Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Suzuki/lowrance digital gauges problem

Old 07-28-2013, 07:33 AM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 376
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Suzuki/lowrance digital gauges problem

Anybody have intermitten problem with their gauges sometimes working and then next time you turn motors on them not working, i have heard alot of problemswith them.
Old 07-28-2013, 01:08 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Saint Francisville, LA
Posts: 1,880
Received 40 Likes on 27 Posts
Default

you say "not working" you mean they don't power up? If that is the case, I would look to the n2k power node, with out this they "won't work". Depending on which Suzuki motors, the power comes from the ignition switch, when it's on the network powers up and the lmf's come on. I have Df300's and I am not familiar with all the other Suzuki's but they should be similar.
I think the lmf's are pretty reliable. Only had one fail so far.
ps. it might help to say which motors, and how many gages you have and if more than one, are they all acting the same at the same time.
Old 07-29-2013, 05:31 AM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 376
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by knotreel View Post
you say "not working" you mean they don't power up? If that is the case, I would look to the n2k power node, with out this they "won't work". Depending on which Suzuki motors, the power comes from the ignition switch, when it's on the network powers up and the lmf's come on. I have Df300's and I am not familiar with all the other Suzuki's but they should be similar.
I think the lmf's are pretty reliable. Only had one fail so far.
ps. it might help to say which motors, and how many gages you have and if more than one, are they all acting the same at the same time.
duel 175 motors and dual gauges,they the nema 12 power from the port motor. The gauges always power up but I do not get any info more often out of the starboard , when I go to the config sometimes it sees the starboard motor sometimes it does not, the port I have to turn on a bunch of times before it will give data out
Old 07-29-2013, 06:27 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Saint Francisville, LA
Posts: 1,880
Received 40 Likes on 27 Posts
Default

assuming that at one time they worked OK, then some sort of connection problem possibly low voltage in the network (a guess) or guessing again bad network connection. do they always see the gps antenna? or other connected to net work? is ti only the motors? do you have any battery issues, low charge?
assuming the that they always have been prone the these issues possibly the engine interfaces were not configured properly, as seabob has said, the configuration on the engine interfaces should be done with fully charged batteries with a battery charger connected while doing the confg. so unconfigure them and reconfigure with something like 12.8vdc from the battery. This re-confg. is something I would do anyway.
Old 07-29-2013, 09:47 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 376
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by knotreel View Post
assuming that at one time they worked OK, then some sort of connection problem possibly low voltage in the network (a guess) or guessing again bad network connection. do they always see the gps antenna? or other connected to net work? is ti only the motors? do you have any battery issues, low charge?
assuming the that they always have been prone the these issues possibly the engine interfaces were not configured properly, as seabob has said, the configuration on the engine interfaces should be done with fully charged batteries with a battery charger connected while doing the confg. so unconfigure them and reconfigure with something like 12.8vdc from the battery. This re-confg. is something I would do anyway.
I have reconfig them and still have the sometimes they read sometimes they don't, the starboard motor more often. How important is the battery voltage, because it usually is at 12 to 12.4, I will reconfig with a battery charger on the system and try again.
Old 07-29-2013, 02:16 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Saint Francisville, LA
Posts: 1,880
Received 40 Likes on 27 Posts
Default

battery voltage can be critical, some say BS, but Lowrance has documented this issue and that's good enough for me. for forget to let the charger fully charge the batteries or at least the port motor before you start then leave connected. If you can isolate the problem to one engine, more or less, then try swapping the interfaces to see if the problem follows the interface. check the network power ground, and in-line fuse if you have that. Take the connections apart and clean and grease.
did these thing ever work right? or this happened lately?
ps. I don't think the voltage shown on the LMF's is the network power voltage, necessarily. The voltage displayed by the LMF should the voltage info passed to the N2K network as part of digital engine data, at least that is what I think.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.