Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Settings for Raymarine DSM and Transducer

Notices

Settings for Raymarine DSM and Transducer

Old 08-05-2013, 09:58 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Garibaldi , Oregon
Posts: 214
Default Settings for Raymarine DSM and Transducer

I'm having trouble getting a reading set on my fishfinder and am hoping to find some advise here. I run an E80 with a DSM300 that was recently replaced by Raymarine, and a new B164.

Up to 300 or 350 the system works fine and I like the detail. However when I'm in deeper water it looks as if the transducer is turning off and on. I'm trying to read the top 250' in water well over a 1000'. I've tried adjusting the gain, power and anything else I can find. The auto functions work fine in shallow water.

Here are a couple of links to photos (cannot figure out to post the photo) of the screen so you can see what I'm talking about. One is in 1440' and the other is in 3000'+.

Any suggestions on how to set the system to read just the upper 250'?

https://www.dropbox.com/s/ldceugmojb...2010.43.19.jpg

https://www.dropbox.com/s/ms8oamqjim...2010.43.23.jpg

Last edited by ichthyoid; 08-07-2013 at 09:37 AM.
ichthyoid is offline  
Old 08-05-2013, 10:19 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New Smyrna Beach
Posts: 2,511
Default

try hitting the range in/out to set the range at 250' then use the cursor key to move the range up to the top. I think that is what you are asking, right? You want to just look at the top 250' in the full screen in 1400' of water.
BottomPicker is offline  
Old 08-05-2013, 10:33 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Garibaldi , Oregon
Posts: 214
Default

Thanks for the reply. The first photo link shows that I'm in 1400' and the depth range for viewing is set to 21-271'.

What I'm asking is why does the screen appear as if the transducer is turning on and off?
ichthyoid is offline  
Old 08-06-2013, 02:12 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,099
Default

some silly questions perhaps but is your b164 installed correctly - ie does the arrow point to the keel? (May want to check airmar's install instruction)

Have you chosen the correct transducer in the setup?

Has it ever worked properly or did you replace the dsm at the same time as installing the b164? (Trying to work out your base line)

Would seem you are losing bottom but that's too shallow by my expectations or are perhaps getting turbulence/interference.
Outrager is offline  
Old 08-06-2013, 08:25 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 3,147
Default

Originally Posted by ichthyoid View Post
Any suggestions on how to set the system to read just the upper 250'?
Get out of the zoom mode as shown in your first pic (can't see your second pic). Get out of auto range and set it to manual, then range in or out manually (as required) to 250'. Don't expect to see a depth reading.
Pez Vela is offline  
Old 08-06-2013, 08:39 AM
  #6  
CME
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3,839
Default

50Khz on 47-48-49 manual gain ------ NOT AUTO

You will see tuna

B164, DSM300 and an older E140

-- would have taken the picture sooner but we had a double..
Attached Images  
CME is offline  
Old 08-06-2013, 08:45 AM
  #7  
CME
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3,839
Default

now, if your loosing bottom AFTER a certain depth, CONSISTENTLY, I would say the degree of offset (of the transducer) may not match your hull's offset.

At some point the transmitted acoustical energy can't bounce back to the origination point.

Just a thought.
CME is offline  
Old 08-07-2013, 09:44 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Garibaldi , Oregon
Posts: 214
Default

Thanks for the thoughts.

The FF works OK to show me depths. It consistently will show depths up to 1500' and when I'm drifting it will show an occasional 3500' depth.

I'll try the lower gain.

Will that stop the on/off again appearance of the screen?



ichthyoid is offline  
Old 08-07-2013, 09:45 AM
  #9  
CME
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3,839
Default

yup
and no need for 2x zoom. leave zoom off
CME is offline  
Old 08-07-2013, 10:55 AM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Garibaldi , Oregon
Posts: 214
Default

Thanks again.
ichthyoid is offline  
Old 08-07-2013, 11:00 AM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Houma, LA
Posts: 168
Default

Very interested in finding the fix to your question. Experiencing the same on/off appearance in deeper water. Using C120W and DSM 300.

Might be a DSM problem since we both are experiencing the same issue on different mfd's.
Cajun Squealer is offline  
Old 08-07-2013, 11:05 AM
  #12  
CME
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3,839
Default

this is not "a problem".

The DSM300 is a completely automatic fish-finder. If you aren't seeing the bottom, then all we are doing is dialing MANUALLY the range of depth you want to see. When you do that, it will find bait balls just fine. But trying to see tuna moving at 15-25mph is tough! So, by manually setting the system as I've said above, will do two things. See standing fish as red returns, or FAST moving fish as blue streaks.

I use the 50Khz to get the widest view..... near 25 degrees vs 4-12 degrees of a 200Khz cone.

The poster above is in anywhere from 2500 to 5000 feet! AND our ocean conditions on the West coast are typically 4-6" of swells PLUS wind chop. We typically troll 3-8mph.

hope that clears it up..
CME is offline  
Old 08-07-2013, 10:12 PM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Garibaldi , Oregon
Posts: 214
Default

Originally Posted by CME View Post
this is not "a problem".

The DSM300 is a completely automatic fish-finder. If you aren't seeing the bottom, then all we are doing is dialing MANUALLY the range of depth you want to see. When you do that, it will find bait balls just fine. But trying to see tuna moving at 15-25mph is tough! So, by manually setting the system as I've said above, will do two things. See standing fish as red returns, or FAST moving fish as blue streaks.

I use the 50Khz to get the widest view..... near 25 degrees vs 4-12 degrees of a 200Khz cone.

The poster above is in anywhere from 2500 to 5000 feet! AND our ocean conditions on the West coast are typically 4-6" of swells PLUS wind chop. We typically troll 3-8mph.

hope that clears it up..
Exactly the conditions I fish in, and I;ll get a chance to try the new settings this Sunday/Monday. Thanks for the tip on colors of returns.

Randy
ichthyoid is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread