Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Simrad NSE - Engine Data Backwards - After Display Swap.

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Simrad NSE - Engine Data Backwards - After Display Swap.

Old 07-29-2013, 06:58 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location:
Posts: 482
Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Simrad NSE - Engine Data Backwards - After Display Swap.

So I had to replace my NSE12 under the simrad 24 hour replacement warranty. I swapped the screens but now I have a few questions.

The simrad AP12 autopilot would not engage on the new display and I had to do the dock side VRF (twin outboards) and then the autopilot seemed to work fine. Do I need to recalibrate the rate compass? In the device list it states that its status is OK?

The second issue that I have is that in some areas the engine data is backwards. When I setup my second row on the data bar my engines temps port and starboard were intially backwards I set the data fields reversed so that the engine in the data list that said port was set to the data field for the starboard engine and then the temps were fine. But when I go to my INFO page and have all the gauges my trim, RPMs, and temps are still backwards. This was not an issue on the old display; it was configured perfectly. Any ideas?
Old 07-30-2013, 02:46 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,457
Received 131 Likes on 78 Posts
Default

How does your engine data get to the NSE? If you have a NMEA 2000 interface of some sort, each engine in a multiengine installation will have an "instance" (usually 0 and 1 for port and starboard). It sounds as though those got reversed somehow. Go to the "network" menu item and then "sources". Scroll down and look for your engine interface. You should see two listed and they should be labelled port and starboard. If you then select one of them and select "data" with only one engine running, you can easily check to see if the device instance is reversed. If that is the case, you can reconfigure the interface and switch the instance settings.

This can get a little complicated so the best thing is probably to get on your boat and call Simrad tech support and let them walk you through it.

The rate compass should store its own calibration settings. However, it is possible that the new NSE forced it to reset, in which case you should probably go through the whole seatrial installation procedure including the compass calibration.
Old 07-30-2013, 08:40 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 16,433
Likes: 0
Received 1,128 Likes on 918 Posts
Default

No need to recalibrate the compass.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.