Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

AIS functionally between HDS5 and GX2150

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

AIS functionally between HDS5 and GX2150

Old 07-30-2013, 02:13 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 76
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default AIS functionally between HDS5 and GX2150

In March I upgraded my boat with an HDS5 with structure scan and a SH GX2150 AIS+. I had the electronics and some other items installed by BOE Marine. After figuring everything out with some hours on the water, I had everything running great. The AIS was displaying targets 20 miles away.

Skip to the 2.0 update. The unit bogged down and was unreliable. I completely lost AIS functionality on the HDS. I tried the suggestions others posted on the forum and was unable to get it working. I spent about 2 hours with Lowrance and BOE trying to figure it out. Then Lowrance released 2.1 update. I loaded the new firmware and all my problems are solved except the AIS.

So I am off this week and able to get Lowrance tech support while I'm on the water. After hold time and transfers I get to who can help me and run the gamut with my settings. Then when unable to fix the issue a case number is established and I am sent higher up the tech chain. I am told I need a BB Electronics rs 232 converter because Lowrance no longer supports that protocol in the 2.0 system.

One, I'm not happy Standard Horizon sold me a state of the art radio which uses antiquated technology. Two, I'm not happy Lowrance pulled the rug from under my feet with my systems functionality.

Trying to make the best of things and feeling lucky at least the sonar is awesome, I noticed something weird. When I was looking at my chart I saw an AIS target vessel. But my radio was showing 9 targets. Then I noticed the vessels displayed on the HDS were named only by MMSI number and the vessels which were named did not display on the HDS. Then two more targets. Only the targets named by MMSI were marked on the HDS.

Thoughts?
Old 07-30-2013, 02:43 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Beaufort NC
Posts: 6,609
Received 3,278 Likes on 1,504 Posts
Default

Sounds like the issue is with Lowrance not Standard Horizon if it was working fine and the updates caused the problems. Granted the 2150's are still 0183 but at least it's high speed 0183 but with 2000 being so prevalent nowadays it won't be long before Standard changes over too. Done several recent installs with Garmin 7215's and with current software revisions it displays all contacts (MMSI and non) better on the MFD's than the smaller display on the VHF.
Old 08-01-2013, 09:06 AM
  #3  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 76
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Has anyone else experienced this issue of only MMSI targets being displayed rather than all the targets? Lowrance told me without the rs232 converter I wouldn't have any AIS data at all. That is not what I am experiencing however.

Any other suggestions or fixes would be appreciated.
Old 08-02-2013, 10:31 AM
  #4  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 76
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

OK so I spoke with Lowrance again. I was still not able to get any explanation of why I am only marking certain targets. The rep told me the issue is with SH and to contact them. That was after 4 reps and three transfers. The agents were all courteous but I never was able to get an answer.

I called Standard Horizon and I must say their customer service is faster and more organized than Lowrance. The rep told me SH changed the design of the gx2150 in mid January and added a yellow and white wire. These are the rs422 ais connections. Unfortunately for me, I purchased my radio in mid January and got one of the older models without rs422 capability. I was told I have to purchase a bb electric model 422 lp9tb rs232 converter to make it work properly.

Just what I want to do. Buy something else to make my system function.

But nobody can explain why it shows ais targets for some vessels and not others.
Old 08-02-2013, 11:37 AM
  #5  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 7
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

That is really frustrating. Now I wonder if my HDS 12 is displaying all of the AIS targets, or not. Unfortuantely where we primarily are on the water there are not that many AIS targets. We are taking a vacation with the boat to a more populated area I will have to look closely. Of course, my radio is like yours, without the yellow and white wires. No one at Lowrance or Standard Horizon was able to get the AIS targets I have to work. Lowrance told me they removed the function from the software, but we were able to get targets showing by hooking up both ports to the Lowrance, even though the software is not there to configure the second port. A member of this forum helped me out. Good luck and please keep us posted.
Old 08-02-2013, 04:08 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 502
Received 10 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by mulletblaster View Post
The rep told me the issue is with SH and to contact them.
I would trust SH over Lowrance. This sounds like rubbish.
Old 08-02-2013, 11:03 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 16,433
Likes: 0
Received 1,128 Likes on 918 Posts
Default

The reason why it only shows some of the AIS targets is probably communications problems.
At 4800 baud it usually works to connect RS422 and RS232 together, at 38400 baud it's more problematic, but it may work if done properly.

Try to follow this wiring diagram, with one modification. Connect the green wire from HDS together with the HDS shield to GX2150 green common. Lowrance blue should be left floating (isolate it to avoid shorts)

http://www.standardhorizon.com/downl...lication%2Fpdf
Old 08-03-2013, 12:45 PM
  #8  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 76
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by abbor View Post
The reason why it only shows some of the AIS targets is probably communications problems.
At 4800 baud it usually works to connect RS422 and RS232 together, at 38400 baud it's more problematic, but it may work if done properly.

Try to follow this wiring diagram, with one modification. Connect the green wire from HDS together with the HDS shield to GX2150 green common. Lowrance blue should be left floating (isolate it to avoid shorts)

http://www.standardhorizon.com/downl...lication%2Fpdf
Thanks for the tip, I'll try it next time I'm out on the boat.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.