F115 VSR charging issue - Low volts @ house battery or too much load?

Notices

Yamaha F115 VSR charging issue - Low volts @ house battery or too much load?

Old 08-10-2013, 06:50 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: NC
Posts: 1,876
Default Yamaha F115 VSR charging issue - Low volts @ house battery or too much load?

Hey THT - 2000 Cobia 244, twin Yamaha F115's.

I added a house battery to isolate both start batteries on my F115's. Old setup was electronics ran off starboard battery so I added a VSR there to charge the house when that start battery was charged up.

Noticed that my house gradually goes down throughout a day of combo fishing/trolling/drifting. Sometimes it does OK and stays up.

Went on a lake test run today with DVM in hand and ran the following tests:

Starboard start battery with engine at idle speed saying around 13.2 volts, the VSR cuts in and out to house battery.
With that same motor at higher speeds above 3000 rpm, the voltage goes up to 13.8 or so.

Took measurements at the house battery -
* At starboard engine idle and all electronics (GPS, FF, stereo & amp, dual vhf's on) I read 12.7 volts.
* With starboard engine throttled up, all electronics on the voltage increases slightly to 12.8 or 12.9
* If I turn everything off and fly only visually, the voltage goes up to 13.07

All batteries are relatively new with solid clean connections. Throttled up the VSR is on like it should be. I know running loaded 12.8 will eventually charge that battery but I think it would be too slow and if we stop to drift or bottom fish, I better keep the starboard running so as not to deplete the house battery.

My questions are -

What options are there with the port engine to "help" the house battery....add another VSR? Is my load too high? Do I have a charging voltage issue?

Thanks!
ScottK is offline  
Old 08-10-2013, 07:46 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location:
Posts: 2,124
Default

First I would check the health of the house battery. Make sure it is fully charged.

Kind of sounds like your load is higher than an idling engine can support well. The stereo is the likely heaviest draw from your list. You can certainly add a VSR from the port cranking battery to the house. Possible downside is that one of the alternators will pick up the big majority of the charging load because its regulator is more sensitive but my guess is with the voltages you found there is enough load that it will be fine with 2 VSRs.

Your Yamahas don't have an auxiliary charging circuit?

BTW I would check the port cranking battery voltage too.
sickcat is offline  
Old 08-11-2013, 10:34 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: NC
Posts: 1,876
Default

OK I will check the cranking volts later today, I was unsure if adding a second VSR from the other engine was a good idea or not. On my model year engines there was no auxillary charging lead. I think they added that the nexy year....just my luck!
Any tips on adding the second VSR?
ScottK is offline  
Old 08-12-2013, 11:21 PM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,621
Default

Originally Posted by ScottK View Post

Starboard start battery.
With that same motor at higher speeds above 3000 rpm, the voltage goes up to 13.8 or so.

Took measurements at the house battery -

* With starboard engine throttled up, all electronics on the voltage increases slightly to 12.8 or 12.9
this doesn't make sense. the voltage on both batterys will be the exact same when the vsr is on. if you are getting a volt difference between batterys then the VSR wire is way too small or you have a bad common ground.
smac999 is offline  
Old 08-13-2013, 06:44 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: NC
Posts: 1,876
Default

I am currently going through all my wiring and checking connections, I have a very heavy gauge wire going to the VSR. I would like to install some type of amp draw meter so I can see what the loads are at any time. I know the stereo takes a lot but it sure is nice to listen to.
After I make all my checks I'll take more live readings, thanks for the replies!
ScottK is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread