Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Lowrance LCX-111cHD help

Old 08-02-2013, 12:58 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central Oregon Coast
Posts: 47
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lowrance LCX-111cHD help

I'm running an older LCX-111c unit in my boat. Purchased a new LGC-4000 GPS puck for it last year and it worked flawlessly. Now having problems with the unit loosing the GPS position and then coming back on without any help from me. Sometimes the signal is lost for a few seconds and other times for minutes. It is networked to my Standard Horizon radio and Furuno radar and was professionally installed.

I've checked all my connections, wiggled my wires and cannot get it to fail in this manner. Any suggestions?

Thanks

Tom
Old 08-02-2013, 04:14 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 937
Likes: 0
Received 44 Likes on 36 Posts
Default

Is it just indicating that GPS position is lost, or that GPS module is not responding? If it's a lost warning, that would typically mean weak satellite reception. If it's not responding, that would indicate an issue with the antenna, NMEA connections, NMEA power, or head unit.
Old 08-02-2013, 04:22 PM
  #3  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central Oregon Coast
Posts: 47
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Todd Driscoll View Post
Is it just indicating that GPS position is lost, or that GPS module is not responding? If it's a lost warning, that would typically mean weak satellite reception. If it's not responding, that would indicate an issue with the antenna, NMEA connections, NMEA power, or head unit.
Hi. It first indicates "position lost". If it doesn't reaquire within a few seconds it goes to "GPS Module Not Responding". Then it requires me to turn it on and off again to get the signal back. A couple of days ago it went in and out like that for about an hour while running out for tuna, then was fine for a couple hours and started acting up again while on a troll in calm seas. At first I thought it was a bad connection because of the boat pounding into the slop on the way out.

I cannot get it to fail while wiggle testing all the different connections with it on the trailer.
Old 08-03-2013, 05:06 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 937
Likes: 0
Received 44 Likes on 36 Posts
Default

GPS module not responding simply means your head unit is not recognizing the antenna, and this could be a result of essentially any component along the NMEA 2000 network. The NMEA network requires it's own 12 V input, so check your electrical connections/fuse link there. This 12 V input could be a NMEA power node (network tee with power wires) or you could have the network powered with the NMEA power leg of your unit power cable. Also, check every NMEA cable connection from your unit to your GPS antenna. I prefer to use dielectric grease on every one of these connections. Your issue could also be due to a failing antenna.
Old 08-04-2013, 10:54 PM
  #5  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central Oregon Coast
Posts: 47
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks! I'll get under the dash and check all wires again on the fuse block, etc...
Old 08-05-2013, 03:46 AM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 211
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Lowrance GPS antennaes can be fried if not mounted correctly in relation to radar. Hopefully thats not happening. Happened to me twice. I had to mount the LGC 4000 down on the console to get it right. Is the radar running when you lose the signal?
Old 08-05-2013, 08:36 PM
  #7  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central Oregon Coast
Posts: 47
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

It having the same problem whether the radar is on or off. Today while working on it on the trailer and in the driveway with no radar on it did it a couple times. I turned it on and it stayed on ok for about 3 hours after that. I could not find any loose connections on the network system.
Old 08-06-2013, 11:34 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 937
Likes: 0
Received 44 Likes on 36 Posts
Default

Assuming all your electrical and NMEA connections are good, then your issue is due to a faulty antenna, NMEA cable/tee, or head unit in order of likelihood. Relative to troubleshooting, you really are at a point where you need to isolate/replace components. If possible, borrow a buddy's antenna, or call CS regarding a warranty replacement (assuming it's withint the one-year warranty period).
Old 08-14-2013, 06:43 PM
  #9  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central Oregon Coast
Posts: 47
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Todd,

Please see your PM.

Thanks

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.