Notices

Identifying Transducer

Old 08-07-2013, 03:58 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Heading Offshore from Sandy Hook, New Jersey
Posts: 2,040
Default Identifying Transducer

My boat came with a thru hull mounted transducer.

Is there any way that I can identify it?

Are there any markings I can look for? Do any have a distinctive look that could identify it?

I guess I should submit a picture, but before I did, I was wondering about the above.
Norcoastal is offline  
Old 08-07-2013, 04:34 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 21,634
Default

Originally Posted by Norcoastal View Post
My boat came with a thru hull mounted transducer.

Is there any way that I can identify it?

Are there any markings I can look for? Do any have a distinctive look that could identify it?

I guess I should submit a picture, but before I did, I was wondering about the above.
Is it round or football shaped?
If round ...how wide across the face?
Does it have a fairing?
Is it connected to a sonar?..if not..how many pins on the connector.

A white tag on the cable could have the id information.
A photo can help.
semperfifishing is online now  
Old 08-07-2013, 06:02 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Heading Offshore from Sandy Hook, New Jersey
Posts: 2,040
Default

Yeah, I need to get a picture.

It's oval like a football and has a black wire coming out of it and within the wire are a bunch of little wires.

I'll get a picture and maybe you can help me identify it.

Thanks
Norcoastal is offline  
Old 08-07-2013, 11:10 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: M.Vineyard, MA
Posts: 13,797
Default

Do you know what kind/model of sonar device it was or is hooked up to?

Do you see anything identical here?:
http://www.airmartechnology.com/2009...ch-results.asp

Of course, if not there, yours may be a discontinued Airmar model or made by another T/D co.

As Semper suggests , there is often a model/ part # tag attached to the cable close to the T/D, but they do tend to fall off or get rubbed off after awhile.
TTaxi is offline  
Old 08-09-2013, 06:29 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Heading Offshore from Sandy Hook, New Jersey
Posts: 2,040
Default

There is no tag that I can see.

This is my thru hull transducer. I believe it was connected to a Raymarine SL70.

Any idea if it will work with a Garmin 740s?

Name:  016ff3c551b1209e113b0190f640b06a.jpg
Views: 812
Size:  62.5 KB
Norcoastal is offline  
Old 08-10-2013, 10:46 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Heading Offshore from Sandy Hook, New Jersey
Posts: 2,040
Default

Could it be a a Raymarine transducer?
Norcoastal is offline  
Old 08-10-2013, 01:28 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: M.Vineyard, MA
Posts: 13,797
Default

All you show there is the cable , small dia. stem and top 1/2 of the cut blue fairing block under the stem nut. All that really shows is it isn't a model with removable speed module insert and not a tilt-angle. If you can, look at the bottom of the T/D and compare shape & dimensions of the T/D , not fairing block.

In order to have any chance of successfully using that T/D with a Garmin unit, I believe you have to identify the T/D, make sure it's a compatible kHz frequency, and either see if Airmar has or will make an available adapter connector for your Garmin, or get the wiring diagrams for both the T/D and Garmin sonar circuits and cross connect the appropriate color wires (not same color to same) by splicing and sealing or using Airmar's junction box :
http://faq.airmar.com/index.php?acti...=45&artlang=en

T/D wiring diagrams can be found by 1st going through the Cross-Reference guide for a specific T/D originally meant for a specific sonar unit (only "possibly"... Raymarine SL70).
http://www.airmartechnology.com/2009...-reference.php

Then ...if... you can find a return on that reference search the wiring diagram would be listed at the far right , and could be looked up on the diagram list:
http://www.airmartechnology.com/2009...g-diagrams.php

But, since you may not know what T/D you have or what it was really hooked up to or whether it is still fully or at all potentially functional, your best bet may well be to go with a better new T/D you know is compatible and works with the newer sounder to better take advantage of it's capabilities. That would also give you the opportunity to consider getting rid of the bulky fairing block (even the good "high speed" ones crate substantial drag) and installing a nice tilt-angle flush mount type. ( Neither the old one or the flush mount has an integral speed sensor though. )
TTaxi is offline  
Old 08-10-2013, 05:40 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Heading Offshore from Sandy Hook, New Jersey
Posts: 2,040
Default

TT, that actually makes sense. When I pull the boat out in he fall this could be a winter project.

Remove this unidentified maybe obsolete transducer and get a modern one desjgned for the 740s unit I'm planning on using.

That's good advice. I hope the hole that's there can still be used.
Norcoastal is offline  
Old 08-10-2013, 05:47 PM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 21,634
Default

Originally Posted by Norcoastal View Post
There is no tag that I can see.

This is my thru hull transducer. I believe it was connected to a Raymarine SL70.

Any idea if it will work with a Garmin 740s?
The SL70 is a radar..any other information?

Last edited by semperfifishing; 08-12-2013 at 08:37 AM.
semperfifishing is online now  
Old 08-10-2013, 07:53 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Heading Offshore from Sandy Hook, New Jersey
Posts: 2,040
Default

Yes, that makes sense.
Norcoastal is offline  
Old 08-11-2013, 12:27 PM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: M.Vineyard, MA
Posts: 13,797
Default

And it's no big deal to make a T/D hole larger if needed , using a smaller hole saw the size of the existing hole inside a holesaw the size you need. Or using a wood plug in the same manner on the pilot bit off the larger saw. Any flush-mount T/H T/D would require a larger diameter stem hole. "Shoot-through" canister type T/D is another possibility on non-cored hulls, but may entail a little loss of sensitivity.
TTaxi is offline  
Old 08-11-2013, 01:02 PM
  #12  
CME
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3,850
Default

If its a Raymarine unit, then get an E7D and you'll be leaps and bounds above a Garmin 740's.

There is a reason wholesale on a 740's is $745 People make good money selling garmin.... But the Raymarine unit way outperforms it and you can keep the transducer.
CME is offline  
Old 08-11-2013, 03:52 PM
  #13  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Heading Offshore from Sandy Hook, New Jersey
Posts: 2,040
Default

CME, really??? I know that this transducer (TD) went to an old SL70 units because of the hole that was in the dash.

Are you saying that an old style TD will work with a modern Raymarine unit????
Norcoastal is offline  
Old 08-11-2013, 04:15 PM
  #14  
CME
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3,850
Default

I would be it would. Call Gemeco and ask. If you know the head unit it came from it is a BIG help to know.

You may loose temp but at the rate the thermister's go, an add-on temp would be a easy addition.
CME is offline  
Old 08-11-2013, 04:58 PM
  #15  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Heading Offshore from Sandy Hook, New Jersey
Posts: 2,040
Default

I just looked at the E7D unit on YouTube. What a great unit. It actually looks better than a Garmin.
Norcoastal is offline  
Old 08-11-2013, 05:02 PM
  #16  
CME
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3,850
Default

You will pay more, but I feel confident that it will outperform in several ways...

networks with all the new Raymarine gear
3 year warranty
touch or knobs

do a search on the new features that Raymarine adds to it constantly

http://www.raymarine.com/view/?id=2966
CME is offline  
Old 08-11-2013, 08:34 PM
  #17  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Nokomis, Florida
Posts: 1,183
Default

Steve:

I just replaced my B60 in-hull with a P79 thru-hull. The elements are the same. I placed it under the rear berth alongside the shower pan, just in front of the air conditioning water pump. It works great, tracks bottom at full speed.

I purchased the mix and max P79 transducer which allows one to change the head unit by just changing the intermediate cable. Great idea, kudos to Airmar.

I plan on swapping out one of my E80s for a Lowrance HDS-10, so all I have to do is run the new cable and connect to the P79.
nfairbank is offline  
Old 08-12-2013, 04:25 AM
  #18  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Heading Offshore from Sandy Hook, New Jersey
Posts: 2,040
Default

Hey Nigel,

Can you explain that a little further? I'm confused. Are you suggesting that you can change the inside components of a transducer without removing the existing one?
Norcoastal is offline  
Old 08-12-2013, 05:45 AM
  #19  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Nokomis, Florida
Posts: 1,183
Default

Originally Posted by Norcoastal View Post
Hey Nigel,

Can you explain that a little further? I'm confused. Are you suggesting that you can change the inside components of a transducer without removing the existing one?
Steve:

No, I just installed a whole new P79 surface mount transducer. I have used this type for many years and find that they work very well and no additional holes in the boat.

What ever you choose to do, try and purchase the transducer as a mix and match from Airmar. Here is a link to the MM transducers:

http://airmartechnology.com/uploads/..._poster_MR.pdf
nfairbank is offline  
Old 08-12-2013, 05:39 PM
  #20  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Nokomis, Florida
Posts: 1,183
Default

Originally Posted by Norcoastal View Post
I just looked at the E7D unit on YouTube. What a great unit. It actually looks better than a Garmin.
My two cents worth......

I have had a C120 and E80s and find Raymarine very weak in the area of finding fish. Also, they cannot seem to even sort waypoints correctly, do not handle a large number of waypoints, have a strange menu system and generally are not very intuitive.

Look at the HDS line by Lowrance. They have issues, but some of their features are superb.
nfairbank is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread