Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Connecting Garmin 546S NMEA to Yamaha Command Link Plus Square Guage

Notices

Connecting Garmin 546S NMEA to Yamaha Command Link Plus Square Guage

Old 08-02-2013, 07:59 AM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Coral Gables, Fl.
Posts: 2,898
Default Connecting Garmin 546S NMEA to Yamaha Command Link Plus Square Guage

I know blue and white out of guages but dont know what color to attach to Garmin GPS. Please help! Also what setting to I need to put on the GPS to link up.
Searosis is offline  
Old 08-03-2013, 04:14 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: PBG, FL
Posts: 8,933
Default

arent the yamaha gauges n2k? or are you trying to get gps speed to the gauge?
bradv is offline  
Old 08-03-2013, 05:52 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location:
Posts: 13,052
Default

"Connecting Garmin 546S NMEA to Yamaha Command Link Plus Square Guage"

There is no square Command Link Plus gauge. CL+ is rectangular and color. CL is either square or round and in dinghy shades of gray.

I presume that you are wanting to get GPS speed to a Command Link gauge. The blue and white wires on the Yamaha harness are for the NMEA 0183 speed inputs. You need to go to the installation manual for the GPS and find out what are the colors of the wires that provide an NMEA 0183 speed output. Connect those wires to the blue and white wire making sure that the polarity is correct.

You then go into the CL gauge and tell it that you want GPS speed to be displayed/used. The procedure is in the applicable CL owner's manual.

jethro1 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread