Notices

Yamaha Tach & Speedo wiring help needed

Old 08-06-2013, 05:46 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Bradenton, FL
Posts: 263
Default Yamaha Tach & Speedo wiring help needed

I will warn you that the photo below are horrifying.
Not to be looked at by the weak.

I purchased 2 yamaha gauges and a friend of mine told me he could install.
He also promised me he would wire in my new switch panel if I built it.
This is what I got.
Name:  6987d54bf7d39ca93ebefb793c2eae9a_zps02cdb0f6.jpg
Views: 3525
Size:  62.3 KB

Name:  f0ecc8ed896f01c943280aae4e7ab808_zpsfe4dc10d.jpg
Views: 2554
Size:  133.3 KB

I do electrical work for a living so my plan is to trace all the wires back to the fuse panel, label, and cap the ones I am not using.

Now my big problem is the yamaha gauges.
From what I can see the colors match up but I don't have any wiring diagrams to look at.
My previous gauges were sun faded but the backlight worked.
Now nothing works on these new ones. Judging by the photo I am not surprised.

Any help with the gauges would be great.
Reel Aggressive is offline  
Old 08-06-2013, 06:49 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location:
Posts: 13,051
Default

What motor are the gauges going to be connected to?

How many square nylon four pin connectors are at the back of the tachometer?

If you do electrical work for a living then you know that all of those wires need to be removed and replaced.
jethro1 is offline  
Old 08-06-2013, 07:51 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Bradenton, FL
Posts: 263
Default

98 Yamaha 115 Saltwater Series.
I will be removing all the ridiculous wiring and replacing it with new wire ran properly.
I will get more info about the gauges when I get home.
Reel Aggressive is offline  
Old 08-06-2013, 09:19 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location:
Posts: 13,051
Default

jethro1 is offline  
Old 08-06-2013, 06:03 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Bradenton, FL
Posts: 263
Default

took these this evening. opened up the tach in the back i found it has 2 switches.
Name:  20130806_195311_zps23d23d42.jpg
Views: 2209
Size:  52.8 KB
Back of tach
Name:  20130806_195323_zps40b13c98.jpg
Views: 2386
Size:  77.8 KB
Back of speedometer
Name:  20130806_195208_zpsca5d8198.jpg
Views: 2358
Size:  73.7 KB
Reel Aggressive is offline  
Old 08-06-2013, 06:54 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location:
Posts: 13,051
Default

Left up. Right down.
jethro1 is offline  
Old 08-06-2013, 07:19 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Bradenton, FL
Posts: 263
Default

i just put the switches into proper position.
I dont get any power at all.
looking at the wiring diagram I cant determine what wire is power and ground.
Personally I would not mind putting them on a switch if you could help me with that.

Last edited by Reel Aggressive; 08-07-2013 at 04:08 AM.
Reel Aggressive is offline  
Old 08-07-2013, 06:24 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location:
Posts: 13,051
Default

The gauges are normally connected to a switch. The key switch in fact.

Are you using a Yam control box? Wire color to wire color is all you need to do.

Yellow is key on power. Black is ground. Green is the tachometer reference signal. Red is battery power. Blue is for instrument lighting.
jethro1 is offline  
Old 08-08-2013, 05:55 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Bradenton, FL
Posts: 263
Default

what is the difference between yellow and red?
If I dont have a connection on my ignition would i connect red or yellow to a toggle switch?
Reel Aggressive is offline  
Old 08-08-2013, 06:27 AM
  #10  
Senior Member
THT sponsor
 
captain nate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bradenton Florida
Posts: 8,503
Default

Originally Posted by Reel Aggressive View Post

sweet jesus. drag that thing to my house and lets redo it. if you have a charter pop up before its done you can use my vantage...
captain nate is offline  
Old 08-08-2013, 08:09 AM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location:
Posts: 13,051
Default

Originally Posted by Reel Aggressive View Post
what is the difference between yellow and red?
If I dont have a connection on my ignition would i connect red or yellow to a toggle switch?
What do you mean you don't have a connection?

What type of ignition switch and control box do you have?

Red is constant 12 volts battery power. Yellow is battery power when a Yamaha key switch is turned to the ON position.

My recommendation now is that you take the motor to a qualified marine mechanic.
jethro1 is offline  
Old 08-10-2013, 04:54 PM
  #12  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Bradenton, FL
Posts: 263
Default

Thank you for the help.
I gutted the wiring and started with the gauges.
Everything works but the fuel.
What wires are they on the back of the speedometer gauge?
Reel Aggressive is offline  
Old 08-10-2013, 08:18 PM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location:
Posts: 13,051
Default

White and black. White is normally connected to a pink wire that runs to the tank sender. Black is for the ground to the sender.
jethro1 is offline  
Old 08-12-2013, 11:18 AM
  #14  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Corpus Christi TX
Posts: 103
Default

Did you get them working?
lazyP is offline  
Old 06-18-2017, 03:15 PM
  #15  
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 66
Default

On the back of the SPEEDOMETER what is that Black WIRE ( PLUG ) for ???
I just bought the same one and didnt have it on the original one ....


Originally Posted by Reel Aggressive View Post
took these this evening. opened up the tach in the back i found it has 2 switches.

Back of tach

Back of speedometer
ScotC is offline  
Old 06-18-2017, 03:37 PM
  #16  
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 66
Default

Also can someone tell me why the Black wires ( 2 of them ) #1 & #2 go back into the Speedometer
and also that Plug Cable -Wire #3 On diagram





Originally Posted by Reel Aggressive View Post
took these this evening. opened up the tach in the back i found it has 2 switches.

Back of tach

Back of speedometer
Attached Images  
ScotC is offline  
Old 12-29-2017, 09:29 PM
  #17  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 5
Default

Originally Posted by jethro1 View Post
White and black. White is normally connected to a pink wire that runs to the tank sender. Black is for the ground to the sender.
the time i have spent looking for this information!!!

you people rock.
this is my speedo.
which black wire do I connect to A or B?
Attached Images  
Captain_Morgan is offline  
Old 12-29-2017, 09:32 PM
  #18  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 5
Default

Originally Posted by ScotC View Post
Also can someone tell me why the Black wires ( 2 of them ) #1 & #2 go back into the Speedometer
and also that Plug Cable -Wire #3 On diagram


I am also curious about the third cable. as I clearly do not have it and want to know what I am missing out on
Captain_Morgan is offline  
Old 12-30-2017, 05:27 AM
  #19  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 4,420
Default

Originally Posted by Captain_Morgan View Post
which black wire do I connect to A or B?
it doesn't matter - ground is ground.
The gauge itself needs a ground, and the sender needs to be connected to ground.
Actually you don't need to run the sender ground wire back to the gauge,
you can ground it at the tank or anywhere else that is a good common ground with the gauge.

Originally Posted by Captain_Morgan View Post
I am also curious about the third cable. as I clearly do not have it and want to know what I am missing out on
I believe that is an optional connection when the speedo is used in conjunction with a "Fuel Management" gauge. Perhaps Alloyboy will confirm.
Fwpratt is online now  
Old 12-30-2017, 05:44 PM
  #20  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 5
Default

So I just need to trace the black wires back and see which one is not connected then. Good to know.

I've been searching for info online regarding this for a while now and glad it forced me to join this group as I'm sure it will be handy in the future.

Is the fuel management gauge worth the $$ if i were to install one?
Captain_Morgan is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread