Notices

Lost bottom at 1000 feet

Old 08-08-2013, 05:29 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 836
Default Lost bottom at 1000 feet

Ventured out to the canyons and our Garmin 740s with through hull B60 transducer lost bottom at 1,009 feet. Would a 1000kw transducer work at those depths and will our B60 mark fish in the water column above that 1000 foot mark?
1stchunt is offline  
Old 08-08-2013, 05:44 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: PBG, FL
Posts: 8,933
Default

can you adjust the gain or the frequency your ducer shoots?
bradv is offline  
Old 08-08-2013, 06:32 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 836
Default

Originally Posted by bradv View Post
can you adjust the gain or the frequency your ducer shoots?
The frequency auto adjusted to 50hz (first time we had been in water deep enough for that to happen) but it was a little bumpy so did not try to adjust the gain. Good thought though.
Just wondering if there were fish at 300', would they have showed up even if we couldn't find bottom?
1stchunt is offline  
Old 08-08-2013, 07:16 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5,216
Default

You can manually set the range to 300' and scan for fish in the upper water column.
stiletto is offline  
Old 08-08-2013, 12:18 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 836
Default

Originally Posted by stiletto View Post
You can manually set the range to 300' and scan for fish in the upper water column.
That's what I was wondering. Thanks, we'll give that a try.
1stchunt is offline  
Old 08-09-2013, 01:52 PM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Brigantine, NJ / Hollywood, FL
Posts: 2,405
Default

I had bottom lock at 2600' in the NJ canyons last weekend with the SS265 1kw ducers on my GSD24/5212.

Not very useful info when I'm trolling, but is 300' enough with bottom lock? Can't seem to get a clear answer.....

Last edited by BayHouse; 08-12-2013 at 12:55 PM.
BayHouse is offline  
Old 08-09-2013, 03:02 PM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 21,300
Default

Originally Posted by stiletto View Post
You can manually set the range to 300' and scan for fish in the upper water column.
Exactly...
semperfifishing is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread