Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Raymarine A series firmware 1.09 request

Notices

Raymarine A series firmware 1.09 request

Old 08-01-2013, 02:14 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 18
Default Raymarine A series firmware 1.09 request

I just upgraded my A57D plotter from 1.09 to 1.24. Unfortunately the new software is not working at all for me, while the 1.09 was working fine. I don't know why that is so, but now I just want back to 1.09 and looked for the 1.09 download, but can't find it anywhere. I asked Raymarine for it, but they (so far) do not want to send it as their view is that everyone should run the newest and greatest sw regardless and they are making efforts to see why I am having problemd with 1.24. I would like to take an easier approach and just downgrade meanwhile.


Anyone have the 1.09 firmware for the A series (A57D).
ridax is offline  
Old 08-01-2013, 04:25 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Navatech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Miami Gardens FL
Posts: 5,930
Default

I know this isn't the answer you're looking for but this is exactly why I don't update any (iPhone, iPad, laptop etc) software immediately when a new version is out...

It's better to let a week or two (or three) pass, check the internet and see if all's well with the update...
Navatech is offline  
Old 08-01-2013, 05:03 PM
  #3  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 18
Default

The software I updated to is not exactly new. I think it is at least a year old. If you had said "Don't fix what ain't broken" I would have agreed with you (now). I don't understand why Raymarine just can't send the old firmware over to me though.
ridax is offline  
Old 08-02-2013, 01:42 AM
  #4  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 18
Default

OK, I got the 1,09 firmware from a kind person and now my unit is working fine again.
ridax is offline  
Old 08-05-2013, 09:03 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Navatech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Miami Gardens FL
Posts: 5,930
Default

Originally Posted by ridax View Post
The software I updated to is not exactly new. I think it is at least a year old.
And you didn't find people with issues similar to you on the web? Or didn't you research prior to installing...

Originally Posted by ridax View Post
If you had said "Don't fix what ain't broken" I would have agreed with you (now).
You do realize that something could be broken without you noticing it right?!...

Originally Posted by ridax View Post
I don't understand why Raymarine just can't send the old firmware over to me though.
Assuming more people have similar issues to yours I don't understand why Raymarine just can't put out new firmware that fixes these issues... A year should be long enough...
Navatech is offline  
Old 08-07-2013, 03:54 AM
  #6  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 18
Default

Originally Posted by Navatech View Post
And you didn't find people with issues similar to you on the web? Or didn't you research prior to installing...
Are your tone just a tiny litle bit aggressive, or is it just how it is soming out at this end of the ocean? No, I didn't find other people with the same issue on the web (neither befor or after) and regardless, I usually wouldn't consider upgrading to the latest version, that has been out for almost a year being that riskful.

You do realize that something could be broken without you noticing it right?!...
What is your point now? Now you seem to argue that I SHOULD upgrade to the last version even if I don't notice any problems with the one I am running, just like I did.

Assuming more people have similar issues to yours I don't understand why Raymarine just can't put out new firmware that fixes these issues... A year should be long enough...
Maybe there are no other people that are having these issues? It could just be my unit that is not liking the 1,24 and prefers 1,09. Anyhow, sending the 1,09 software proved to be no problem at all as I got it both from the local representation and from Raymarine UK once I mailed them. It was just the first support representative from Raymarine that refused my request (but were otherwise friendly and tried to help with the problems I had with 1,24, unsuccessfully though).
ridax is offline  
Old 08-07-2013, 09:51 AM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Navatech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Miami Gardens FL
Posts: 5,930
Default

Originally Posted by ridax View Post
Are your tone just a tiny litle bit aggressive, or is it just how it is soming out at this end of the ocean?
No offense intended.

Originally Posted by ridax View Post
No, I didn't find other people with the same issue on the web (neither befor or after).
That's actually quite interesting. If this were a mission critical computer I'd consider reinstalling everything (OS & Apps) from scratch.

Originally Posted by ridax View Post
I usually wouldn't consider upgrading to the latest version, that has been out for almost a year being that riskful.
Neither would I but having made a living in the software industry (and having been bitten in the arse more then once) I still check.

Originally Posted by ridax View Post
What is your point now? Now you seem to argue that I SHOULD upgrade to the last version even if I don't notice any problems with the one I am running, just like I did.
That was exactly my point. The fact that you may not notice an issue doesn't mean you shouldn't upgrade. After reading up on any possible issues of course.

Originally Posted by ridax View Post
Maybe there are no other people that are having these issues? It could just be my unit that is not liking the 1,24 and prefers 1,09.
Considering that the hardware as well as the software are (should be) 100% identical it's highly unlikely that issues wouldn't be universal. The fact that your issue seems to be highly localized to your unit indicates to me that there's either a hardware issue or a software issue. My initial suspect would be the latter. Possibly somewhere somehow something got corrupted. I'd re-download the updated version (preferably from an alternate source) and reinstall it (preferably using another medium).

You still have the older version so you can always roll back the software version.
Navatech is offline  
Old 02-01-2017, 08:22 AM
  #8  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 3
Default Same problem here.

Upgraded to 1.24 and lost support for my B117 transducer.
Basically the fishfinder is useless to me now.

Can someone please help me with files for the 1.09 software?

-- Thanks, Trond.

tronds63 is offline  
Old 02-01-2017, 09:26 AM
  #9  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 18
Default

Originally Posted by tronds63 View Post
Upgraded to 1.24 and lost support for my B117 transducer.
Basically the fishfinder is useless to me now.

Can someone please help me with files for the 1.09 software?
Mailed you.... hope you got it
ridax is offline  
Old 02-01-2017, 09:41 AM
  #10  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 3
Default

Originally Posted by ridax View Post
Mailed you.... hope you got it

Just got it!

Thanks!
tronds63 is offline  
Old 02-01-2017, 09:55 AM
  #11  
CME
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3,791
Default

Did you master reset the unit AFTER the new software update?
CME is offline  
Old 02-01-2017, 12:34 PM
  #12  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 3
Default

Problem solved. Tested and working great!. Software 1.09 is going to stay in my unit until the unit or I am dead.
tronds63 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread