Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Lowrance Update For HDSGen2 July 2013

Old 07-30-2013, 06:39 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Long Island
Posts: 73
Received 6 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Lowrance Update For HDSGen2 July 2013

Received Update 2-2.1-2 today for the HDS Gen 2 and the HDS Gen 2 Touchscreen.

Downloaded the Std HDS Gen2 version today and ran boat .

The various Pages and combinations come up in Blazing speed as with the original "old update".

The Page Screens painting speed is now on the $ also. Chart is still a tic slow to fill in when scanning out rapidly for longer distances,however Much Improved.

The issues my machine had when the previous update was downloaded have been successfully addressed by this update. Basically all functions are smoking Fast.

Thank you Todd Driscol for listening and Lowrance for getting on providing solutions.

Last edited by Fish220sr; 08-15-2013 at 07:47 PM.
Old 07-30-2013, 07:02 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: South Florida
Posts: 154
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Same here...Lowrance is doing their job.

Loving my HDS9 Touch w/ Structure Scan

Kudos to Tom...
Old 07-30-2013, 08:21 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 1,305
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Sounds like it might finally be time to upgrade the firmware.

I'll be following this thread.
Old 07-31-2013, 05:58 AM
  #4  
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 32
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

guys,
i got the hds 9 also,
does your screen scroll along smoothly or a bit jerky?
I need to know, new machine , I have nothing to compare it to.
thanks
Old 07-31-2013, 08:58 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: South Florida
Posts: 154
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by brettw View Post
guys,
i got the hds 9 also,
does your screen scroll along smoothly or a bit jerky?
I need to know, new machine , I have nothing to compare it to.
thanks
The only lag I experience now when I zoom in or out at an extreme. The latest update took care of reducing this time from a few seconds of lag to about 1 second. Much better but I wish it didn't have any lag time at all. It's a minor gripe now, other than that, everything else works great.
Old 07-31-2013, 10:07 AM
  #6  
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Lockwoods Folly, NC
Posts: 59
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Update didn't fix my problem....

HDS 9 Touch, LSS2 and P79 combination still locks up in shallow water ( <4 ft.) requiring a reboot. This reboot problem was identified as fixed in the release notes.
DS, SS and Sonar all work alone or in any combination in deeper water and hold bottom at speed. Airmar acknowledges problem with P79 in shallow water. My question, which neither company's tech support can answer is why does the LSS2 continue to read the ( locked up) P79 depth after moving into deeper water until I restart the unit.
Old 07-31-2013, 12:05 PM
  #7  
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: South Florida
Posts: 154
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

I havn't experienced the lock up issue neither before nor after the update. I have read on other threads about this issue. Apparantley this update did not address that issue.
Have you corresponded with Todd Driscoll about this issue?
He's the Lowrance rep on the THT.
Old 08-01-2013, 06:46 AM
  #8  
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Lockwoods Folly, NC
Posts: 59
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

The last line of the release notes of the latest software...

Sonar Improvement
•The issue where the Sonar and StructureScan would lock up and require a reboot has been resolved."

Two tries with Lowrance CS. Both CS reps said they had never heard of the problem! Neither seemed to want to spend the time to let me explain it. So I requested that it get kicked up a level. Was put on hold for 20 more minutes and then the call was dropped. This put me in a kinda cranky mood. Decided to go home and have a long cool drink and wait for another day to try any one at either AIRMAR or Lowrance. Been waiting for a week for callback by Airmar who was going to talk to Lowrance.
I have not corresponded with Todd Driscoll.
Thanks for the reply.
Joe
Old 08-01-2013, 08:47 AM
  #9  
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: South Florida
Posts: 154
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by jobe View Post
The last line of the release notes of the latest software...

Sonar Improvement
•The issue where the Sonar and StructureScan would lock up and require a reboot has been resolved."

Two tries with Lowrance CS. Both CS reps said they had never heard of the problem! Neither seemed to want to spend the time to let me explain it. So I requested that it get kicked up a level. Was put on hold for 20 more minutes and then the call was dropped. This put me in a kinda cranky mood. Decided to go home and have a long cool drink and wait for another day to try any one at either AIRMAR or Lowrance. Been waiting for a week for callback by Airmar who was going to talk to Lowrance.
I have not corresponded with Todd Driscoll.
Thanks for the reply.
Joe
Jobe...As I posted before, I never experienced the lock up issue for the depth reading before. Well, we went fishing early today for the first time since the new update and we experienced the lock up issue exactly as you described. I also had to reboot after trying different setting alternatives to see if the depth reading would change. Very frustrating. ;?

After I rebooted, all was well. We went in and out of the shallows a few times and it didn't happen again but I'm not convinced the issue is resolved.

Going out again this Sunday. I'll report back weather it happens again or not.

I just sent Todd Driscoll a pm to see if he had any suggestions.
Old 08-01-2013, 09:07 AM
  #10  
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Homosassa, Florida
Posts: 30
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I just installed the updates on my Gen2 HDS 7 and HDS8 and it works like a champ
Old 08-01-2013, 09:49 AM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Raleigh, NC. USA
Posts: 1,083
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Seems they addressed mostly all I had reported through Todd as well and speed is much improved.
Only issue not resolved is when on the dual chart page, trying to toggle to next screen, it will immediately revert back to first screen when holding down the pages button. Todd is asking Lowrance to check further on this one. All or any other multi page screen, I do not have any issue, just on that one view.

One other thing I am going to ask you all to check as I didn't notice this until after the upgrade is how hot is the unit after about an hour? When I removed mine on Sunday to put it away, I noticed it was pretty hot on the backside casing. Maybe this is normal and I just never caught it. I normally turn off everything when pulling out at the ramp and by time I get home, I remove all devices and put away, so it would have had time to cool down.
Just a slight concern now with more performance, if heatup is greater now.
Will be checking this again this weekend and compare with my Gen1 unit to see if they both are the same in this respect.
Old 08-01-2013, 09:51 AM
  #12  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Mebane, NC
Posts: 1,635
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

In found it reset the size of my data overlays to XS on a HDS7 Gen 2. Had to reset those.
Old 08-01-2013, 09:56 AM
  #13  
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Lockwoods Folly, NC
Posts: 59
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

McKee,
Sorry to hear of your experience. Hope that responding to my message didn't contribute to your misfortune.
Airmar acknowledges that the P79 should not be trusted in shallow water. That's OK I understand that it is difficult to design a transducer to work in very shallow water especially when cost is a consideration as it must be. I do think however that this limitation should be noted in Airmar and Lowrance's literature since people may use the unit for navigation as well as for fishfinding.

I don't understand why the DS/SS depth reading is locked when the sonar(P79) is locked if they actually function as independent sounders.

If they do function as independent sounders, it may be the case that the LSS2 transducer has a similar issue in shallow water. While I cant envision much use for the DS/SS functionality other than numeric depth data in such shallow water, once again it should be noted that the LSS2 will not function for depth reading at these shallow depths.

If it is the case that the problem is the transducers are not capable of reading depths in such shallow water, Lowrance needs to rethink the logic in the sounder software, like turning off the transducer(s) for a brief period, so that the user can be notified of the condition, but the unit returns to functionality without requiring the user to reboot the system, when the water depth is sufficient to resume operation.

Sorry for the long winded response.

Joe
Old 08-01-2013, 10:28 AM
  #14  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1,023
Likes: 0
Received 57 Likes on 47 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by jobe View Post
I don't understand why the DS/SS depth reading is locked when the sonar(P79) is locked if they actually function as independent sounders.

Joe
By design, the unit only calculates one digital depth, because digital depth calculations require a significant amount of processor. Priority is first given to the 2D sonar digital depth. Just like you describe, if you stop 2D sonar, then you will get digital depth derived from LSS.
Old 08-01-2013, 10:43 AM
  #15  
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 38
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by jobe View Post
HDS 9 Touch, LSS2 and P79 combination still locks up in shallow water ( <4 ft.) requiring a reboot. This reboot problem was identified as fixed in the release notes.
DS, SS and Sonar all work alone or in any combination in deeper water and hold bottom at speed. Airmar acknowledges problem with P79 in shallow water. My question, which neither company's tech support can answer is why does the LSS2 continue to read the ( locked up) P79 depth after moving into deeper water until I restart the unit.
This is meant ONLY as a troubleshooting/diagnostic question, not as an apologizer for Lowrance. My question is what extras do you have turned on? I mean...

Range rings
Course/heading extensions
Number of panes showing stuff
Map orientation

I have 2 12's. I have 2 panes each. Course Up, heading and course extensions (I have an rc-42), and weather over lay on one unit. That's it. I never have to reboot and I see depth from the trailer out to deep.

Try reducing some of the overlays, panes, and stuff and see if a certain combination triggers a reboot. While Lowrance says they addressed the issue, there are thousands of screen combinations. It's possible or more than likely a combination or two or hundred didn't get tested.

This last update for me was an all around improvement for me.

PS...
I forget exactly whether it was a gen1 or gen2 issue but anyone who had range rings turned on had their units rebooting and locking up. I never use them so I never had the problem.

Last edited by XJ200Capt; 08-01-2013 at 11:03 AM.
Old 08-01-2013, 11:50 AM
  #16  
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Lockwoods Folly, NC
Posts: 59
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Todd,
Thank you for your help. I understand conservation of processor HP given all the stuff you can hang on the HDS box. It seems that for now the best solution would be to disable/disconnect the P79 and use the LSS2 for my depth reading. I'll see if the LSS2 reads in shallow water without hanging up. Can I "disable" the P79 in the setup or do I have to physically disconnect it? I'm not at my boat.
XJ200,
Thank you as well. Good suggestion. I will take a look at my screens to see how much data I have places on them with an eye to removing all but the essentials.

Joe
Old 08-01-2013, 01:17 PM
  #17  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1,023
Likes: 0
Received 57 Likes on 47 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by jobe View Post
Todd,
I'll see if the LSS2 reads in shallow water without hanging up. Can I "disable" the P79 in the setup or do I have to physically disconnect it? I'm not at my boat.
Joe
Joe, all you have to do is select "stop sonar" in your 2D sonar menu. This cuts power to the P79.
Old 08-01-2013, 02:10 PM
  #18  
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Lockwoods Folly, NC
Posts: 59
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Todd,
Thank you very much. I will try tomorrow and see what happens in the skinny water!
Joe
Old 08-06-2013, 06:56 AM
  #19  
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Lockwoods Folly, NC
Posts: 59
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I tested the HDS9/LSS2/P79 setup in very skinny water a couple of times shutting off the P79 per Todd Driscoll's suggestion. The LSS digital depth reads down to less than 2' with no problems at all and the system does not "hang up". For me this solves my problem. Thank you Todd. Clearly the problem is with the Airmar P79 transducer when used in shallow water. Airmar acknowledges the shallow water problem with the P79, but doesn't indicate this limitation in their specs to the consumer. Airmar tech support was going to look into the issue with Lowrance and get back to me. They haven't and have not responded to several follow up calls. Great support from Todd and Lowrance. Not so much from Airmar.
Joe
Old 08-14-2013, 02:02 PM
  #20  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Palm Beach County
Posts: 3,438
Likes: 0
Received 22 Likes on 18 Posts
Default

Where is the link to this update? I can only find 2.1.45.144 at Lowrance site.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.