Notices

406 eprib from Australia??

Old 07-28-2013, 07:29 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 3
Default 406 eprib from Australia??

Hi guys... looking over a lot of 406 epirbs on EBAY. There are many to choose from with an average price range of 350-1200 dollars. I have seen several posted from Australia that are consistently in the 150-300 dollar range. My question is there anyone out there that can tell me if they will work the same and is there any noticeable difference in quality.
Thanks in advance...Scott
scottalee is offline  
Old 07-29-2013, 04:18 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,099
Default

Gme's website indicates they are not registered for use in the USA but then goes on to say its a global coverage.

We are required to register our beacons here - do you have the same requirement and if so will they accept registration of a non FCC compliant beacon?

Get one with built in GPS coincidentally, I recollect my gps 406 was about $320 aud a year ago.
Outrager is offline  
Old 07-29-2013, 06:54 PM
  #3  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks for the insight... always helpful to get this kind of input...Scott
scottalee is offline  
Old 07-29-2013, 07:33 PM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Chesapeake
Posts: 576
Default

You can buy a new ACR EPIRB here in the USA from a ACR dealer for as little as $439. This is a life saving device. Why buy a used unit with an unknown past and unknown performance or life span. If you sent in a used EPIRB for a battery replacement and testing, it would run $250 or more, plus the cost of a used EPIRB. While the $439 EPIRB does not have internal GPS, it still signals the same rescue authorities just as fast.
cptkatz is offline  
Old 07-30-2013, 02:20 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,536
Default

Originally Posted by Outrager View Post
Gme's website indicates they are not registered for use in the USA but then goes on to say its a global coverage....
What's make you think GME are the only Australian manufacturer of positioning beacons?
Kerry is offline  
Old 07-30-2013, 06:17 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,099
Default

Originally Posted by Kerry View Post
What's make you think GME are the only Australian manufacturer of positioning beacons?
Better yet, what empowers you to leap to the conclusion that I believe they are? Must be that your hearing is failing for you certainly seem unable to subscribe to your signature.

Go play troll elsewhere... Or try adding anything both useful and factual to this (or indeed any other) conversation.

Katz, that 320 aud is for a new GPS 406 including free battery replacement at 7 years, I'm unsure why your pricing is so radically different - maybe it's in the specs or we have govt pricing support perhaps?
Outrager is offline  
Old 08-06-2013, 07:27 AM
  #7  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: South Florida
Posts: 7
Default

Australian EPIRBS will need to be reprogrammed to your own county code so it can be registered in your own country. If you are not a resident of AUS then you can not register it in AUS.

If you can not get someone to reprogram it for you, you won't be able to register it. So don't buy it if you can't make sure you can have it reprogrammed. If you can have it reprogrammed, it would work fine just like any other.

Also, if you are looking at GME, some models are only for sale in Australia & New Zealand, the MT400 for example. Be sure to get one that is not just for Australia & New Zealand as those countries have different regulations. ACR Electronics also sells models that are just for Australia & New Zealand because of the different regulations. Be sure to get a model that can be used everywhere.
ElectronicsGuySoFla is offline  
Old 08-06-2013, 07:33 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,099
Default

Interesting tho I'm not so clear on your second sentence but cannot imagine why you'd want to register it to an aus address as an alien.

Do you have to register your units in the USA?
Outrager is offline  
Old 08-06-2013, 07:45 AM
  #9  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: South Florida
Posts: 7
Default

Originally Posted by Outrager View Post
Interesting tho I'm not so clear on your second sentence but cannot imagine why you'd want to register it to an aus address as an alien.

Do you have to register your units in the USA?
In the USA yes, they have to be registered with NOAA. The only reason why I can think of why someone would want to register it as an alien is if they spend a lot of time there or if the registration get rejected by their own country because of wrong programming. But of course, you don't need to register it where you will be spending time because it's a global system and simply reprogramming it solves the other issue.
ElectronicsGuySoFla is offline  
Old 08-06-2013, 07:59 AM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,099
Default

Thanks - I wonder why your Epirbs are more expensive than ours -it makes a change to hear of something being cheaper here!
Outrager is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread