Notices

Problem with new E7 raymarine.

Old 08-03-2013, 07:13 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: salisbury MD
Posts: 113
Default Problem with new E7 raymarine.

My E7 was installed this winter . was working fine up until today. the touch screen was acting funny . touch one thing and it would do another or do nothing at all. it would work fine with the joy stick. is there anything I can do before sending it back. I really do not want to lose all my waypoints?
wingnut1979 is offline  
Old 08-03-2013, 08:39 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,099
Default

No expert on the e7 by any means but I would suggest you try backing up your data, install the latest software and then see how it works.
Outrager is offline  
Old 08-03-2013, 09:29 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Marco Island, FL
Posts: 3,303
Default

I helped my buddy install one of those. On His first one the touch screen would only last an hour. Upgraded firmware to latest, factory reset, all the usual things. No help. Switched it out for two more brand new units, same problem. Right now, he's just living with it. He just does a reset every time the touchscreen flakes out.
HDRyder999 is offline  
Old 08-05-2013, 05:02 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Tidewater, VA
Posts: 1,166
Default

I've experienced touch screen issues also. You've done the precision touch screen alignment already? If not, that's the first step.

After the alignment is complete, I have found that if I remove power from the unit to turn it off, the next time I power up, the alignment is off and needs to be re-done.

I got a wild hair and instead of pulling the power, I pressed and held the power button untill it turned off. When I powered back up, the alignment was still good! I'm guessing that the alignment "data" is written to memory on a "normal" power off and remains when powered back up.

Hope this helps,

Joe
marinerjoe is offline  
Old 08-05-2013, 07:55 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location:
Posts: 512
Default

Oh now that is intriguing! I've been leaving on and powering off via battery switch. I'll try this next time. thanks.
nsvencer is offline  
Old 08-19-2013, 08:47 AM
  #6  
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Westford, Massachusetts,
Posts: 41
Default

Had the same touch screen issues, with a complete misalignment of the screen. Downloaded the new software and installed. Unit locked up. Tried a factory reset without success. Finally brought it up to Raymarine (fortunately only 10 miles away). Told by tech that cannot upgrade software from 1.xxx to 7.xxx. First must upgrade to an intermediate level. Second, indicated there is a 25 point screen alignment which is more effective than the 4 point.

I will reinstall the MFD this weekend and see if the problems are solved.

Gene
Comogene is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread