Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

simrad or garmin

Old 07-28-2013, 04:53 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 143
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
Default simrad or garmin

I am looking for a back up gps, and I have no experience with either unit. Iwould like any user input between the Garmin 741xs, and Simrad NSS 8. This unit will be used for GPS only, but needs to be connected to a simrad auto pilot with the Furuno units. Thanks
Old 07-28-2013, 05:01 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: BOEmarine.com
Posts: 17,611
Likes: 0
Received 203 Likes on 136 Posts
Default

If it is strictly as a backup gps I would go with the 741. Easier to use, has very intuitive maps, and autoguidance which you may find useful. Which autopilot do you have?
Old 07-28-2013, 05:15 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5,216
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

For just a GPS I would find a 740. Much cheaper. The NSS8 is in a different class and much more machine. Much bigger screen also. If you go the 741 route, get the xs. For $100 you get the capability to have a kick ass fish finder. If you use the sonar or not, it will help resale value and give you options in the future.
Old 07-28-2013, 06:06 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 143
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by yachtjim View Post
If it is strictly as a backup gps I would go with the 741. Easier to use, has very intuitive maps, and autoguidance which you may find useful. Which autopilot do you have?
AP2622 and AP26.
Old 07-28-2013, 12:14 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4,458
Likes: 0
Received 27 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

My only objection to the Garmin products is their inability to use Navionics charts, almost a necessity in certain areas. I think customer service will be far better than anything produced by either Simrad (or, Lowrance, for that matter)...Navico has a long way to go in that regard and still seems to put it at the bottom of their priorities list.

Have you considered the latest Raymarine stuff (which is Navionics-friendly)...they have made dramatic improvements since their buy-out by Flir?
Old 07-28-2013, 12:35 PM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Seacoast NH
Posts: 6,937
Received 1,809 Likes on 808 Posts
Default

Simrad.
Garmin has their following, and they are great when they work. After owning 3 chart plotters , car GPS units, running watches, handheld units I quit Garmin. They have a life span of a few years before they act up. Great engineering, crappy quality.
Old 07-28-2013, 12:38 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: BOEmarine.com
Posts: 17,611
Likes: 0
Received 203 Likes on 136 Posts
Default

You should be able to connect with that pilot via a simnet to nmea2000 adapter. If you end up having to connect via nmea0183 then you'll need a switch to choose between the furuno gps and the garmin gps.
Old 07-28-2013, 01:30 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4,458
Likes: 0
Received 27 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Boat Hound View Post
Simrad.
Garmin has their following, and they are great when they work. After owning 3 chart plotters , car GPS units, running watches, handheld units I quit Garmin. They have a life span of a few years before they act up. Great engineering, crappy quality.
And their automotive GPS "lifetime" feature for map updates means the lifetime of the device support-cycle, not the owner's lifetime...I also found their "traffic" feature to be useless in suburban areas...many roads were under total reconstruction for over a year, with major delays and detours, yet absolutely nothing appearing on the screen from Garmin...the traffic feature might be useful in the 10 largest cities, but is useless in towns and small cities.

My current Garmin car unit has shown only one traffic alert in the year I owned it, and it was a stupid 30-second flagman delay to replace a storm drain grate. The thing is also slow to update in course-up 3D mode, often showing an "upcoming" street 200 yards after passing it...less than helpful when in unfamiliar territory. I had to pay an additional $50 to get Canadian map coverage, too, on an otherwise identical device, even though I only get into Quebec about 75 miles...(but am always anxious to get out in a hurry, and the non-bilingual road signs are fairly useless to English-only speakers).

Every other province requires bilingual signs, a law Quebec has always ignored. The people there understand and speak English only when there is money involved in their favor...Quebec wants to become a separate country, but has not been too successful so far...it would create enormous logistical problems...unfortunately, I have lake property only a few minutes from the Quebec border., but, there is seldom a reason to cross except to buy cheap pharmaceuticals, which are often less than my plan co-pays....

Last edited by Karl in NY; 07-28-2013 at 03:18 PM.
Old 07-28-2013, 04:32 PM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 500
Received 20 Likes on 15 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Boat Hound View Post
Simrad.
Garmin has their following, and they are great when they work. After owning 3 chart plotters , car GPS units, running watches, handheld units I quit Garmin. They have a life span of a few years before they act up. Great engineering, crappy quality.
I've had a Garmin 3010 and 4208 with a GSD22. I now have a Furuno VX2, GP32, and the F585. Because the vx2 plotter is a bear, I added a Simrad NSS7 with 30,000 waypoint storage. I have to use Garmin's Homeport software to get data off the NSS7. Insight simply cannot handle large data sets including 3000 waypoints and numerous tracks. Homeport works GREAT. The NSS7 is a good machine but so is the 740S and 4208, both comparable units. It appears Garmin has come a long way since the 3010 and continues to make big strides. It's support is not to the level of Furuno but it's pretty good.

Looking at replacing the VX2 after the chirp war settles out some. I am leaning very heavily towards Garmin or Furuno YZ.
Old 07-28-2013, 05:20 PM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Over the horizon
Posts: 113
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Just installed a Garmin 740, I'm really enjoying the simple layout, and easy to read charts. And can't beat the price right now!!
Old 07-28-2013, 06:07 PM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 8,719
Received 489 Likes on 323 Posts
Default

I use both a Garmin and Simrad chartplotter .... put a little over 1400 underway hours on a Garmin 740 ( 3 years of offshore use then added an Simrad NSS8 early last year to my dash.

A good solid partnership ........

http://bluewaterpirate.phanfare.com/5431412_6392395









A little over a month ago I replaced the Garmin 740 with a Garmin 547sx/TM150m combo because a I wanted to add the CHIRP technology.





My current install gives me a Garmin 547xs/Airmar TM150m and a Simrad NSS8/Airmar TM260 combo. A real David and Goliath so to say.





I prefer the Garmin for navigation because it's just simpler to use and I like the navigation displays. Both units are solid as rocks so you can't go wrong with either a Garmin 740/741/547 or a Simrad NSS8.

I am not a fan of Navionics charts I've had nothing but trouble with my P + charts and customer service since I bought it June of last year. At this point I will never buy another Navionics product. I just C-Map charts for my NSS8.

Last edited by bluewaterpirate; 07-28-2013 at 06:17 PM.
Old 07-29-2013, 06:14 AM
  #12  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 143
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by yachtjim View Post
You should be able to connect with that pilot via a simnet to nmea2000 adapter. If you end up having to connect via nmea0183 then you'll need a switch to choose between the furuno gps and the garmin gps.
Great information, a switch would work perfectly. Thank you
Old 07-29-2013, 06:19 AM
  #13  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 143
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Blue water that's great photos as it puts both units in perspective. I didn't realize that the Simrad was so difficult to operate. I like the screen size of the Simrad and also the ability to upgrade to Simrad electronics in the future.

Thanks for all responses.
Old 07-29-2013, 07:36 AM
  #14  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Greater London UK
Posts: 1,082
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by beacon77 View Post
Blue water that's great photos as it puts both units in perspective. I didn't realize that the Simrad was so difficult to operate. I like the screen size of the Simrad and also the ability to upgrade to Simrad electronics in the future.

Thanks for all responses.
Simrad is not hard to operate. But the Garmin is slightly easier. I have both - and Garmin IS easier for navigation - but not MUCH - just a bit.
Old 07-29-2013, 09:17 AM
  #15  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,596
Likes: 0
Received 19 Likes on 12 Posts
Default

As mentioned above, for a backup plotter only, 740 as its cheaper.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.