Notices

Help with Lowrance Network

Old 07-29-2013, 03:28 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 27
Default Help with Lowrance Network

Purchasing a new boat and am putting together an electronics wish list. I have access to some good prices through a friends wholesale account so I am going to do this, with some help, on my own. I have a lowrance HDS 7 gen 2 touch with structure scan that I bought 3 months ago and am very happy with. I want to upgrade to the HDS 12 with the radar dome and network the 2 units also looking at the sonic hub for stereo and a 1KW thru hull ducer. I think I need a Lowrance NMEA 2000 network starter kit. Is there any other components I need to network the units and also be able to incorporate sirius radio into the system ?
countrycpa is offline  
Old 07-29-2013, 08:05 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Greater London UK
Posts: 1,064
Default

The sonic hub goes on the NMEA 2000 net
The Radar if you get the RI10 control box - need NMEA 2000 + Ethernet
As for Sirius - I don't know - I don't live in a place where that works.

So for NMEA 2000 you need a starter kit (any starter kit will do - I like Garmins for soft cables - or Maretron for good quality) that is usually a 10m backbone, power cable, and a single drop cable + 3 T-Pieces and 2 terminators.

Each HDS would need a drop cable for NMEA 2000 - so you need to have a total of 4 drop cables with a T-Pieces.

The radar box comes with an Ethernet Cable. Then you need an extra Ethernet cable to connect your 2 HDS together with. Else Radar will only work on one of them.

So if my calculations are correct you need the starter kit - + 3 nmea 2000 drop cables + 3 T-Pieces plus the Lowrance Ethernet cable. You might end up not needing your 10m backbone cable if everything is close together. But don't use that as a drop cable. Max drop cable length is 6m.

If everything is mounted close together you could get the Navico 4 port T piece to replace 4 T- pieces. That would save a of connections and potential future problems. http://www.ebay.com/itm/Navico-4-Way...d2bf62&vxp=mtr

And if you only use 3 of the ports - it is not a problem leaving 1 open.
kaz911 is offline  
Old 07-29-2013, 08:52 PM
  #3  
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 38
Default

I would possibly add the gofree wifi device if it is a larger boat where you might end up wanting to connect your ipad or iphone to the head units to edit waypoints etc. Also, ebay is great, however, ultimatepassage, defender, or starmarinedepot has much better prices on just about all this stuff vs ebay.
cmgreeniv is offline  
Old 07-29-2013, 09:02 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5,216
Default

I bought the 4 port N2K and its a good starter for the network.
stiletto is offline  
Old 07-29-2013, 09:06 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Greater London UK
Posts: 1,064
Default

Originally Posted by cmgreeniv View Post
I would possibly add the gofree wifi device if it is a larger boat where you might end up wanting to connect your ipad or iphone to the head units to edit waypoints etc. Also, ebay is great, however, ultimatepassage, defender, or starmarinedepot has much better prices on just about all this stuff vs ebay.
The ebay links are just examples with pictures I was to lazy to find it on lowrances homepage.
kaz911 is offline  
Old 07-30-2013, 04:46 AM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Ponce Inlet, FL
Posts: 527
Default

If you want to have the Sirius and the radar on both units you will need a ethernet hub to make all this data available to both units. The Ethernet carries the structure scan, radar, and Sirius information so you'll need three ports for those (your structure scan box has 3 ethernet ports in it) but you'll also need another 2 ports to connect your 2 devices. If you don't want to share the radar/Sirius/Structure scan on the second display, then this may be moot.

So you'll need a N2K backbone as well as a Lowrance Network Expansion port (NEP-2) and enough ethernet cables to connect the port to all of your devices.

Have a look at the installation manual on page 36 (http://www.lowrance.com/Root/Lowranc...0043-001_w.pdf)

Hope this helps...
CMS_Sprint is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread